Jacko

401591f2801a91ecc1c45fd96754b5cd

“Unfortunately, the star of the show was this bloke called Sam Jones who was in the movie Ted a couple of years back. Sam had the Bible in one hand and something else in the other and he got upset when the make-up lady’s budgie died in mysterious circumstances.

“He came at me on the set in Phoenix and took a swing so I dropped him but then they came from everywhere, all these God-faring types — you know, the ‘praise the Lord and pass the ammunition' brigade.

“It was a massive brawl. Brandon Tartikoff, who was the head of NBC and later on Disney, rang me and said: ‘There’s a terrible mess on the set’. I explained to Brandon it was all Sam’s fault. Then the National Enquirer got hold of it and I was sent to oblivion. So I came back to Australia.”

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/vi...d/news-story/373800a5ac6f30506566e79e8dc4ac2c

There's a phone interview he reluctantly did with afl.com a couple of years ago which gives a different context on the comments about the death of his father.

"The next day someone wrote in the paper that I BROUGHT ON Dad's heart attack," he recalls. "Yeah, Dad's death had nothing to do with the fact he SMOKED two packs a day, DRANK LIKE A MACHINE and had a HOLE in his heart and was on librium. No, that would take some flamin' RESEARCH."

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2014-01-11/mark-jacko-jackson

i do agree with Jacko about the AFL being more about Athletes than footballers. Its cringeworthy seeing someone like Priddis get lauded as the greatest player and win a brownlow for a year when the bloke has no idea how to kick on his right foot. The greatest player for the year?? The MVP of the league that has 1000 players in it? Thats like Lebron James winning the MVP without knowing how to bounce a basketball with his left hand. The skills are down because instead of footballers playing the game we have endurance runners playing the game.

He might not be a psyhopath, but he definitely has a few screws loose. Very short fuse who just happened to be born with skills and the physique to be a full forward.

Jacko absolutely played the whole thing.

Are you people serious thinking he is out of his mind?

He plays a persona and it makes him money and more money is coming his way.
While he does play it up for attention, it's not all an act. If he's not actually crazy and obnoxious, why did he kicked out of all those clubs despite his ability and why did he actually do insane shit like putting a lit cigarette in someone's pocket and a brick under someone's brake pedal?

Of course he's credentialed to do it. Depending on the guest I sometimes watch it and enjoy it.

I'm just saying, modern day Mike Sheahan wasn't always the friendly old grandfather he now is, walking down memory lane with old friends or producing top 50 lists.

He's been that mellowed way for a while now and a lot of people see him like that, and I think a lot of people shocked by last night were partially that way because aggressive Jacko was going hard at lovely old Mike.

Amongst all Jacko's rambling he makes a few basic good points, and it was the same re Sheahan. In his day he was a razor sharp journo who for quite a time was also the VFL/AFLs media gun, using his profile and influence to target those as instructed.

He's moved on and so have the AFL, to Caro predominantly.

As an Eagles supporter when mike bangs on about tainted flag in 2006 I say good on ya jacko

Glad someone put mike sheehan in box he deserves ....dead set flog

I don't agree with everything jacko said .....in fact most of it I didn't like ....I'm just rapt someone took Sheehan to the cleaners ......

How many times has mike Sheehan written crap about good people .....

While he does play it up for attention, it's not all an act. If he's not actually crazy and obnoxious, why did he kicked out of all those clubs despite his ability and why did he actually do insane shit like putting a lit cigarette in someone's pocket and a brick under someone's brake pedal?
Every single question you asked is in here mate.

i do agree with Jacko about the AFL being more about Athletes than footballers. Its cringeworthy seeing someone like Priddis get lauded as the greatest player and win a brownlow for a year when the bloke has no idea how to kick on his right foot. The greatest player for the year?? The MVP of the league that has 1000 players in it? Thats like Lebron James winning the MVP without knowing how to bounce a basketball with his left hand. The skills are down because instead of footballers playing the game we have endurance runners playing the game.

He might not be a psyhopath, but he definitely has a few screws loose. Very short fuse who just happened to be born with skills and the physique to be a full forward.
Yeah, Scott West won 7 best and fairest awards at our club and he couldn't kick to save his life! Best hands in the game at the time though!

Of course he's credentialed to do it. Depending on the guest I sometimes watch it and enjoy it.

I'm just saying, modern day Mike Sheahan wasn't always the friendly old grandfather he now is, walking down memory lane with old friends or producing top 50 lists.

He's been that mellowed way for a while now and a lot of people see him like that, and I think a lot of people shocked by last night were partially that way because aggressive Jacko was going hard at lovely old Mike.

