Jack underachieving or low confidence

richmond1227

Draftee
I thought Jack`s game was terrible last night and he still kicked 3 goals. Don`t get me wrong i think he is a champion in the making but i think he is going about it in the wrong way. He is trying to win a car every week instead of just trying to take strong pack marks. He is leading to packs instead of space and i don`t mind if he just contests with his opponent 1 out as he is fantastic at that. He should watch replays of his games against Stk and WCE last year and realise that he has got ahead of himself. If he gets going no one will stop him.
I also don`t think we should complain about playing in Darwin. I support everything the club is doing off the field to get us back on track. The players should be ashamed of themselves last night letting that game slip!!

Most of his attempts are so unrealistic on top of what tunksy said. It's all well and good having a go to break a pack or something, but perhaps mix it up with a lead of some sort. How often do we hit a player in the chest with a lead? No one leads at the player.

Our forward line was so crowded last night that Jack obviously felt the only way to take a mark was overhead, on top of the pack.
I would have liked to see him move out to CHF in the 2nd half.

JR's form has been a bit of a concern for a month now...his stock and trade mark/goal have dried up to a couple a week at best with most of his goals coming from dribblers off the pack, that nice to have stuff but his bread and butter needs to be maintained if he is to be an AA FF. For mine he doesn't move enough, too much time tethered to the goal sq. I could almost count on one hand the number of leads ive seen in recent weeks. The solution is fairly simple, time to get on his bike and clear a bit of a path for him. i reckon miller stays far too close, often dragging his defender into JR's way

He needs to reduce his media commitments and concentrate on playing footy...

yeah well my first q to him if I was the coach would be to ask is he demanding as much from himself in training et al as he did in 2010:confused:...the first step he needs to take is work a heck of alot harder...fair dinkum if westhoff could clunk marks up the other end what the hell was up with Jack

He is a bit out of touch with his timing etc. but he gets crap delivery into the forward line.

The only time I can recall lately when he has lead out from full forward and been hit on the chest was when Nahas kicked it to him against Essendon.

Most of the time the forward line is crowded and our players bomb it long and Jack has to try and jump over a whole pack to get the ball.

And the times when he does get a break on his opponent our players don`t usually kick it out in front of him but will kick it on top of his head forcing him to stop which allows his opponent to easily spoil.

He Leads to the goals instead to the player delivering the ball.
Last year his first priority was to lead, then crumb and then take a hanger. This year its Hanger, Crumb then lead
I have no doubt when he start to lead he the rest will fall into place.

Agree with the general consensus. However, it's not a bad return for a guy out of form.

I think that now Vickery has become a real target, they are clashing a bit - need to work that out. Sometimes you would just like to see a 50 cleanout and leave Jack 1-on-1.

Still, Franklin is the only KPF I'd trade him for.

Jack's form coincidentally went down hill when Miller came into the team. Not pointing the finger at Miller but screw it I will....scapegoat or not, he hasn't relieved any pressure on Jack IMO...his work up the ground has been ok in patches but he is a shortcut no doubt.

I thought that he was supposed to be leading away from Jack and taking that extra defender away to give Jack a better shot at 1 on 1, this has very rarely happened. Griff coming back will make Jack a much more dangerous proposition as Griff is a hell of a lot more mobile and can take a better contested mark than Miller. Jack will be back....he'll kick a bag soon. Last night just wasn't conducive for Jack's marking ability.

Has nothing to do with Miller or the delivery. He's just been completely misjudging it since his concussion. Balls have been bouncing off his chest, arms, or he's been flying and getting absolutely nowhere near it. That just doesn't happen with Jack.

I'd suspect he should have been given a longer period off after his injury, and that the bye will do him well.

People are being overly harsh. Any player leading the Coleman Medal doesn't deserved to be slammed, especially not one who missed almost a full game when he knocked himself out and thus kicked no goals.

I have two qualms with Jack at he moment however. The first has already been mentioned: I don't feel he's leading as hard and as cleverly as he was last year. The second is his game without the footy. Could be leading up further, could be laying more defensive tackles, which he also did better last year.

The rest (misjudging balls, dropping marks) I think will get better as his form improves as the year goes on.

I do not consider a player who has kicked more goals than any other in the comp out of form.

No fair call, wouldn't say he's "out of form" but he's off his usual game, which has alot to do with the quality of delivery to him, but can't single out the midfield.. he isn't moving, or judging it like he was 6 weeks ago. he's down on tackles this year compared to last also though so maybe not being told to run up the ground as far?

he'll fix it :)

Didn't quote the posts because too many have said this...

Yup, needs to get on his bike more & get up the ground a bit... this will shake the double team and get him taking marks out infront of his face... will get his confidence back a bit + with Vickery back towards the goal square to fly for the contested grab we don't lose too much.

Amazingly, I see he still leads The Coleman (not that I really care) but this will change after our bye this week.

Averaging a goal game higher , compared to this stage last year despite the game he only played a couple of minutes , coming off a limited pre- season and learning how to play with two other talls within the forward line . He appears to have less room to move in which may be a combination of opposing clubs analysis and the new game plan . He is only a decent goal haul away from being back on fire IMO .