Jacko

No mate. I don't condone violence, and yes, Jacko was a dickhead onfield as well as off. I was referring to the characters of the day, like Dougie Hawkins, Dipper, Ablett, Brereton etc.. You being a Hawks fans shouldn't throw stones though. Hawks have had some of the dirtiest teams in history. Watch the first quarter of the '88 grand final against Melbourne. Where the Hawks took out about 4 blokes!
Because I'm a Hawthorn fan I can't call Jacko what he was - a violent fool of a man? I don't like any of the pathetic violence that was dished up, no matter who the played for. Dipper was an idiot, as was Dermie, as was Ablett Snr. Jacko was and is a complete waste of space.

Given it was a Hawthorn player who started the shit that happened in the match against Geelong in 1985 (namely Gary Ayres taking a swipe at Jacko), Hawthorn blokes are hardly in any place to sledge him.

And had I been involved in that match as a Hawthorn player, you might have a point. I can seperate myself from the team I support - many of our players in that era were total thugs, some were total fools on and off the field. Jacko is one of the worst from that era, why would anyone miss such an utter moron.

I would have liked to hear a bit more about why Lyndsey Fox wasnt going to sack him from the Saints because his brother and dad used to drive trucks for him in the early days?
There seemed to be a look and a nod from Mike and next question please
???????

Yep, he's a complete and utter fkwit.

I'm all for characters in footy and in life but this guy is a deadshit moron.
Dickheads like brereton and mathews etc promoted violence in fact the more I learn of Mathews I learn of a cowardly sniping dog . Jacko obviously has a psychotic disorder nurtured in violence because thats what he was taught I have more empathy for him than Brereton and Mathews .

And had I been involved in that match as a Hawthorn player, you might have a point. I can seperate myself from the team I support - many of our players in that era were total thugs, some were total fools on and off the field. Jacko is one of the worst from that era, why would anyone miss such an utter moron.

Plenty worse. Plenty.

Does he? I doubt it & just reckon he worked long ago that the speaking circuit is an easy gig that pays well so he acts accordingly. No doubt Jacko wasn't suited to heavily structured football environments & constantly self sabotaged however we see lesser 'in your face' examples of that all the time.

Jacko probably genuinely dislikes Mike, so who woudlnt jump at another easy payday to publicly air what they think. However there were several times in the interview that Mike had to hide his amusement & feign offense, so I reckon both were playing it up a bit for the camera.
Maybe so, but Jacko was sacked by four clubs and none of the sackings were due to performance, he's a bonafide nutjob, it's helped him on the celebrity speaking circuit, but i suspect the politically correct agendas of the 21st century have stifled his income somewhat. The game did have characters in those days, but his views on Barassi were just nonsense. He should've listened to "Tiger" Crosswell who had more than his fair share of run ins with Barassi, yet he kept following him around from club to club? Jacko has definite Psychotic disorders which are severe mental disorders that cause abnormal thinking and perceptions. People with psychoses lose touch with reality. ( Bingo!)

Dickheads like brereton and mathews etc promoted violence in fact the more I learn of Mathews I learn of a cowardly sniping dog . Jacko obviously has a psychotic disorder nurtured in violence because thats what he was taught I have more empathy for him than Brereton and Mathews .

I don’t think there’s ever been any doubt about that side of Matthews. He did some shocking things on the field.

I would have liked to hear a bit more about why Lyndsey Fox wasnt going to sack him from the Saints because his brother and dad used to drive trucks for him in the early days?
There seemed to be a look and a nod from Mike and next question please
???????

He also mentioned that his Dad was a union leader, so maybe deals were done and arms were twisted to help the Fox empire grow.

Maybe so, but Jacko was sacked by four clubs and none of the sackings were due to performance, he's a bonafide nutjob, it's helped him on the celebrity speaking circuit, but i suspect the politically correct agendas of the 21st century have stifled his income somewhat. The game did have characters in those days, but his views on Barassi were just nonsense. He should've listened to "Tiger" Crosswell who had more than his fair share of run ins with Barassi, yet he kept following him around from club to club? Jacko has definite Psychotic disorders which are severe mental disorders that cause abnormal thinking and perceptions. People with psychoses lose touch with reality. ( Bingo!)

