Jade Rawlings New Assistant Coach

• Thread starter Thread starter _RT_

CoggaRules said:
ok, after sussing out roo mates, the goss from them is that whatever was your opinion about him on the field, he is touted as having a pretty good footy brain, the word was, you will be very surprised.
So welcome aboard Jade, if my mates say it, i will pay it. ;)

you have mates ?? :eek:

:p

I have no real opinion on either although I have heard Rawlings speak on TV down here and he sounds pretty knowledgeable. Certainly intelligent enough to know Ottens doesnt play at Punt Road any more. He was obviously seen as a leader in the VFL side and there was some talk of him for that coaching vacancy albeit sentimental crap. I wont say he is a guaranteed winner but am happier with him than SOS to be honest. McCrae is almost a complete unknown for me but he has been part of a premiership dynasty which cant be all bad.

Wait n see time.

BalmyArmy said:
I heard on SEN yesterday (someone from Nth was talking to them, cant remeber who) but they were saying Jade is one person who lives and breathes football. Players would ask him about opposition rookies or first gamers and he would know everything about them. Apperently, he is an extremely smart footballer.

The same person also went on to say that he would make a brilliant assistant coach and the team that gets him will be very lucky.

I believe that Liam Pickering made these comments. I hope he is right :thumbsu:

and who is Jades manager...oh yeah thats right - Liam Pickering....funny that !! ;)

I think this is a good move.
Thje man might not be the best palyer but that's irrelevent here. One thing about him he seem to be well respected by everyone he meets. He is loved at Hawthorn, Western Bulldogs and the Kangaroos and has always put himself above the team. I heard a story about him when he was playing for the Kangaroos reserves when he had kicked 9, he took himself off half way through the 3rd quarter and told the coach to put a young player on as it will be more beneficial too the club even though he was trying to win a spot in the seniors then. All seemed too have smarts about him and should be a good pick up in an assistant role.

BalmyArmy said:
I heard on SEN yesterday (someone from Nth was talking to them, cant remeber who) but they were saying Jade is one person who lives and breathes football. Players would ask him about opposition rookies or first gamers and he would know everything about them. Apperently, he is an extremely smart footballer.

The same person also went on to say that he would make a brilliant assistant coach and the team that gets him will be very lucky.

Yeah that is what I've heard.

Might have been Richo on the footy show many years ago saying how much he loves it, just lives and breathes footy.

yeh exactly

when you compare him and silvagni's careers there is no comparison, but interms of knowledge of football id take rawlings anyway

silvagni is as dumb as dog **** and hardly knows any players when doing special comments but when you hear jade on abc he is very comfortable with talking about no-names

yeah i also heard pickering talk up jade rawlings. he also said that geelong are OK and basically didnt need to trade their most tradable assets. hmmm.

ill admit, when i heard the news i almost drove off the rd. now that i think about it he could be good. give him a go i say.

mcrae? how many premierships did he win, one wasnt it? anyway he can show the boys what the medal looks like ;)

Truetiger said:
So you dont rate David King or Royal? Or i guess they r Ordinaryas well . Give the guy a chance already I dont have a problem with Jade being down there.

Not a fan of King, no. Royal is good though, point taken. Of course, I hope he's the next Vince Lombardi, but I just reckon we might have chosen our date for the school dance a bit early. Best wishes etc...

Weaver said:
If he can get Richo to work the corridor he is a super-coach in the making ... so many have tried - so may failed.
Maybe he'll give Richo goal-kicking lessons and Rawlings slice will cancel out Richos hook - put their kicking together and might get one going straight.

True Thylacine said:
I have no real opinion on either although I have heard Rawlings speak on TV down here and he sounds pretty knowledgeable. Certainly intelligent enough to know Ottens doesnt play at Punt Road any more. He was obviously seen as a leader in the VFL side and there was some talk of him for that coaching vacancy albeit sentimental crap. I wont say he is a guaranteed winner but am happier with him than SOS to be honest. McCrae is almost a complete unknown for me but he has been part of a premiership dynasty which cant be all bad.

Wait n see time.
Hear hear. The possum **** from the Frawley days has already been cleared out, so no job opportunties at punt road anymore for sos or any other carlton 'legends'.

