Jake Lever deleting social media

Soft as butter... typical Melbourne.

Can't do the hard yards at a training camp
Can't handle social media banter
This is the absolute dickhead attitude that palms off bullying as banter. Social media allows any coward to spit venom behind the veil of safety.

Thanks for throwing in the Melbourne tag line, which is completely irrelevant.

Got me beat why any footballer would have it. Surely they realise it’s just a tool for society’s mouth breathers to get direct contact with you.

If they want it for normal social purposes then just set it up under an alias and you can just tell your friends and family it’s you.

What is meant by “mouth breather”? Are you implying people breathe through their mouths?

The fact that the 'Most boring VFL/AFL player encounters/sightings' got to 62 pages (and 135,000 views) is testament to the immaturity of the average Bigfooty poster.

I have no life and so will make up (or relay) stories about the time I saw Player X down at the supermarket. I will then make myself out to be cool and the player to be a flog. Pathetic.

Mate, that’s standard for every supporter! This is talking about a natural part of the game whereby players come and go. You can’t whinge about player A leaving then accept Player B had left his club to join yours. Rules for one, not for the others.

Oh ok, so its standard for fans to use double standards but not for players?

So really, players shouldnt accept free kicks they havent earned? Otherwise it's double standards right?

Its pretty "accepted" that when you are in a competition that you want your team to be the strongest it can be. That means welcoming talent and not letting any go unless its on your terms.

Do you not agree?

Or should we take all competitive spirit out of the game?

Tex represents a type of loyalty you dont find everywhere anymore. The type of guy who would bleed for the jersey week in week out. Joel Selwood for all his faults is another.

Why the **** would they be happy guys walk out for money? You can sort of swallow Danger and potentially Sloane leaving for family but chasing the paycheque - well thats just looking after number 1 - which is fine but dont expect clubmen to respect you.

You cant accept some double standards and not others - cos thats a double standard. I need to go and watch inception.

Whilst i would never condone online bullying and have seen first hand the fallout from it with my Daughter being subject to it, Jake has become a victim of not only the filth that can be found in the social media world, but of circumstance too.
Whilst a part of Adelaides defence he was amongst an experienced, well drilled and managed team environment which he had spent some time developing within and a part of. When he decided to leave that safe, familiar place, despite his reasons, he exposed himself to two different factions, those who sought to see him fail and those who expected him to earn his pay cheque.
Unfortunately, trying to fit in at his new Club has not been as easy as running out with his old team mates and his game has suffered, as a result he is copping flack for leaving whilst under enormous pressure to perform, a recipe for disaster for someone so young.

If you are going to accept the biggest pay packet in your Clubs side, you better provide value for money or the spotlight will be blinding..

What is meant by “mouth breather”? Are you implying people breathe through their mouths?
tumblr_om7auhlf851tjydheo1_500.gif

Club, supporters, you're all in it together.

If you're not you're just a cheeseburger franchise club.

Wait a minute...
I'm at the game supporting my team like nearly every home game since inception.

However, I'm not part of AFC management.

Keep digging through...

Ps. Do you attend all your home games through thick & thin as your crowds dropped off in the cellar dwellar years?

Do we know Jake is being targeted specifically by Crows supporters? It could just as easily be disgruntled Melbourne supporters or fans of rival Vic clubs. Crows fans should be aware that we got a good deal for Lever and we've already found a viable replacement for him anyway. I'm way more pissed about losing Lyons and Cameron who look like guns at their new clubs.

So really, players shouldnt accept free kicks they havent earned? Otherwise it's double standards right?

Its pretty "accepted" that when you are in a competition that you want your team to be the strongest it can be. That means welcoming talent and not letting any go unless its on your terms.

Do you not agree?

Tex represents a type of loyalty you dont find everywhere anymore. The type of guy who would bleed for the jersey week in week out. Joel Selwood for all his faults is another.

Why the **** would they be happy guys walk out for money? You can sort of swallow Danger and potentially Sloane leaving for family but chasing the paycheque - well thats just looking after number 1 - which is fine but dont expect clubmen to respect you.

You cant accept some double standards and not others - cos thats a double standard. I need to go and watch inception.
No, I don’t agree, I am talking about two seperate issues.

1. Abuse of players from fans is not on
2. Whingeing about players exiting your club and openly accepting others is just thick given the way sport is these days.

You’ve totally confused yourself.

Do we know Jake is being targeted specifically by Crows supporters? It could just as easily be disgruntled Melbourne supporters or fans of rival Vic clubs. Crows fans should be aware that we got a good deal for Lever and we've already found a viable replacement for him anyway. I'm way more pissed about losing Lyons and Cameron who look like guns at their new clubs.
I think it was both supporter bases.

Goes and brags in the change rooms about the value of the offers he was getting. Left the club for money (as he has a right to). Then proceeds to significantly underperform in his new side, all the while collecting a bigger pay packet than most of his teammates.

Flog.
Were you in the change room when he came in and bragged about offers? Which Adelaide player are you?

Pretty disappointing to hear young Jake has had so much abuse directed his way that he has had to shut down his Twitter account. It really is a poor reflection on the bitter Crows fans and angry Melbourne fans who have attacked for nothing other than doing his job. A lot from these two supporter groups need to take a good look at their atrocious behaviour, in truth they probably shouldn't be supporting a competitive sporting team as they clearly are too immature to be involved.

There's no question Jake has had a difficult start to his year, however he isn't alone among Melbourne players and is still very young.

All the best tomorrow Jake, stick it up all those weaklings potting you from the stands

The bright side is that jake kept his tinder

No, I don’t agree, I am talking about two seperate issues.

1. Abuse of players from fans is not on
2. Whingeing about players exiting your club and openly accepting others is just thick given the way sport is these days.

You’ve totally confused yourself.

Nothint wrong with 1.

Youve lost all logic with 2.

Got me beat why any footballer would have it. Surely they realise it’s just a tool for society’s mouth breathers to get direct contact with you.

If they want it for normal social purposes then just set it up under an alias and you can just tell your friends and family it’s you.

100% this.

If it's one way, I kinda get it. 'Here's me, famous footballer people like, doing stuff'. But even some super nice guy that everyone loves (Bob Murphy, Pav, Lenny Hayes - whoever) is still going to attract complete nimrods saying dumb shit so to actually engage with people and read comments etc. - **** that.

It's like Instagram "models" who post suggestive photos of themselves and wonder why they get sleazy comments. You are literally inviting people on the internet to anonymously communicate with you. What did you think would happen?

Pretty disappointing to hear young Jake has had so much abuse directed his way that he has had to shut down his Twitter account. It really is a poor reflection on the bitter Crows fans and angry Melbourne fans who have attacked for nothing other than doing his job. A lot from these two supporter groups need to take a good look at their atrocious behaviour, in truth they probably shouldn't be supporting a competitive sporting team as they clearly are too immature to be involved.

There's no question Jake has had a difficult start to his year, however he isn't alone among Melbourne players and is still very young.

All the best tomorrow Jake, stick it up all those weaklings potting you from the stands
Pay me $800k a year, and the public can sledge me all they like.

If he can’t take any criticism that he’s not performing like an 850k player and he’s taken money over potential team success.. says all you need to know about Jake.

Lol at Crows fans who claim Lever chose money over success, as if success is imminent at Adelaide and they didn’t just prove to be chokers on the big stage.

In the end footy is a career and he’s maximising his return on it. He’s getting paid more money to play in his home state. 95% of us would do the same. Doesn’t deserve to cop abuse over it. It is not criticism as you put it, it’s mostly abuse.

Do you not agree?

You need to do something

I have a Twitter account because I love interacting with my favourite celebrities, reading all my favourite Marvel superhero gossip and Ed Sheehan updates, and sharing all my opinions, thoughts and activities with complete strangers. I also have 16 separate social media accounts on various platforms like Instagram, Facebook, Myspace, Snapchat, etc because I want to feel relevant and not out of touch with what the young people are doing. I would never dream of abusing celebrities on Twitter because it might cost me some likes or followers and this could therefore affect my self-esteem because I live my life on the internet

Jake Lever deleting social media