Society & Culture Jail

• Thread starter Thread starter Rusty22

Have had a fair few (ex)mates go to jail.

One thing that's interesting is they come out with the same maturity as what they went in with. (all went in young)

Their experiences differed greatly. Most were just bored. One got put into protective custody after getting a hot kettle poured on him because he ratted on someone. When he got out he was still hated for it and was stabbed by some random prisoner who spotted him by chance.

Protip - Don't rat on people.

My best mate is in construction he did work on Wacol Prison in Brisbane and was in and out every day for around 8 months.

Reckons some of the prisoners were heaps funny, although he was not allowed to speak to them. They used to yell out and ask to borrow his angle grinder for a few minutes when he was working!

He said the cells were pretty basic but some real bad mothers there.

He was working and he kept hearing this "bang bang bang bang" at regular intervals. Could not figure out what it was so asked one of the guards, so the guard went and showed him. Some loose cannon prisoner hated the guards so much that he would 'train' all day. When the guards came into the cell they would make him lie down on his stomach facing away from the door before securing him.

So every day, all day he would practice lying in that fashion, then jumping up as fast as he can and then punching the metal door as hard and as fast and as many times as he could. So the banging was this dud absolutely laying into the steel door as part of his self imposed 'training' program. My mate said the force with which this bloke was punching the door was pretty scary, and he did it all day.

I spent a 2 night stint and a 1 night stint in lockup while in Europe, for overstaying my visa, and I can honestly say it is absolutely the most boring thing you could possibly go through in your life. You can handle the lack of freedom no problems, it's just the ****ing boredom, it is like torture. I'd imagine it would he a hell of a lot easier if you're in a cell with another person, or have shit you can do in your cell ie read, without those things though, you wouldn't be able to last very long.

You can see why it's been the punishment of choice for so long.

Whilst on holiday, a mate of mine was incarcerated in a Japanese detention center for a few months. My mate is Irish, has very light skin, blue eyes and blonde hair. During his time, he did not see any non-Asian detainees and he therefore stood out from the general populace.

Visited a number of gaols in the UK for work. From what I gathered from my own observations and talking to both screws and prisoners, the main issue is boredom.

Only time I felt in any way uneasy in terms of my personal safety was in Polmont, the young offenders. Real air of menace in that joint, as you'd expect when you get 400 odd 16 - 21 year old blokes who have committed crimes (usually of violence) locked up in a confined space.

Visiting Peterhead, a dedicated sex offenders jail, was very weird though. Creepy as.

Was speaking to a former prisoner not too long ago. I was interested to know how he got his hands on drugs. His wife smuggled pills wrapped up in tissues, and stuck it in her vagina. When visiting, she went into the toilet, removed the drugs, placed them in her mouth, then upon leaving, would pass the drugs onto him with a kiss.

Delicious.

Thank you. That's the non-yank version.

My workplace has a contract with the Justice Department and the District Court stuff I've seen in the past few years is enough to scare me straight. Some truly ****ed up individuals out there. More and more is to do with ice too, it is an epidemic and not a today tonight led scare campaign.

Fremantle prison.
Fremantle is spooky, but well worth a visit.

Crazy to think of the conditions those prisoners endured given that it was still in operation in relatively recent times. Although having said that it was pure luxury compared to a gaol I visited in Vietnam.

Barwon

632197-barwon-prison.jpg

Where's the cum box?

Ive stayed in dongas in mining camps a lot worse than modern cells.

A lot of indigenous youths chose to reoffend because living conditions are better in jail than in normal life. Take the Swan District amatuer footy team made up of Worraloo prisoners for example. They get to smash every team by 200 points every week then get chicken treat. Its like an excursion. back in prison they get taught trade skills, have all their meals cooked and rooms cleaned...whats the point of not being there?

Ahh yes back to the days of dark stone walled cells, ball and chains and a hole to poo in.

Whilst on holiday, a mate of mine was incarcerated in a Japanese detention center for a few months. My mate is Irish, has very light skin, blue eyes and blonde hair. During his time, he did not see any non-Asian detainees and he therefore stood out from the general populace.
What did he do to get locked up in Japan for so long? Sounds like more than just a visa issue.