Jacobs & Walker Trade Discussion

Yea, but other years you haven't had the chance to pick up the cream of the SA crop. Which SA kids have been around for you to snap up with your first rounder in the last 5 years and you've skipped over them? B.Ebert? Tapscott? When a good SA kid has been there you've taken him (Davis, Sellar, Pfeiffer) So have Port (Hartlett)

Don't think Pfeiffer is a good SA boy.

I like Walker and I think Jacobs may have a huge upside but if we gave up pick 14 for either I would be gutted. If we use the Carltons supporters bizarre trading logic, Brent Reilly is still worth a 1st round draft pick when us living in the real world know we would be lucky to get a pick inside the top 40.

For me:

Walker - Pick 21-25 ish or equivalent player
Jacobs - Pick 31-35 or equaivent player.

Also Macca mentioned the AFC are making a play for Tamling. I like the idea. Like Schultz, Ottens and Rodan he may blossom away from the basket case that is Richmond. His pace would be handy on the outside of our packs. I wonder if the Tigers supporters use the same trading logic as the Blues supporters. If so, Paddy could be heading to Punt Rd in 2011.

I must admit, I'm not overly excited to get rid of Sellar. I think he could make a really good CHB and especially FB in the future. For a big guy, he has really good skills and reads the play well. Its a pity he's just abit short to be genuine ruckman. However, I also believe even given his height limitations he is still a better ruck option than Moran.

Spot on with your values of Walker and Jacobs :thumbsu: Saying that Walker was a 1st round pick so is worth a 1st rounder is like saying Jacobs was a rookie so is only worth a low pick!!

Jacobs has had 1 fantastic game in a final, and a few good games, playing a total of 17 games. Yes he is a ruckman and has potential, but still pretty much an unknown. (Gee, we could say Henderson as shown just as much potential in the 12 games he has played coming off the rookie list, but we are not banding him around saying he is worth a 1st round pick!!)

Would not like to see us give up a 1st rounder for him, clubs like Collingwood with Woods have totally overpaid for unproven ruck in the past.

I'd think 2nd round pick + Sellar (who is not a dud as he hasn't done anything cringeworthy aka Meesen, just unproven) would do it.

Bock for Walker would have been a fair trade. So if the AFL says Bock is worth a pick end of the first round, that's what Walker is worth.

As far as I know Sellar has flown to melbourne for a fitness test with the blues. I could be wrong but I think rowie said it on the sports show.

Out of all the crows players I think sellar is the most expendable. If we can have score jacobs it could free moran up to play that chb role. moran is said to have midfielder type pace and does look like a very good prospect if he stays fit. However we have some good draft picks we could send richmonds way and they could send thursfield to the blues allowing us to keep sellar.

I must admit i feel a little excited about trade week. there are plenty of good prospects.

If the crows got Walker and Jacob's Id be happy. that should be the icing on the cake our squad needs.

For those that want Tambling i dont think he could squeeze his way into our best 22. Is he someone that could be in our premiership team I say I dont think so. We have so many small midfielders that I dont think we need one more. Is he able to offer more then Porplyzia, Vince, Douglass, MacKay or Reilly. Walker needs to squeeze into the midfield some how (if we manage a trade) and thats combined with paddy and thomo as in and under midfielders. Brodie Martin offers express pace as well. Tambling as a prospect just doesnt excite me.

Lemme just say to you Crows supporter, from someone who has seen 5 premierships in his lifetime, and watched absolutely champions like Doull, Fitzpatrick, Hunter, Harmes and Silvagni, I'd just like to say you are getting a STERLING deal getting Jacobs and Walker...

Jacobs is a ready made tap ruckman, has strong marking hands and works well around the ground, you've got a way better ruckman than Richmond, North or Port Adelaide have! His game against Shitney was terrific and he dominated in the VFl Grand Final. Jacobs is a quality player, will hold his own in your ruck..

Walker reminds me of Rhys-Jones minus the agro. While his kicking can be shonky, he has excellent and damaging rebound skills and is very handy as a forward. He was in All-Aussie form earlier in the year before his shoulders stuffed up, he smashed Geelong. To his credit he came back, and starred against Shitney as well. Walker will fit in effortlessly into the professional no-nonsense Adelaide team, he is your new Bock, if not better.

Saying that it would be nice to get a decent KPD for a our defense to help out the shaky Bower and pretty-good ,Jamison they really need a player of their level and build to spread their load. Hopefully you have that sort of player and we get them in fair trade.

got to be kidding. he's not even close to bock. if thats how you rate walker your going to be very dissapointed when you hear the trade.

For mine the Jacobs trade will be one of first trades done and I would think i would also involve another club.

Given it was reported that McKinley and Sellar had medical at Carlton. It wouldn't surprise me if Griffin goes to West Coast, McKinley and Sellar to Carlton, Jacobs to Adelaide. Then would be exchange of draft picks, most likely Adelaide give compo pick to West Coast. What that round of pick is I'm not sure. See could get complicated if with swapping of mid picks around.

