PLUS Your club board comp is now up!
BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Opening Round
The Golden Ticket - Official AFL on-seller of MCG and Marvel Medallion Club tickets and Corporate Box tickets at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
How does Jake feel about playing with the old darks ???RodneyDangerfield said:His old man was a jet. Actually kicked the last goal of the 79 Gf. Pretty sure he was the first player bought for over $100k when he crossed to Collingwood mid 1979. Kicked 4 as a 17 year old in 1975 Prelim and mid 77 was the hottest property in the game when he did his first knee. Champion bloke and its pretty funny that Jake finds himself at Carlton of all places.
Barts said:the kids a legend. i wish him well. dont worry carlton you have a good player on your books now. my team and your team may be big rivals but if jakey kicks the winning goal against us one day i wont be as angry. plays anywhere down the spine and could be ya next kouta and thats a big call. but ill back it

RodneyDangerfield said:Hope you dont mind a tiger dropping in. Am a fmily friend of the Edwards and very pleased for Jakey as is he to be a blue. Old Butch was a ripper player as you say and actually did both knees in the one incident at Collingwood, and another when slipping on the centre wicket training at Richmond when 19.Jakes older brother Duane has done one so fingers crossed it doesnt happen to Jake.Can tell you that as far as hunger,commitment and attitude goes Dennis is going to fall in love with him. He is a genuinelt tough kid with some mongrel and will step up quickly I believe.Very very fast and having watched a bit of him about the best contested mark in TAC even at 17.Captained Jets for half the year,and I firmly believe he was top10-20 next year.Murphy will obviously be a player,but I would put my house on Jakey being top value and a real favourite for Blues fans some day.Great kid,good luck Jake and Carlton.
i was with him on the draft day listening to the draft on the wa to play golf and, i can tell you now that was the best experience i have ever felt and whitness in my life.. he was absolutly extatic and was punching the sh*t out of the dash board in excitiment.. i think that ike most of the kids that want to get drafted he didnt really mind were he ended up, and after all the hype calmed down he said to me that he was happy to go to a club with such a great history. im not just gonna say this becouse his my best mate but carlton will end up very happy with him in the next couple of years just for his hard work and attitude i say this becouse i have sen it first hand for 3 years of football together, he is just a genuine bloke he was more worried about how i was feeling becouse i hadn't been picked up so he's got a bit of heart aswell.Blues_Man said:How does Jake feel about playing with the old darks ???
chooknafied said:i was with him on the draft day listening to the draft on the wa to play golf and, i can tell you now that was the best experience i have ever felt and whitness in my life.. he was absolutly extatic and was punching the sh*t out of the dash board in excitiment.. i think that ike most of the kids that want to get drafted he didnt really mind were he ended up, and after all the hype calmed down he said to me that he was happy to go to a club with such a great history. im not just gonna say this becouse his my best mate but carlton will end up very happy with him in the next couple of years just for his hard work and attitude i say this becouse i have sen it first hand for 3 years of football together, he is just a genuine bloke he was more worried about how i was feeling becouse i hadn't been picked up so he's got a bit of heart aswell.
Blue Boyz said:It's good to hear that he didn't mind what club he went to.
BTW who did he barrack before he got drafted??
RodneyDangerfield said:Jakey was a pies man due to his old man and his cousin Shane O'Bree. I noticed everyone raving about the size of Bower and rightly so, but the the Edwards genes would suggest that Jake will end up bigger than all of them.His old man and brothers filled out considerably after 18...and like Chooknafied I can't tell you enough how frighteningly hard this kid works.A year in the Gym under proper instruction will see him go bananas. To give you an idea how hard he goes, this bloke swims and runs for miles every day.Rain,hail or shine. You have an absolute pearler Carlton.

Blue Boyz said:As a long term Bluebagger I am more than heartened to hear the big wraps put on young Jake, so much so I have to wonder why he didn't go top 10 or at least top 20.
Any ideas?????
Thanks for the insight Chooka ..sorry to hear you didn't get picked up ...but keep at it and don't get too dissallusioned...your time will come.chooknafied said:i was with him on the draft day listening to the draft on the wa to play golf and, i can tell you now that was the best experience i have ever felt and whitness in my life.. he was absolutly extatic and was punching the sh*t out of the dash board in excitiment.. i think that ike most of the kids that want to get drafted he didnt really mind were he ended up, and after all the hype calmed down he said to me that he was happy to go to a club with such a great history. im not just gonna say this becouse his my best mate but carlton will end up very happy with him in the next couple of years just for his hard work and attitude i say this becouse i have sen it first hand for 3 years of football together, he is just a genuine bloke he was more worried about how i was feeling becouse i hadn't been picked up so he's got a bit of heart aswell.
Kegs44 said:He didnt have the greatest start to the year, didnt play metro, and is still eligible to play footy in TAC cup next year thats why he didnt go higher.
Muji said:I can't wait for the new season with all this talent coming
through![]()
Mine's bigger than yours as well!Blue Boyz said:And FFS Carlton fans (not you specifically Muji) please don't start these inane and mindless bullsh1t arguments with imbeciles from other clubs about how "our kids are better than your kids" as if you were comparing the size of your attachments.