Jackson's Status

Cowboys
I heard a report today that he's been training the house down at Richmond this preseason, considering his somewhat dodgy season last year with question as to his commitment this sounds encouraging. Apparently he is now the fastest runner in the team, has a time at the Tan of 12:11 give or take 10 seconds. He's faster than Matty White.

Any opinions on what the future holds for him or from anyone whose seen him train recently? I personally love watching him play and his kicking is nothing short of sensational, put him in Riewoldt's place and I reckon he could've covered the distance.

This year he will become our no.1 tagger. That is the only position I can see him playing as he does not have the greatest skills. Like you said he is fast, he has the tank to go with the Judds, Abletts etc. Whether or not he can contain them remains to be seen. I've said all along that this year he and Polo will battle it out to be our tagger. Now Polo can play in diffrent postions but I think its this or nothing for Jacko. Jacko imo has the upper hand having played the last 10 or so games. So I hope he has a good year and cements his place in the side this year.

STOP ....

Manneke%20pis.jpg

I heard a report today that he's been training the house down at Richmond this preseason, considering his somewhat dodgy season last year with question as to his commitment this sounds encouraging. Apparently he is now the fastest runner in the team, has a time at the Tan of 12:11 give or take 10 seconds. He's faster than Matty White.

Any opinions on what the future holds for him or from anyone whose seen him train recently? I personally love watching him play and his kicking is nothing short of sensational, put him in Riewoldt's place and I reckon he could've covered the distance.

He isn't faster in a sprint than White, but he has better endurance.

His kicking can be very hit and miss and his decision making isn't much better than JON's.

Put him in Riewoldts place and his poor marking would have been very clear and he would've already been out the door.

He's an extremely fit player that gives his all and his a very good tackler but he lacks a footy brain to the extreme and unless we see some kind of improvement there, he can be as fit as El Guerrouj and as fast as Usain Bolt and he'll still be a fringe squad player at best.

In my humble opinion of course. :)

He isn't faster in a sprint than White, but he has better endurance.

His kicking can be very hit and miss and his decision making isn't much better than JON's.

Put him in Riewoldts place and his poor marking would have been very clear and he would've already been out the door.

He's an extremely fit player that gives his all and his a very good tackler but he lacks a footy brain to the extreme and unless we see some kind of improvement there, he can be as fit as El Guruge and as fast as Usain Bolt and he'll still be a fringe squad player at best.

In my humble opinion of course. :)

Speshhhall!:D

Wow I feel today has not been wasted, Fish thought I did something funny and PHX learnt how to spell...umm...that guy's name...

I really don't know how on earth you came to that conclusion PHX - Wallace has played him forward on numerous occasions because he's a strong mark (and a reliable shot for goal for that matter). With the exception of Tuck, as far as strong marking is concerned, he's streets ahead of the rest of our regular onballers.

But in Riewoldt's place?

Darren Glass would have eaten him for breakfast and Matthew Scarlett would have embarrassed him.

He might be better than a couple of our mids but that doesnt mean he's a good overhead mark.

i said it 5 yrs ago when i saw him playing on chris tarrant in a wizard cup game and i'll say it again, he's got the tools to be a very good medium defender in the moore, clement mould. He doesnt have a footy brain and will get r*ped around the stoppages by the likes of ablett, judd, black, kerr, mitchell etc who he will be playing on.

Good on him for obviously having a big crack at taking the next step, but I highly doubt midfield is the go for him, and with moore stepping up, a place in defence looks unlikely.

btw rayzor in response to your claim - Lids anyone?

Will wait and see if this year sheds any new light on the fortunes of this kid. He has been in the system for how long? Another year or 2 is a small price to pay to see if he takes the next or a few next steps. One thing is for sure and certain, IMO he has the text book frame to be a utility player, who you can play all over the ground. he also has the aerobic capacity to go with it. He can kick the pill a country mile and all that is required now is "experience". He will keep filling out into a ****ing big unit..
Tipping he will make the grade. The kid has been a winner most of his sporting life and dont think he would have opted for an AFL career if he wasnt confident that he could make it. i;)

But in Riewoldt's place?

