Oppo Camp Jaidyn Stephenson (Traded to Nth Melb. 2020)

Should This Thread Be Kept Open?

• Yes

Votes: 30 54.5%
  • No

Votes: 25 45.5%

The club may well have been pushing for a fine for all we know and settled on 10 weeks rather than see Stevo deregistered.
Of course, as per my argument that everyone has an agenda

I am quite devastated with the 'facts' as we currently have them. A silly act, typical of risk taking youth, sure. Nevertheless it is up there in pushing the boundaries, as much as any incident we have had at the pies over the last decades. This kid has unbelievable talent, lucky to get just ten weeks and I expect will come back better than ever. All will be forgiven and forgotten not too far down the track. On the other hand if this sort of transgression is not a rare event then the AFL needs to get all over it. I love AFL footy but the day I think it is fixed that love will die.

My employer can't stop me discussing a move to another employer while I'm still under contract.
My employer has never forced me to work for them for 8 years before I can openly seek employment with whom ever I want.
My employer has never penalized or fined me for breaking work place rules.
My employer has never insisted I stop socialising with disreputable characters.

AFL is NOT a normal employer bound by law eg. many of the above would be considered restraint of trade issues but the Clubs/players happily comply.
So the AFL taking the step of blocking AFL betting on accounts I suspect would be another example and would likely be applauded by Clubs.

The AFL has no legal right to tell another unconnected business what customers they are allowed or not allowed to have.

What a silly post.

Thats kind of mostly uncommonly balanced for Robbo, so I assume someone else wrote it.

It was actually 'Robo'

The Hun is slowly replacing its writers with AI

Nitesh from Hun IT found that Robbo's writing was the easiest to enhance

With machine learning, Robo now uses grammar, logic, and avoids burning its tongue at 1am on the wrong end of a ciggie

Penalty was fair given the rules in place.

Comments equating it to match fixing I'm not sold on - IMO if the bets aren't going to motivate performance detrimental to winning the game that's all that really matters. Anything else is affecting the integrity of the exotics markets more than anything.

It was actually 'Robo'

The Hun is slowly replacing its writers with AI

Nitesh from Hun IT found that Robbo's writing was the easiest to enhance

With machine learning, Robo now uses grammar, logic, and avoids burning its tongue at 1am on the wrong end of a ciggie

"What's your name son?"

"Murphy...No wait that can't be it I'm too short fat and ugly...call me...Robbo..."

Betting companies will make money of footy. It's a legal activity. Why therefore shouldn't the AFL get their fair share of that. Funds that go to promote grass roots footy, funds that go to establish women's footy, funds that go to prop up under performing clubs, funds that go to improved facilities.

Betting companies use marketing to create problem gamblers. Gambling addicts, like any addict, do things which are not rational or in their best interest to get a win.

The AFL happily uses our sport as a platform for these companies. I don't think it's a huge leap to say that these chickens were bound to come home to roost.

The AFL has no legal right to tell another unconnected business what customers they are allowed or not allowed to have.

What a silly post.

Where did I say the AFL would compel betting companies to block accounts of players?

It would simply be a case of the AFL forcing players to sign a request to have such betting blocked, which would then be arranged via the betting company.

And seriously - the personal stuff, give it a rest

This is where we disagree, theres no evidence that truth would have come out.
A mate of mine confided in me 30 years ago that he was worried about getting caught growing shall we say 'something illegal'. I told him to get rid of them, he did.
End of story.

Howe should have asked him if he used his own account. The answer no. Ok they can never prove it. Don't do that stupid sh1t again, don't discuss it, and let's go play footy.
Instead, Howe drove him to the police station and said let's go get you charged.
Mind boggling.

If you think Howe telling him not to do it again would mean Stephenson would stop is ‘mind boggling’.

A harsh penalty and ridicule with the feeling you let your teammates down is the only way in which a young kid will think twice about doing it again.

If you think Howe telling him not to do it again would mean Stephenson would stop is ‘mind boggling’.

A harsh penalty and ridicule with the feeling you let your teammates down is the only way in which a young kid will think twice about doing it again.

Stephenson did listen to Howe and took his advice. Your mind must be boggled.

Yes. Because he had to. If Howe just told him not to do it again, he most certainly would do so and not tell him. With no repercussions he would sit at home on his phone and place a bet as he did before.

Now he will think twice knowing that he has been suspended and all eyes are on him.

You obviously don’t have children.

I can’t believe I had to explain it.

Why?
Adams doesn’t strike me as a guy to toe the company line.
His comments were thoughtful and he basically said that Stephenson now owned his mistake and redemption for him starts this week.

Well they can't come out and Bag it as it would just cause my Issues.

Might not be either but that what I think

Did anyone notice the Bet365 advertising running over and over on the Boundary fence in the WCE v Essendon March just now? The AFL industry is so tied in with gambling, it is normalising it for today’s kids. My best friend’s son is 12 and for the last few years has talked about the odds. The Front Bar does a “multi” and makes light of gambling every week. It has become so much a part of the culture, can we not understand how young players could get caught up in what is only part of accepted conduct for fans of AFL? Make no mistake, I think Jaidyn broke the rules knowingly and he is lucky it wasn’t a worse penalty. He will learn from it. I think the AFL needs to rethink its commercial relationships with gaming and gambling.if it is to be taken seriously in this area.

