Senior Jack Sinclair

Was Sinclair ever a notable ball winner at TAC cup level? He has sublime skills, poise and goal sense, just wondering if he will ever become a high possession getter? 25 touches from him a game and we have our next Dal Santo right here.

That's the question mark IMO.. If he can he will be an elite player... If he only ever gets his 10-15 sometimes 20 a game he will be a reasonable role player in the Farren ray level of player... Either way I don't see us losing with this kid but his next step will be finding more of the footy

As a first year player he's averaging almost identical disposals to what Sam Mitchell did in his debut season (about half a possession more to be precise). Mitchell didn't have to deal with the sub rule either. More touches will come with experience and preseasons as they usually do for young guys.

Disagree, finding the footy is generally something that comes naturally to players. Pre-season conditioning, and larger aerobic capacities allow you to get to more contests or find free space, but it doesn't necessarily mean you will gather a possession.

There's players that the ball finds them, like Swan, then there is players that can hardly find the pill at all, like Cyril.

Perfect example is Geary, although he does get a bit of the footy, he was never a prolific accumulator through his juniors, despite having an enormous tank, and probably never will be even with permanent time in the middle.

http://m.saints.com.au/news/2015-03-24/behind-the-guernsey-jack-sinclair

Now pushing for a rookie elevation ahead of round one, Sinclair can’t quite believe what has happened since he was cut from the Oakleigh Chargers squad as a 17-year-old.

“As a bottom age under-18 player it didn’t look like it was going to happen so I got cut from Oakleigh’s squad,” Sinclair recalled.

“Then the following year I decided not to do the pre-season as an 18-year-old and focus on school footy and cricket instead. A few weeks into the season they asked me back so I went back and played a few games. I played well enough for them to ask me back as a 19-year-old.”

And the rest, as they say, is history. After a year in which he played three solid matches for Port Melbourne in the VFL and averaged 21 disposals per outing in the TAC Cup, St Kilda selected Sinclair with the first pick in December’s rookie draft.

Disagree, finding the footy is generally something that comes naturally to players. Pre-season conditioning, and larger aerobic capacities allow you to get to more contests or find free space, but it doesn't necessarily mean you will gather a possession.

There's players that the ball finds them, like Swan, then there is players that can hardly find the pill at all, like Cyril.

Perfect example is Geary, although he does get a bit of the footy, he was never a prolific accumulator through his juniors, despite having an enormous tank, and probably never will be even with permanent time in the middle.
Sorry I should've been more specific in what I meant, I should've said young midfielders. Not many of them come in and average 20 straight off the bat.

That's the question mark IMO.. If he can he will be an elite player... If he only ever gets his 10-15 sometimes 20 a game he will be a reasonable role player in the Farren ray level of player... Either way I don't see us losing with this kid but his next step will be finding more of the footy

I don't see it that way. He's playing as a HF , probably the most difficult position to play in regards to accumulating disposals due to the fact you're not in the stoppages (usually zoned 15-20m off from the pack) and therefore relying on your team mates to win the ball to either be in a position to link up or run forward to be in a dangerous position. When your team mates don't win the ball, obviously you're out of the game to really have an impact. I believe the ave disposal for a HF would be around 10-12 touches. I'd love to know his ave TOG because that would clearly have an affect on his disposal count

When he gets midfield time , he seems to get enough ball IMO.

Tells me that he reads the play and positions himself well wherever he plays.

Anyway disposal ave is overrated IMO . It's how effective he is when he does get it

I don't see it that way. He's playing as a HF , probably the most difficult position to play in regards to accumulating disposals due to the fact you're not in the stoppages (usually zoned 15-20m off from the pack) and therefore relying on your team mates to win the ball to either be in a position to link up or run forward to be in a dangerous position. When your team mates don't win the ball, obviously you're out of the game to really have an impact. I believe the ave disposal for a HF would be around 10-12 touches. I'd love to know his ave TOG because that would clearly have an affect on his disposal count

When he gets midfield time , he seems to get enough ball IMO.

Tells me that he reads the play and positions himself well wherever he plays.

Anyway disposal ave is overrated IMO . It's how effective he is when he does get it
Depends where you're playing. For example Murdoch does amazing things when he gets the ball but the problem is he doesn't get it that often so he doesn't play senior football. Bruest hovers around 13-15 disposals as a HF/mid but kicks two goals a game which makes up for it.

If you're a midfielder and you're not getting may disposals then I'm not really sure what you're doing.

Depends where you're playing. For example Murdoch does amazing things when he gets the ball but the problem is he doesn't get it that often so he doesn't play senior football. Bruest hovers around 13-15 disposals as a HF/mid but kicks two goals a game which makes up for it.

If you're a midfielder and you're not getting may disposals then I'm not really sure what you're doing.
Exactly Hayes . I agree with you. That's what I said in my post(I gather I didn't articulate my point clearly enough) :)

If Sinclair was avg 12 touches a game as a pure mid I would be concerned but his not playing as a pure mid. He'll be fine.