This enables crows to move off Griffin and if bring in Jacobs you also move on Sellar. Which would enable us free another spot up for a rookie upgrade.

McKinley is certain propect for Carlton who need some good forward target.

Tambling I think could make a reasonable wingman if he's prepared to work heaps harder. With everyone zoning back he could have a role on the break as either:
'run and carry' or;
running forward at pace to create an option.

Not strong enough at clearances for mine to be part of centre square set-ups, but on a wing I think he could be a really handy player.

Similar role to Mackay.

For mine the Jacobs trade will be one of first trades done and I would think i would also involve another club.

Given it was reported that McKinley and Sellar had medical at Carlton. It wouldn't surprise me if Griffin goes to West Coast, McKinley and Sellar to Carlton, Jacobs to Adelaide. Then would be exchange of draft picks, most likely Adelaide give compo pick to West Coast. What that round of pick is I'm not sure. See could get complicated if with swapping of mid picks around.

This enables crows to move off Griffin and if bring in Jacobs you also move on Sellar. Which would enable us free another spot up for a rookie upgrade.

McKinley is certain propect for Carlton who need some good forward target.

Is this a joke?

So we lose Griffin, Sellar AND the Bock pick to get Jacobs?

What an absolute ****ing disaster that would be. We'd be bending over and spreading for anyone to ream us.

You think we overrate our players? your saying Jacobs is only SLIGHTLY better than Sellar. Sellar is an absolute spud who has shown NOTHING. Now your certainly over rating your own player.

This is the kind of rubbish I was talking about. Clueless, offensive trolling which doesn't reflect reality.

Is this a joke?

So we lose Griffin, Sellar AND the Bock pick to get Jacobs?

What an absolute ****ing disaster that would be. We'd be bending over and spreading for anyone to ream us.

sorry didn't mean the bock pick. More likely a swap of draft picks between the two clubs. Compo was probably the wrong word to use. E.g. 3rd Round for 4th round type stuff.

Griffin and Sellar should be more than enough for Jacobs.

People are treating Jacobs like he's the second coming of Dean Cox. He's a 17-game rookie who has played a couple of good games. Griffin and Sellar is over the odds.

Frankly, Sellar is getting massively underrated. He's a year younger than Jacobs and there's a lot to like about his game.

I think sellar has the potential to be an out an out star of the competition. he was an important cog in the adelaide machine in 2009 and injury derailed him this year but when he plays he actually creates alot from his work. i think he has alot to offer and i would love to keep him.

Out and out star? This just gets better...

Just like to bring back to reality with an quote from the 2010 Prospectus "Played 11 gamed in 2009 but had very little impact averaging just 34 Champion Data points the lowest of any player at the club, He averaged nine disposals and nine hitouts per match recording a hitout-to-advantage of just 20%, below average for an AFL Ruckman" For record he avg 55 mins per game and had kicking eff 53.1% for 2009.

He certainly has upside but out an out star of the competition ?? I think need a reality check. The same has to be said for Jacobs, he too is developing and is overated by Carlton people because he is the No 3 ruckman at Carlton for mine atm. But Jacobs has more potential to become a prime tap ruckman where Sellar has more flexibility to play back or forward. Therefore with that to offer I can see why Jacobs is appealing for crows and why sellar would suit Carlton. Given the crows have enough back up in talls back and forward.

Don't agree that Maric and Jacobs should be combination, either play one or the other as footy in 2011 will require leg speed and quick rotations off the bench and see more clubs going in the pinch hitter type combo exactly what Saints went in with last week.

I just hope AFL announce the interchange rule prior to trade week.

Groan... Will this shit ever end?

Carlton-you have absolutely no way of knowing sellars value

Adelaide-same goes for Jacobs and walker

A players value is only as high as the other clubs are willing to pay for them and what the seller (intended) is willing to accept.

This is ridiculous.

Carlton, I think I'm not alone in saying that some if the garbage your supporters have spouted don't do your great club justice. I said SOME

Adelaide, we need to learn as a group to accept others opinions, however grossly different they may be to our own.

In summation... Nobody knows shit, and your shit isn't necessarily shithouse, just because your idea on shit is different to our ideas on shit.

Me thinks it will end up Sellar plus 3rd or 4th rounder for Sammy

Walker......who knows

Dogs may have more on the table and are pushing for a flag so may be willling to part with more

This is the worst ****ing thread as evidenced by the fact that this shitty post of mine doesn't lower the standard one bit.
Can't wait til trade week's over.

Why? What we offer Jacobs to get his signature has no bearing on what we offer Carlton. If anything, having that deal locked down puts us in a position to offer less, if we choose, because we're in a stronger negotiating position.

don't see how.

freo argued that carlton rated warnock enough to pay $$$ but not in trade?

we've said how much we rate him, so we can't play all coy.

he won't get through the psd imo. so no our position isnt strengthened