Betting companies use marketing to create problem gamblers. Gambling addicts, like any addict, do things which are not rational or in their best interest to get a win.

The AFL happily uses our sport as a platform for these companies. I don't think it's a huge leap to say that these chickens were bound to come home to roost.

Unless I'm mistaken, it was actually the high court of Australia which enabled advertising in sport in the mid-late naughties and state and federal legislatures have done nothing since to change that. Why would they given how dependent they are upon the revenues. But let's not pretend that or the introduction of pokies in Victoria have in and of themselves created the gambling issues that we see in society.

I grew up in a border town in the 60's and 70's and even then people were putting money through poker machines they could ill afford to lose, people were spending enormous amounts of time in TABs or with SP bookies. This isn't a new phenomenon. It's a cultural thing embedded in our society. People will do it legally or illegally if forced to. Betting agencies will advertise betting on football even if the AFL aren't putting their hand out for their cut. Ditto all the other sports. I'm not sure why people are so desperate to lay so much of it at feet of the AFL.

Yes let's disagree because I suspect you don't understand it

If you have had children, have you ever punished them for doing something wrong and thereby getting them to understand what is right, or did you just ignore it because addressinig it might have been seen as "throwing the child under the bus"
Using this example BJ let's play a hypothetical game.
Your child confides in you that he/she has done something wrong that could have serious consequences.
If you remain silent there is a good chance that nobody will ever know.
Do you try to protect your child or do you drive him down to the police station to be charged.

Unless I'm mistaken, it was actually the high court of Australia which enabled advertising in sport in the mid-late naughties and state and federal legislatures have done nothing since to change that. Why would they given how dependent they are upon the revenues. But let's not pretend that or the introduction of pokies in Victoria have in and of themselves created the gambling issues that we see in society.

I grew up in a border town in the 60's and 70's and even then people were putting money through poker machines they could ill afford to lose, people were spending enormous amounts of time in TABs or with SP bookies. This isn't a new phenomenon. It's a cultural thing embedded in our society. People will do it legally or illegally if forced to. Betting agencies will advertise betting on football even if the AFL aren't putting their hand out for their cut. Ditto all the other sports. I'm not sure why people are so desperate to lay so much of it at feet of the AFL.

The fact remains that sports betting companies would simply not be spending so much on advertising if it weren't creating some degree of demand for a gambling market. Whether they say so or not, gambling addicts are what net these companies money (hence cash backs, etc. to incentivise further gambling). It violates the principles of the profit motive if it costs more to advertise than it brings in.' I'm not sure that's difficult to grasp.

My point is that the AFL gladly saturates its viewership with these advertisements, allowing its own consumers to serve as an advertising market for these organisations. These advertisements which themselves are designed to create a demand, and thus contribute to addiction.

Again, I don't think it's a huge leap to think that gambling addicts, especially those addicted to sports betting, would do something like Stephenson has done.

Does that mean I think Stephenson should bear no blame? Of course not. But he has been crucified by an organisation which uses our sport to create an addiction among its viewership, an addiction which (1) would eventually come back to hit the sport at some time; and (2) has destroyed how many thousands of lives and families.

Therefore, I apportion some blame to them, and see their holier than thou attitude when scapegoating Stephenson as hypocritical.

I'm not going to harp on it, it's another board and I don't want to overstay my welcome. But I think those of us who have been involved in the advertising industry (and/or helped out with addicts) will identify with what I've written.

I said I wouldn't post about this anymore but Sir Robinson has spoken...……….enjoy. o_O

AFL came down hard on Magpie Jaidyn Stephenson for betting and rightly so, Mark Robinson writes

Jaidyn Stephenson unleashed a stunning 65m torpedo that brought the house down in Collingwood’s Round 9 clash with St Kilda. But the euphoria of that brilliant moment now has an asterisk beside it, Mark Robinson writes.

Jaidyn Stephenson was dealt with appropriately.
He bet on Collingwood games
he played in and bet on the performances of himself and his teammates.

Forget that he only bet $36.

It’s about the possibilities.

The AFL said it investigated the bets, viewed the games he bet on and decided Stephenson didn’t have an impact on the games.

They must be mind readers.

It's at times like this that I like to flick through Robinson's old Hird & ASADA articles.

Make no mistake about it, the likes of Robinson, Whately, Maher etc. are major drivers of the gentrification of AFL football.

Yes. Because he had to. If Howe just told him not to do it again, he most certainly would do so and not tell him. With no repercussions he would sit at home on his phone and place a bet as he did before.

Now he will think twice knowing that he has been suspended and all eyes are on him.

You obviously don’t have children.

I can’t believe I had to explain it.

So you need to suffer consequences to learn lessons in life.
That's a new one.
Everyday people make mistakes without suffering consequences, yet learn a lesson.
I can't believe I had to explain that to you.
Jeremy Howe probably doesn't play frisbee with his dog anymore for example.