Player Watch Jack Lukosius

Interested to see how he goes with a (hopefully) competent tactical coach. I mean we also used Jack Watts as a like-for-like Charlie Dixon replacement under Hinkley.

I reckon Carr is smarter than that. Reckon Luko goes well.

Interested to see how he goes with a (hopefully) competent tactical coach. I mean we also used Jack Watts as a like-for-like Charlie Dixon replacement under Hinkley.

I reckon Carr is smarter than that. Reckon Luko goes well.
So you’re saying Hardwick wasn’t good enough to get the best out of him?

Hardwick knows that Gold Coast's major problem historically has been player retention.

Hardwick was smart enough to recognise that with the collateral they got for Lukosius he could position the GC to get Rioli, Noble and a bunch of local boys like Zeke Uwland, Lombard, Patterson, Addinsall. They already had Walter, Read and Rogers from their academy. I'm not saying they got all that from Lukosius. However they only just had the points this year to get their academy players in- they had to give something.

None of these ins are in danger of seeking a trade for "homesickness". They now have corrected the error they made in the super draft of 2017 when they should have taken Rozee and best mate Lukosius or Ben and Max King instead of Rankine/Lukosius.

The year before Hardwick got there lukosious kicked 39 goals as a regular forward under Stewart Dew. If he replicates that this year while playing high chf and delivering the ball to Georgiades I think most here would honestly be happy.

Hardwick decided to throw him around the ground a bit more, possibly because Ben king is a better forward and contested mark, possibly because of his versatility to play different roles. They also picked up 2 top 10 key forwards in the draft that required development time in that role and are stronger contested marks in read and Walters.

What lukosious offers us is very different than the value that Gold Coast saw in moving him in both trade and contract terms.

So you’re saying Hardwick wasn’t good enough to get the best out of him?
Confused Cat GIF

Rozee mentioned in an interview this week that Lukosius was sore during Friday night's game and virtually used it as an excuse for his quiet showing.

Carr has a call to make this week.
Does he move Marshall forward now so that he can potentially support Mitch and Whitlock in round 1?
He could still select Ramm down back alongside Aliir and Ratugolea this week, anticipating that he would play there against the Roos in round 1 too.

Otherwise, Lord probably gets another reprieve which is frustrating because his football has really gone nowhere.

Rozee mentioned in an interview this week that Lukosius was sore during Friday night's game and virtually used it as an excuse for his quiet showing.

Does he move Marshall forward now so that he can potentially support Mitch and Whitlock in round 1?
He could still select Ramm down back alongside Aliir and Ratugolea this week, anticipating that he would play there against the Roos in round 1 too.

Otherwise, Lord probably gets another reprieve which is frustrating because his football has really gone nowhere.
Nothing against Lord but I hope not. It might only be pre season match but I've seen enough that he just isn't AFL quality regardless and would rather another small medium forward playing instead of him wasting space. Otherwise as you said, sent Marshall up forward or Esava, either one, probably not ideal if you want them all to play their positions properly and get sync together.. Otherwise play both Sweet and Vis. Dunno.. Luko though, this is getting a bit beyond the joke now.

Sofcockalitis can linger for a long time. I’d put him on ice until mid season. Feed him bags of concrete, killa jungle juice and lock him up in the gym. He can come out when he looks nasty and mean 💪🏻

It's clear that we don't want to move Bergman back the moment any of the 3 main KPD get injured (Rat, Aliir and BZT/Marshall). That's where the Marshall solution has come from. The need for more depth back there.

We learn nothing by moving Marshall forward this week - so leave him back and let him learn. In R1, it could be a different story when there's points on the line.

Marshall used to play CHF in the same way Lukosius does- a lead up CHF with good foot skills who runs all day but is not particularly strong overhead. So using Marshall this week gives us the chance to keep the same forward structure we intend to take into R1.

Marshall is clearly behind Aliir, Ratugolea and BZT as a tall back and on par with Ramm. Probably doesn't go to WA as a defender and may as well go as a forward.

Marshall used to play CHF in the same way Lukosius does- a lead up CHF with good foot skills who runs all day but is not particularly strong overhead. So using Marshall this week gives us the chance to keep the same forward structure we intend to take into R1.

Marshall is clearly behind Aliir, Ratugolea and BZT as a tall back and on par with Ramm. Probably doesn't go to WA as a defender and may as well go as a forward.
Keeping the same forward structure, can’t wait for that prospect!
A CHF not particularly strong overhead and absolutely no physical presence.

Dan Houston set this footy club behind for his own greed. Goes over to Melbourne to be with his GF, she dumps him a few months later, and he has a shit season. Cheers mate well done