Past Jake Edwards

Re: 37. Jake Edwards

I'll think you'll find that when the club recruited Jake as a bottom age they were banking on him growing a little bit more than what he actually has.

G'day guys.That was me who posted about Melbourne.It was 100%.They were interested,Jake pretty keen to stay though and loves Ratten.
I know Carlton offered him two and I assume that is still the case.Haven't seen Jake for a few months,but speaking to Butch and he says he is up and flying(touch wood) and really excited about Judd.
Funny little story about Judd copping heaps from the boys about not knowing Northcote was a hive of Gay activity,but he reckons there the best neighbours you can have.
On Jakes luck this year,I know Denis told him "you're in son" for the first Collingwood game and he stuffed his heel,and then Ratts told him the last 5 games in the ones and he stuffed his ankle.
Fingers crossed for Jakey,can really go and is just fanatical about it.He'll be right.

G'day guys.That was me who posted about Melbourne.It was 100%.They were interested,Jake pretty keen to stay though and loves Ratten.
I know Carlton offered him two and I assume that is still the case.Haven't seen Jake for a few months,but speaking to Butch and he says he is up and flying(touch wood) and really excited about Judd.
Funny little story about Judd copping heaps from the boys about not knowing Northcote was a hive of Gay activity,but he reckons there the best neighbours you can have.
On Jakes luck this year,I know Denis told him "you're in son" for the first Collingwood game and he stuffed his heel,and then Ratts told him the last 5 games in the ones and he stuffed his ankle.
Fingers crossed for Jakey,can really go and is just fanatical about it.He'll be right.

Thanks for that Fella. Awesome stuff :D

Judd lives in Prahran dude.

Little bit suprised that no one has posted in here for the pre season.

I saw Jake in the Doggies praccy match and i'd have to say I was a little impressed with Jake. I thought he was a good foil for Fevola and presented well. Hopefully he stays injury free and can play some really good senior footy this year.:thumbsu:

Little bit suprised that no one has posted in here for the pre season.

I saw Jake in the Doggies praccy match and i'd have to say I was a little impressed with Jake. I thought he was a good foil for Fevola and presented well. Hopefully he stays injury free and can play some really good senior footy this year.:thumbsu:

You're right. Jake has impressed this preseason and has presented himself as another viable forward option for us this season.

I managed to have a close look at him when we played the Bulldogs and I was impressed by what I saw. Probably won't end up a KPP but a very handy 3rd forward type. His marking is very strong and he's a pretty good kick for goal from what I saw, too.

IMO, he has done more than enough to justify being selected in the team for tomorrow night, especially with Fisher out injured. His next challenge is to perform well enough to maintain his spot even once Fisher returns, and to provide some much needed competition for spots.

I look forward to hopefully seeing him make his debut tomorrow night for the Blues against the Tigers, and kick a few goals too.

Sorry this is strictly another Dream Team question, but is Jake up for selection this week?

Kicked four goals in the reserves but due to the fact that we won against Collingwood i doubt there will be many changes. I'd think Hartlett would probably come in ahead of him at this stage anyway.

Very unlucky to get dropped after last week's performance against Freo.

Led up the ground well, took marks and contested well. Disposal was up to standard also.

He couldn't do much more i don't think considdering the amount of opportunity he was given.

Hopefully he doesn't lose any confidence, continues to perform in the two's and fights his way back and earns his spot in the 22.

After a solid performance against the tiges, do you think that Jake Edwards will hold his spot against the saints with Andrew Walker coming back from injury ?

thoughts?

After a solid performance against the tiges, do you think that Jake Edwards will hold his spot against the saints with Andrew Walker coming back from injury ?

thoughts?

I'd like to think he would keep his spot, but it is a possibility that he could be dropped to make way (because he was dropped even after a decent performance in the Fremantle game)

After his performance against the Tigers and with his tandem work with Fisher you'd think he'd keep his place however.

I'd like to think he would keep his spot, but it is a possibility that he could be dropped to make way (because he was dropped even after a decent performance in the Fremantle game)

After his performance against the Tigers and with his tandem work with Fisher you'd think he'd keep his place however.

Would expect MC are aware of this and for the sake of his development will give him another

Jake Edwards needs to be given 6-8 consecutive games in the seniors to find his feet and get accustomed to the pace and intensity of the game at that level.

We manage to find consecutive games to give Russell and Grigg and look how they've benefitted from it!

Only difference: we have plenty of tall running flank/wing/midfield rotation type players on the list and a glaring shortage of strong marking targets inside 50.

Bottom line: Jake is a potantially crucial player to our structure moving forward and if we can find the games to give Russell and Grigg (and see the benefit of investing those games into them) there is no reason why Jake should not play every game for the remainder of the season!

Also, having Jake working in tandem seemed to have brought out Fish's best game in an otherwise pretty average year.

Jake Edwards needs to be given 6-8 consecutive games in the seniors to find his feet and get accustomed to the pace and intensity of the game at that level.

We manage to find consecutive games to give Russell and Grigg and look how they've benefitted from it!

Only difference: we have plenty of tall running flank/wing/midfield rotation type players on the list and a glaring shortage of strong marking targets inside 50.

Bottom line: Jake is a potantially crucial player to our structure moving forward and if we can find the games to give Russell and Grigg (and see the benefit of investing those games into them) there is no reason why Jake should not play every game for the remainder of the season!

Also, having Jake working in tandem seemed to have brought out Fish's best game in an otherwise pretty average year.

Agree. He needs to get a good run at it.

Showed some serious toe vs Tiges as he chased Deledio out of our forward line - nearly caught him on the wing.
Good leap, kicking needs some work, but just needs to find his way in our Fev-centric team structure.:thumbsu:

Couldn't agree more. Whilst I bagged him in another thread after the Tigers match his lack of familiararity with the senior side is no fault of his own. Hammer will develop for next year, Jackson is gone but we need to play Edwards for the rest of the year to determine whether we keep him on Carlton's list.

Copping quite a bit of flak this week is Jakey.

Think it's quite unessecary really. One bad game and everyone gets on his back.

Was very difficult for him to find space in St.Kilda's ultra flood of our forward line. Hoping he bounces back this week against the Swans and shuts a few up.

Copping quite a bit of flak this week is Jakey.

Think it's quite unessecary really. One bad game and everyone gets on his back.

Was very difficult for him to find space in St.Kilda's ultra flood of our backline. Hoping he bounces back this week against the Swans and shuts a few up.

I'm with you there, I'd love to see Jake play senior football for the next 7 weeks straight BUT if if was difficult for him to find space in St Kilda's ultra flood how will he go against Sydney's ultra ultra flood? :confused:

Well it's something that he'll have to learn i think.

Every game is a learning curve for him. Just hope he doesn't get dropped. Deserves games ahead of Wiggins and Russell who have been gifted opportunity after opportunity.

Part of the problem is he is trying to get a kick in a forward line that only ever looks for one player.

When Fev learns to share his space, and create space for others our forward line will fire up nicely.:thumbsu:

Past Jake Edwards