Give us a spell, he’s hardly a “bonafide nutjob”. I don’t think you’re qualified to diagnose psychosis either.

He’s a quirky, blunt character who plays it up no-end, because that’s what he’s always done and it’s been his meal ticket. Add in his size and looks and it can become menacing.

And of course all of his stories are exaggerated no-end.

I don’t think there’s ever been any doubt about that side of Matthews. He did some shocking things on the field.

I think what Jacko was trying to say about Lethal (in so many words) was that he doesn't understand why he's treated with such reverence and respect considering some of his dirty deeds, while Jacko is treated as a thug and a parriah.

Matthews' infamous hits on Neville Bruns, Barrie Robran and Barry Cable are among the most pathetic and gutless of cheap shots in footy history.

I think what Jacko was trying to say about Lethal (in so many words) was that he doesn't understand why he's treated with such reverence and respect considering some of his dirty deeds, while Jacko is treated as a thug and a parriah.

Matthews' infamous hits on Neville Bruns, Barrie Robran and Barry Cable are among the most pathetic and gutless of cheap shots in footy history.

Probably because off the field Matthews conducts himself like a normal human being (Michael Christian may beg to differ), and seems like a fairly reasonable and personable guy.

Jacko basically did as bad as Matthews on the field, much worse off it, truncated into a 4-5 year career and has kept playing up to that image ever since. So he can hardly complain about how he is perceived.

How pathetic are you with that deflection?

I am guessing that you don't voluntarily throw up names like Kerr, Mainwaring, Cousins and Chick when drugs are discussed in any number of threads on that subject.

In case you weren't aware, this thread is about Jacko. Jacko is a ******* and a grub. Your opinions on Brereton and Matthews can be voiced in any of the many threads on this site about those two players. :rolleyes:

Watched a few old games I had stored on the IQ recently and hot damn was Leigh brutal on and off the ball... He just couldn't help himself, Ruthless :)

I actually wouldn't mind seeing some of Jackos games in full just to see how good he was as his stats in the bottom teams he played for don't really lie..

Watched a few old games I had stored on the IQ recently and hot damn was Leigh brutal on and off the ball... He just couldn't help himself, Ruthless :)

I actually wouldn't mind seeing some of Jackos games in full just to see how good he was as his stats in the bottom teams he played for don't really lie..

Was a strange player, all arms and elbows and legs but deceptively skilled and agile. Trying to think of another more modern player I could compare him to......

He's not psychotic Mr keyboard psychiatrist and he's cleverer than most, he's been getting paid for 30 odd years for doing this act.

Has he done anything violent in his years after footy? Has he withdrawn from society, tried to off himself, alienated those closest to him?

It's reaching to make such assumptions based on what are basically on stage performances, both on & off the field. You would need to spend time with bloke away from the spotlight to get a sense of what he's really like. There's nothing i've even seen of Jacko to suggest he has lost touch with reality, the opposite in fact as he's making (what I assume) is a decent living off his personality quirks. That suggests a firm grip on where he's at, what works & what doesn't.

One of the less raucous bits was about the letter Jacko wrote to Lindsay Fox. Appeared to catch Jacko off guard a bit with that one.

Mike doesn't interview

Most of his questions are statements .....Asks a lot of questions with

"Don't you" ....a good interviewer will ask what do you think of .......

Sheehan puts his opinions in the questions he asks

Mike Sheehan is a complete and utter amateur interviewer .....ok journalists but as a live interviewer he's terrible

He's not psychotic Mr keyboard psychiatrist and he's cleverer than most, he's been getting paid for 30 odd years for doing this act.

What some ESPN interviews or BBC sports interviews ...these guys know how to interview

Mike Sheehan has an opinion before he asks a questions

I have simple philosophy ...never ask a question you either know the maser to or never ask a question you can google ...ask the Unknown