I was at the game on Sunday and sitting behind the goals. He works so hard for a kid it's incredible. Lonie and Sinclair seem to try to out do each other in the 1%ers. Their work off the ball is outstanding for their age. people like to bag Cyril for his low possession game but they don't count his off the ball work where his pressure acts are probably worth more than a pile of 1/2 hand balls that bump up the output on paper. Cyril will run at the player in possession, get a hand in to effect a turn over and just generally hassle players into mistakes. Lonie and Sinclair are similar. Sinclair set little blocks like a pro, always looking like his intention was someone else but getting in the way to clear a path, he also did some really good work looking around for options before the ball even gets there. He is a very intuitive player. His footy smarts are very high.

[QUOTE\]="Anyway disposal ave is overrated IMO . It's how effective he is when he does get it[/QUOTE]
I think people know that disposal average is overrated as well. They're just saying, it would be heaps better when he does accumulate it heaps because he is so effective with the pill.

I wouldn't be too concerned with Jack's possession count. I think it will grow as his role within the team changes, which is directly related to his development as an athlete and professional footballer. What we should all be excited about is how Jack moves and reads play and uses the ball, cause some of that stuff is hard to teach.
When Jack has the ball he draws the defender expertly and is most times able to handball to the advantage of his team mates. You will see him hold the ball beautifully until the defender commits to him in the lead up to the Jack Lonie dribble goal against the bombers. If he doesn't hold it up the defender can just run off him and the goal probably doesn't eventuate.
He is able to read the flight of the ball very well. If you go back and watch the Montagna 50 metre bomb against Essendon Sinclair lifts his hands in celebration well before everyone else because he just knows.
Jack runs a really strong give and get line in traffic as well. But he is mostly ignored by his team mates after the initial give. I think this is because they don't want to burden Shorthorns with the responsibility of clearing the ball. Which is fair enough, but the point is, he is already running the right lines to become a clearance machine. Once his team mates start really believing in him he will organically grow into a quarterback/postman's role, similar to the one Dustin Martin plays.
The intercept, clearance, and 50m goal was particularly exciting and points to the type of player Jack is likely to become. A clearance specialist who will hurt you on the scoreboard. And that's exciting. I really feel like we found our next Rob Harvey, seriously.
If I could be critical of anything it would be his tackle technique, too much arm and not enough shoulder for mind. Also he tends to give off sometimes when he just needs to get it done himself.
All in all...Jack is a ripper!

Anyone else see a bit of Dane Swan in him? (minus the tats and dead s**t personality, of course).

If he keeps tracking the way he's tracking, he'll be one of our most damaging players.

Anyone else see a bit of Dane Swan in him? (minus the tats and dead s**t personality, of course).

If he keeps tracking the way he's tracking, he'll be one of our most damaging players.
I don't really.
Swan gets 30 possies but butchers 15 of them. Sinks gets 20 and 18 are great disposals. Has massive upside and as much as Swan is a great player Sinks may well be better than him.

I have no concerns at all re Sinca's ability to get the pill. He's got a great footy IQ and will get to the right positions to either win the ball or receive the ball as his tank improves & role within the team changes.

I wouldn't take too much note of possession numbers at TAC Cup or VFL level. It's a totally different game at those levels...what you want to see is a young player's ability to get to the right spots (which at TAC & VFL level can result in a lesser skilled team mate missing you altogether) and use the ball intelligently when they get it.

Sincas does both of those things as well as any first year player that I can remember.

I was at the game on Sunday and sitting behind the goals. He works so hard for a kid it's incredible. Lonie and Sinclair seem to try to out do each other in the 1%ers. Their work off the ball is outstanding for their age. people like to bag Cyril for his low possession game but they don't count his off the ball work where his pressure acts are probably worth more than a pile of 1/2 hand balls that bump up the output on paper. Cyril will run at the player in possession, get a hand in to effect a turn over and just generally hassle players into mistakes. Lonie and Sinclair are similar. Sinclair set little blocks like a pro, always looking like his intention was someone else but getting in the way to clear a path, he also did some really good work looking around for options before the ball even gets there. He is a very intuitive player. His footy smarts are very high.

Very clean with every kick , handball he was very good at start of the year but is sublime now
Watch reply of Sandringham game against Bulldogs when he was put back .
Outstanding .
Looking forward to seeing what other gem our recruiting team pick this year.

I know this isn't what you were asking but back in primary school he absolutely dominated the (obviously unrecorded) possession tally - in addition to everything else of course!
Regardless, he has good speed, natural fitness, and statistically anomalous strength for a 20 year old*. With a few more seasons under his belt I see no reason why he can't become a high possession player.
*Edit: Forgot to mention he's been following the game almost all of his life (a fact I can personally verify) and so has a good intuitive understanding of the game.

Good call from thepoyz - similarity between Jack's perfect hair & a famous current affairs personality

739365-1166d368-7217-11e4-ad68-c33d50396880.jpg

I know this isn't what you were asking but back in primary school he absolutely dominated the (obviously unrecorded) possession tally - in addition to everything else of course!
Regardless, he has good speed, natural fitness, and statistically anomalous strength for a 20 year old*. With a few more seasons under his belt I see no reason why he can't become a high possession player.
*Edit: Forgot to mention he's been following the game almost all of his life (a fact I can personally verify) and so has a good intuitive understanding of the game.
Appreciate the insight dude