Jack Riewoldt

Butane I know we wont get him, but Foley was recruited as a rookie, & if we offer pick 5 for him that is a huge upgrading on his original draft position.

The Tiges supporter said anyone on their list worth pick 5?

Foley is worth trading our pick 5.....

Yeah, but is he that good, as MTBTYT said? Other than a couple of good games in a midfield that didn't perform this year...way too early. If getting pick 5 for foley would get Judd to the club, they would be stupid not to! surely!

Unfortunately there are few players, if any, who would demand pick 5 as compensation on our list. I'm afraid if there is such a player (Lids perhaps), we couldn't afford to lose them.

I really really really hope we have more to offer you in a few years time, but just at the moment, being totally realistic, the cupboard is a little bit bare at Tigerland. I like to think there is a bit of potential though.

:(

Unfortunately a few years away is not soon enough.

We took Jack at 13, why would he now be worth 5?

This is such a naive comment. Does this mean that if a player picked up at 72 last year and ended up winning the rising star by a country mile this year, would only be worth 72 again in this draft? Where they were picked up last year was only a guess of how everyone thought they may turn out. Often it bears no similarity to reality.
In fact, I would say that Jack Riewoldt's performances this year have been arguably more impressive than any other KPP picked up in last years "superdraft". This includes both seniors and VFL performances. If the draft was rerun with this knowledge, I'm sure he would have been picked a lot higher than in 2006. And this was in a lot stronger draft than this years!

So the answer is NO. The tigers would not consider swapping Jack for choice 5.

[/b]
This is such a naive comment. ...

I think you have misunderstood me. I hope he is worth every bit of a 5th draft pick but after 1 season played mainly at Coburg how the hell could you justify swapping pick 5 for him? Admittedly last years draft was deep so maybe 13 = 5 this year but you seriously wouldn't swap for a player that has played a handful of senior games and hasn't shown a hell of a lot at AFL level.

Put it this way, would you swap our pick number 2 for Scott Gumbleton instead of picking up Kreuzer, Morton or Cotchin? And that's a direct pick 2 for pick 2 swap rather than a pick 5 for pick 13.

I am not criticising Jack, I am simply trying to look at it without the "I think the Tigers are better than everyone" emotion.

We wouldn't swap him, but I don't understand why anyone from another team would even consider it.

:)

Yeah, but is he that good, as MTBTYT said? Other than a couple of good games in a midfield that didn't perform this year...way too early. If getting pick 5 for foley would get Judd to the club, they would be stupid not to! surely!

Bloody oath I hope he is, but from your point of view I don't think you can make that call yet. From our point of view the scenario you have outlined where we basically swap Foley + pick 2 for Judd would be an bargain for us. (As long as his body holds together ;)) We get a proven champion for an unproven one. Why would you be that generous?

Unfortunately there are few players, if any, who would demand pick 5 as compensation on our list. I'm afraid if there is such a player (Lids perhaps), we couldn't afford to lose them.

I really really really hope we have more to offer you in a few years time, but just at the moment, being totally realistic, the cupboard is a little bit bare at Tigerland. I like to think there is a bit of potential though.

:(

Unfortunately a few years away is not soon enough.

We took Jack at 13, why would he now be worth 5?

I agree with your first part but he would be worth a number 5 pick. He was number 13 in a superdraft and this is a very weak draft

I dont think we want him or Delidio or Tambling.
Bad luck Tiges...poor buggers stick your head up for a season and come second last and miss Chris Judd.
Back to the tank..

What's this second last business. We came stone motherless last!

But in compensation we get 1st choice in the PSD!!!!!!

So we can still theoretically get Judd if all other deals fall through. Then we'll get him for NOTHING! And if that unlikely scenario eventuates, I'll be back here giving you, Mr. Acker, heaps!!!!!!

This has turned into one of the most bizarre threads I have ever seen. You do realise we are on the bulldogs board? I'll see you guys later, I didn't come here to get trolled, get enough of that on the Richmond board.