I think it could be a good move. When he was at Hawthorn, one of our assistant's at the time said that Jade was by far the most likely to coach of all the players in our list. As another poster mentioned, he lives and breathes footy, and is a good bloke to have around the club, was always winning 'Best Clubman' type awards.

what good can a diagnosed manic depressive with obvious discerning disorders do our club ?:confused:

UpTheGuts said:
WTF?????????????
No doubt he will bring to our club some well-refined coaching expertise sourced from his experiences under Ken Judge, Peter Schwab, Donald McDonald, Peter Rohde and Laidley :eek: :confused:

WOW!!!!!!!!

That is as bad as Walls,Gieshen and Frawley.

Had a chat with him quite recently and he is pretty impressive in his knowledge and approach to the game. (Cagey bastard did not mention the appointment though)
Don't judge him on recent playing form, his knees are shot and severely limited his playing ability. Was still highly respected by Doggies and Roos players and staff despite limited game time.
I think the existing relationships with the playing group will be helpful rather than the perceived conflict of interest.

Good appointment.

WTF???

How many premierships has rawlings won?

He's married to Richo's sister. Is that good enough to get a job at Punt Rd?

This club is just helbent on shooting itself in the foot. A year ago we didnt have enough money to pay King as a fulltime assistant. Now we're just handing out jobs to guys that couldnt get a game.

FFS

I can't believe there are idiots that think because he's related to Richo he got the job. What influence do you think Richo has down there? Do you reckon he said if you don't sign Jade I'm walking? Hah! Think about it please.

jezza said:
I can't believe there are idiots that think because he's related to Richo he got the job. What influence do you think Richo has down there? Do you reckon he said if you don't sign Jade I'm walking? Hah! Think about it please.

I didnt exactly see a rush of other clubs to sign up rawlings.

So why did he get the job?

Was it because he had an exemplary playing career?
Was it because he won so many premierships and like Kingy knows what its like to be a winner?
Was it because he is a model professional that left his club because he wanted to play with his brother?
Was it because of the success we had with Stewart Lowe as our ruck coach?
Was it because he was a better choice than wayne campbell, who whatever anyone thinks of him as a player, cannot argue that he has a fantastic footy brain?
Did we not previously recruit Ben harrison who was Richo's best mate from Tassie and flatmate?

There's plenty of candidates out there who should have been preferred to rawlings

1980 said:

Was it because he won so many premierships and like Kingy knows what its like to be a winner?
Was it because he is a model professional that left his club because he wanted to play with his brother?
Was it because he was a better choice than wayne campbell, who whatever anyone thinks of him as a player, cannot argue that he has a fantastic footy brain?
Did we not previously recruit Ben harrison who was Richo's best mate from Tassie and flatmate?

There's plenty of candidates out there who should have been preferred to rawlings

I'm also pretty sure Wallace said when they appoint King to Richmond in a coaching role that he thought it was necessary to bring in recently retired players from other clubs who had tasted some success.

Jade Rawlings ? :confused: I am missing something

Also regarding the bolded bit 1980 LMAO I wonder where JohnF is ?? :D

1980 said:

Hoot!!! You honestly believe Richo has the influence at the club to say who we hire as assistant coaches???? I have seriously been laughing out loud at that thought!

1. He was a very good player at Hawthorn and only struggled when his knees went. The Hawks were VERY disappointed to lose him.
2. Plenty of assistants out there have never won a premiership. Plenty of players out there have won premierships but would be utterly useless as assistant coaches.
3. He may have left his club, but was very highly regarded as a professional.
4. Stewart Loewe has what exactly to do with hiring Jade Rawlings (this one was probably the biggest clutch at straws (although they are all pretty impressive))
5. Wayne Campbell and the club have already agreed that it is in his best interests for him to coach elsewhere so again, completely no relevance whatsoever.
6. Again, laughing my arse off at the thought we recruit players or coaches because they are mates with Richo. I'd like to think we are far more professional than that, and decisions like moving on Kellaway would suggest we are way way beyond making silly decisions like that.

jezza said:

no they dont think that he got it because he is related to Richo. They suggest that its a fact that he is related to Richo, hence with the desicion to appoint him, those who did appoint him, would had to have factored in that some supprters would be asking questions.
Its ridiculous to suggest that would not happen. If the brains trust didnt think it would, then they really dont understand human nature do they? ;)