Amongst all Jacko's rambling he makes a few basic good points, and it was the same re Sheahan. In his day he was a razor sharp journo who for quite a time was also the VFL/AFLs media gun, using his profile and influence to target those as instructed.

He's moved on and so have the AFL, to Caro predominantly.

My point (to you and to Jackson) is a vague reference to Sheahan being some sort of hatchet man once upon a time out is hardly going to convince me, or many others from my generation. If Jackson had a legitimate gripe about Sheahan, he wold have been better served producing the articles that he was referring to, or quoting directly them, rather than just lumping Sheahan in with everyone else in the media. For all his huff and puff, he didn't really land a blow, because he was completely incoherent and he didn't have any evidence to back up what he was saying.

To me, it came off as Jackson not remembering whether Sheahan had written the article(s) that got his nose out of joint or not, he just had an axe to grind with the media and Sheahan was/is the most famous football writer since Jackson started his career, so he might as well take a few potshots at him and get paid to do it.

But loved the story about his days at East Fremantle (I think that was it) when he took out his key forward teammate in training so he could take his spot, then when he went to Richmond they wouldn't let him within 100m of Royce Hart. That was bloody hilarious and not that surprising.

I was following footy when Jacko was around. I can certainly let you know Royce Hart was well and truly retired by time I started following football.
I think he coached Footscray at some stage around this time though.
When Jacko was at Richmond it was Michael Roach the gun full forward, BT on the way up and Jacko after them.
Both BT and Jacko had to goto other clubs to get a proper go. I have a vague memory of BT playing with Roach a few times but ultimately was not going to work. Think I went to a Richmond and Carlton game at MCG in 1982 with BT full forward for Richmond, Roach probably injured. For some reason I remember it as the first game I went to that the MCG had a video scoreboard. Still remember it feeling weird to watch a bit of play unfold and then be able to see a replay of it at the game live. Now it would be weird to anyone to be at a game without a video screen.

Anyway, getting back on topic, Roach was the player Jacko would have said. Not sure whether I believe that story.
Just remember he said when papers rang him for a story he just made shit up....
Said the same of North America media.
May have even been making up the shit he wanted to bash Gerard Healy after the game.

Some of the amateur psychiatry in here is laughable.

Jacko's a lot of things... an entertainer, an individual (yes) and not a team man, holds grudges, a bulllshit artist, extremely funny, shameless, an attention seeker, physically huge and ugly, etc etc etc... but he's not a certified psychopath ffs, and not even close.

This.
Funny reading these people believe their own shit.
More please.

My point (to you and to Jackson) is a vague reference to Sheahan being some sort of hatchet man once upon a time out is hardly going to convince me, or many others from my generation. If Jackson had a legitimate gripe about Sheahan, he wold have been better served producing the articles that he was referring to, or quoting directly them, rather than just lumping Sheahan in with everyone else in the media. For all his huff and puff, he didn't really land a blow, because he was completely incoherent and he didn't have any evidence to back up what he was saying.

To me, it came off as Jackson not remembering whether Sheahan had written the article(s) that got his nose out of joint or not, he just had an axe to grind with the media and Sheahan was/is the most famous football writer since Jackson started his career, so he might as well take a few potshots at him and get paid to do it.

You still don't get it do you.

He was just using Sheahan....like Sheahan has used many before. The fact that he probably actually doesn't like him was just a bonus.

Sheahan was just the vehicle for the latest act in the play.

He'd also be laughing saying "stop the whining fellas, i just breathed a bit of life into Ol Mike's tiring show. I mean, the Rocca's lol...Jake King lol"

You still don't get it do you.

He was just using Sheahan....like Sheahan has used many before. The fact that he probably actually doesn't like him was just a bonus.

Sheahan was just the vehicle for the latest act in the play.

He'd also be laughing saying "stop the whining fellas, i just breathed a bit of life into Ol Mike's tiring show. I mean, the Rocca's lol...Jake King lol"

Righto. Does Mike Sheahan like Jacko? If not, why would he be a part of it? If you're on the money, Jacko needed Open Mike more than Open Mike needed Jacko. As far as I'm aware, King was one of the highest rating episodes of the season. Jackson probably thought that was one of the better episodes.

At the end of the day, I don't care what the motives were; it was a complete waste of time. It didn't do much either way for Sheahan and it enhanced Jackson's reputation as a complete and utter f-wit. Similar to Sam Newman, I don't care if he's playing a character for the cameras: he wants to act like a clown and I'm happy to treat him like one. "...The latest act in the play...", spare me. No-one has cared about Jackson for 25 years and people on here apparently think he's earning massive money playing pissy footy club sportsmen's nights and pubs that a Bon Jovi tribute band would turn down.