You Bulldog guys are weird. :(

Jack Riewoldt #8 Richmond Tigers
c.gif
Age: 18yr 10mth Games: 8 Born: October 31, 1988 Origin: Tassie Mariners Height: 192cm Weight: 86kg Position: Forward

Everyone seems to want to deal with Carlton but what about pick 5 to Richmond for say Jack.

That would give Richmond pick 2 and 5 plus pick 16 to deal with WCE for Judd. I think Richmond might go this if we asked.

I am watching him play for Coburg at the moment, he is an ideal replacement for Tim Walsh....

Not prepared to commit his body to a contest.. Wan't make it at AFL level.

I am watching him play for Coburg at the moment, he is an ideal replacement for Tim Walsh....

Not prepared to commit his body to a contest.. Wan't make it at AFL level.

I couldn't believe it when Varcoe took the ball standing still with Reiwoldt bearing down on him. From a standing start Varcoe just run away from him.

You guys are unreal. You make an assessment of a guy based on one game. Get a grip. Coburg got smashed everywhere.

Anyone who bases what they think on Jack from watching the Grandfinal is a You know what. :thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:

You guys are unreal. You make an assessment of a guy based on one game. Get a grip. Coburg got smashed everywhere.

Anyone who bases what they think on Jack from watching the Grandfinal is a You know what. :thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:
From what I've seen of him this year, not super tall and looks too slow for mine. He takes a good contested grab but probably needs to because he is too slow to get into space on his own and take an uncontested grab. I'm not sold on his ability to cut it at AFL level yet.

I agree with your first part but he would be worth a number 5 pick. He was number 13 in a superdraft and this is a very weak draft
No way is he worth pick 5. I will actively support Hawthorn from next season if we give away pick 5 for Jack Riewoldt. He was absolutely deplorable yesterday and made Big Hank Playfair look like Glenn Jakovich in his prime. Would have been interesting to see if he would have been picked in the same position in the draft without the benefit of sharing the sam surname as Cousin Nick.

Doesn't appear to be big enough to be a true KPP and doesn't have the pace or endurance to be a true HFF. Is not what we need. Still reckon we should offer our 2nd round pick for Jay Neagle of the Bombers.

How about basing it on the rest of his year where he looked anything but good?

And while we're at it, we can add Shultz to the 'DO NOT GET' list.

Him and Reiwoldt reminded me of Rawlings and Bowden playing for Werribee in the GF a few years back.

Couldn't even get a kick in the 2's.:thumbsd:

I question your assessment of a player who was pick up in 2006 draft. He has already had senior games as a tall in Richmonds forward line. This is a lot earlier than our so called KPP pick ups of the past 4 years. Not with standing Everitt who is probably a freak.

My point is I have seen him play some fantastic games in the seconds including the final before the granny where he kicked 5. Just don't get all the negativity against a bloke who has only done one pre-season. Sure he got smashed by a seasoned player but that is to be expected from a young player who is in his first year. Did I say that he is in his first year. Oh he is in his first year.

Just book mark this and see in a few years time if your calling him a dud.

I question your assessment of a player who was pick up in 2006 draft. He has already had senior games as a tall in Richmonds forward line. This is a lot earlier than our so called KPP pick ups of the past 4 years. Not with standing Everitt who is probably a freak.

My point is I have seen him play some fantastic games in the seconds including the final before the granny where he kicked 5. Just don't get all the negativity against a bloke who has only done one pre-season. Sure he got smashed by a seasoned player but that is to be expected from a young player who is in his first year. Did I say that he is in his first year. Oh he is in his first year.

Just book mark this and see in a few years time if your calling him a dud.

You are right he is very young, however, you did forget to mention he basically played senior VFL football all last year with Tasi so he was in his second year at VFL level.

He is never going to be the key forward in even a reasonable forward line, he may make a reasonable third tall for a team with two other good tall options. He looked slow and applied absolutely no defensive pressure, he needs to improve his strength and stamina, that he may do over a couple big pre-seasons, however, that will be of no value if his intensity doesn't improve. And yes you can bookmark these comments