Nah mate, of course not, but just because he couldn't play a key forward position doesn't mean he should be described as a "poor mark" - it's one of his strengths.

He might be better than a couple of our mids but that doesnt mean he's a good overhead mark.

I think you'd find that the coaching staff rate him as a better overhead mark than almost all our non-KP position players; which is who he is up against.

btw rayzor in response to your claim - Lids anyone?

Yep, fair call Tony. I actually commented a couple of months back that I thought having Tuck, Deledio and Jackson as mids who can take a big grab in the forward line is a massive advantage for us over the average midfield from other clubs.

Seriously how the **** could you possibly know this?

Well he hasn't stuck him in the forward line at crunch stages of matches (whatever quarter that is) where we need contests in the air and a goal because he thinks he's an outstanding crumber. He sends Tuck forward, he sends Deledio forward, he sends Jackson forward - because they're all good overhead and can create mismatches.

The coaching staff obviously see something in Jackson. I love his work ethic and his mongrel , something that alot of our players have lacked over the years. Yes he has been given a few years to develope and is a little un skillful at times but I think he deserves the reward right know because of some on field performances and obviously his off field efforts. Great to hear he is ripping it up on the track but this means one thing for him unfortunatley - now he has the extra fitness and size his composure and decision making should improve and if it doesn't blokes like Wally and Beaver will have a field day with him at the end of the year and so they should. I personally think he'll do well this year as a result of the marvellous off season he has had and I wish him all the best for 2009 and beyond.

I dunno about Jacko in the forward line...tho...
How many times have you seen someone from mid or back who runs the extra mile, to become the loose man in attack. Heaps. it comes about from shear effort. While his skills are ok, he can make up for it in endurance. He adds to the midfield muscle. With Cuz in the side, and people bantering around Edwards doing stints there (can't see that within 2 years or so), and Foley cemented there, and so too White, are we going to have 4 sub 180cm players as mids? (don't even mention Kingy in the middle) Not without some serious grunt to help anyway.
Who else is going to do Jackos job, Johnson? (Yes partly) Polo (Maybe) Hislop (Maybe, but still lacks a bit of height/weight/endurance/grunt) . I don't know what sort of endurance Moore has got, but hes got enough mongrel, speed and height to possibly become a strong marking tagger.
I see Jackos role is important, although it doesn't come without its deficiencies.

I dunno about Jacko in the forward line...tho...
How many times have you seen someone from mid or back who runs the extra mile, to become the loose man in attack. Heaps. it comes about from shear effort. While his skills are ok, he can make up for it in endurance. He adds to the midfield muscle. With Cuz in the side, and people bantering around Edwards doing stints there (can't see that within 2 years or so), and Foley cemented there, and so too White, are we going to have 4 sub 180cm players as mids? (don't even mention Kingy in the middle) Not without some serious grunt to help anyway.
Who else is going to do Jackos job, Johnson? (Yes partly) Polo (Maybe) Hislop (Maybe, but still lacks a bit of height/weight/endurance/grunt) . I don't know what sort of endurance Moore has got, but hes got enough mongrel, speed and height to possibly become a strong marking tagger.
I see Jackos role is important, although it doesn't come without its deficiencies.

Can some one enlighten me and tell me what Jackson's job is?
Don't tell me he frees up this and that bs.
What position does he hold down regularly?

He runs on the spot and the only time he heads in the right direction is when he heads for the Burgers....and he's done that enough.

One more year :rolleyes: again, then we flog him off to some country league.
He'd be a star there.

------------------------------------------
RFC 2009 = NO EXCUSES = ONLY ACHIEVEMENTS

He's a tagger. Taggers have to run. And run. And run. And run.

Wow, if that's all they had to do, and it had nothing to do with skills or having a footy brain so you can punish the opponent you're tagging, I would've been down at Punt Road years ago. :cool: