Traded Jake Stringer (#973)

You realise he had some of the worst skin folds at the combine, right? He needs a lot of fitness work before he'll stand up at AFL level, as much as I love him as a player.
Stringer 6-10 games
Macrae 5-8 games
Hrovat 10-12
Hunter 10-12
Stevens 16-22
Young - 0

You realise he had some of the worst skin folds at the combine, right? He needs a lot of fitness work before he'll stand up at AFL level, as much as I love him as a player.
I'm sure after the pre-season and some pre-season games in him he will be able to get through more than five games! Good luck to the kid. :thumbsu:

Stringer 6-10 games
Macrae 5-8 games
Hrovat 10-12
Hunter 10-12
Stevens 16-22
Young - 0
Think Macrae will be next year's Pearce/Roberts, only getting a couple of games. Not because of lack of skill of course, but he needs to put on some weight so he doesn't get snapped in half. :p

I'm sure after the pre-season and some pre-season games in him he will be able to get through more than five games! Good luck to the kid. :thumbsu:
I hope you're right, I just don't have much faith in his fitness at this point in time though; reckon he'll be a great pickup in a couple years though. :thumbsu:

Stringer 6-10 games
Macrae 5-8 games
Hrovat 10-12
Hunter 10-12
Stevens 16-22
Young - 0

I'd guess more for Hrovat and less for Hunter but others I agree with, I expect Hunter to start in development league and he really needs to build some muscle, his arms are twigs

4-5 VFL Games then about 5-8 AFL games depending on how he goes in his new training to rebuild his fitness.

5 and 8 don't go in to 22. Seeing something into the future we should know about? :D Should we be worried? :eek:

Realistically, how many games do you guys see Stringer playing next year?

I would guess around 5-6, to be honest.
12 to 15 to be quite honest
Particularly if jones cordy and grant have another dud year.
Who else apart from Stringer do we have to throw forward, that plays like a natural forward.
No one.
But for me the NAB cup has increased importance to see where these guys are at.
One thing for sure is that if Hrovat is able to crack the senior team next year as an inside mid, then he is an absolute steal in this years draft.

If Stringer plays AFL in Round 1 he would indeed be something very special. He's still only getting over a badly broken leg (was anyone aware of that?) and those sort of injuries take a good year to 18 months to overcome from what we've seen in recent years. As Dannnn said he also had poor skinfold results - possibly because he hasn't been able to train and play as he would like for a year.

My guess is he will need a fair bit of conditioning to get his body right for AFL. He may also be given a graduated introduction to senior footy so his leg is given every chance to return to normal. This might mean a number of "soreness" games where he is rested.

So I'd be rapt to see him play AFL by Rd 8 and wouldn't expect him to play more than about 16 VFL/AFL games all year. 5-10 at AFL level would be fantastic. Preferably only 9, so he is eligible to win the RS award in 2014!

Realistically, how many games do you guys see Stringer playing next year?

I would guess around 5-6, to be honest.
No idea it'd depend on his pre-season. He has said on numerous occasions that his leg's fine and that he wants to play NAB Cup and round 1. I for one haven't got the testicular fortitude to argue with him.

"Do whatever you want, Jake. Just don't hurt us" :D

I can't see him being ready next year to contribute much at all to be honest. And I don't care at all. He's coming from a long way back fitness wise and we'll be conservative with the amount of running he does in pre-season I'd imagine.

I can't see him being able to cover the ground to play more than a handful of games next season. Again, I don't care. We have drafted him (and Macrae) to be hitting their straps in 2015, not 2013.

We MUST keep perspective with these 2 next season. Guys drafted behind them like wines, Mayes, vlastuin will play and have an immediate impact, so can we please avoid the howls of another draft balls up and keep a level head with our 2 top guys. Look for small things from macrae and stringer. How does stringers body fat look? Is he running smoothly? Are his skills clean and sharp as advertised?

And whether macrae is filling out. Whether his right foot skills are ok. Is he quick off the mark.

Small things lads, that will lead to bigger things when both guys get themselves physically ready to play Afl footy in time

I'm sure we would only have picked him if we were confident he could overcome his leg injury fully. The new treadmill we bought which allows players to run without putting weight on one leg (which was mostly for Cooney's benefit) could prove useful in getting Stringer's fitness up.

Great to see we've gone for players with the right attitude again. Having two early picks should ease the expectations on Stringer too.

I have it on very good authority that the club medicos were also not terribly bothered by Menzel's knee issues either and felt that if the LARS graft went they could just do the traditional reco. I'm far less bothered by Stringer's leg than Menzel's knee (not that that counts for anything) so I'm happy with how it's panned out.

I like the size of him, and wasn't he cocky being interviewed on Fox last night? Not a hint of being awe-struck - I like him already. If he can walk the walk like he talks the talk, well, I'm looking forward to a fantastic career with the dogs!

I too loved his interview - there are not many 18 year olds who can crack a joke when they're on national television for the first time after just being drafted, and while being surrounded by some greats of the game. Great bloke, can't wait to see him on the field.

If Stringer plays AFL in Round 1 he would indeed be something very special. He's still only getting over a badly broken leg (was anyone aware of that?) and those sort of injuries take a good year to 18 months to overcome from what we've seen in recent years.

Well its already been 18 months - will be 2 years when season starts. And he is young. Dogs staff said they consider him fully recovered - but are going to work on his running gait over the pre-season, which they said they can fix within 3-months.

Personally I reckon (and hope) we will see him play at least half the season unless his leg does play up again. Fitness not so much an issue if he's playing forward this year. And he has a full, unhampered pre-season coming up

I too loved his interview - there are not many 18 year olds who can crack a joke when they're on national television for the first time after just being drafted, and while being surrounded by some greats of the game. Great bloke, can't wait to see him on the field.

And therein lies the appeal.

This club's screaming out for a superstar. A "Buddy Franklin", if you will.

I am by no means suggesting this kid will turn into a Franklin...but jeez it would be good if he did.

Got a link to that interview Dannnnnnnnnnnnnn? Assuming you are able to without a face of course........

And therein lies the appeal.

This club's screaming out for a superstar. A "Buddy Franklin", if you will.

I am by no means suggesting this kid will turn into a Franklin...but jeez it would be good if he did.
Completely agree mate; his character is one that could turn into the face of the game if his form permits it. I honestly can't wait to watch him develop - bring on the NAB Cup!

Got a link to that interview Dannnnnnnnnnnnnn? Assuming you are able to without a face of course........
Haha, I still can't believe it!
It was on Fox Footy so I'm not sure if the interview will be up; basically he'd just come onto the panel after being picked up and was asked, "Is this what you expected?" Completely straight-faced he replied, "Yeah it was."
"... nah not really."

Traded Jake Stringer (#973)

Write your reply...