Traded Jake Stringer (#973)

Completely agree mate; his character is one that could turn into the face of the game if his form permits it. I honestly can't wait to watch him develop - bring on the NAB Cup!

I'd suggest this is a significant reason the club was not prepared to hope he got thru to our third pick. As much as we have picked him on (potential) talent, I think they see a whole lot more on offer and couldn't let that go.

What I especially love is that we got a bolter in Stringer and then made up for it with a slider in Hrovat; a really, really good draft for me. Prudden is an unknown but has a hell of a highlights reel.

We MUST keep perspective with these 2 next season. Guys drafted behind them like wines, Mayes, vlastuin will play and have an immediate impact, so can we please avoid the howls of another draft balls up and keep a level head with our 2 top guys.
Lol, good luck with that. I agree with you but there's no chance here on BF.
At least you can say "I called it on day 1" if they aren't immediate sensations.

I like the size of him, and wasn't he cocky being interviewed on Fox last night? Not a hint of being awe-struck - I like him already. If he can walk the walk like he talks the talk, well, I'm looking forward to a fantastic career with the dogs!
Everything about him suggests he is made for finals footy, mentally and the way he plays.

I like the size of him, and wasn't he cocky being interviewed on Fox last night? Not a hint of being awe-struck - I like him already. If he can walk the walk like he talks the talk, well, I'm looking forward to a fantastic career with the dogs!
Brilliant - I don't want too many polite, shy players at the club. I want a bit of swagger. One comment from someone who knows him was "he is arrogant as the sun is bright"

Now - to continue the man-love, if i can find out what number Stringer's getting i can put it on my new jumper! ;)

Apparently Stringer will be number 9, Macrae number 11, Hrovat number 24 and Prudden number 28.

Now - to continue the man-love, if i can find out what number Stringer's getting i can put it on my new jumper! ;)
That's my plan :p. Waiting for the official announcement. I think he'll be #9 though.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/character-is-draft-buzz-word-20121122-29te1.html

THE Western Bulldogs liked the way Jake Stringer played football: hard. The club made sure it understood exactly how well the teenager's leg had healed since he broke it horribly at the start of last year. Their recruiters knew they could provide Stringer with an environment that would help him improve his awkward running gait, and become as fit as he needs to be to fully complete his recovery.

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/character-is-draft-buzz-word-20121122-29te1.html#ixzz2D1BfaLE0

Anyone see any significance in us naming Stringer before Macrae? Most pundits (even those here on BF) would have had Macrae rated higher than Stringer. It could be as simple as we just thought he was the best available, but there could have been other considerations too...

It's only a little thing but a bloke like Stringer can probably handle the pressure of being the club's #1 pick in the draft better than Macrae. Takes the pressure of Jackson a bit.

It might also be telling the world "this is not a reach, he is the one we wanted and we're calling his name first".

Isn't there also a clause in the AFLPA agreement about top3/top5/top10 picks being guaranteed higher minimum contracts than later picks? Anyway with our salary cap space that shouldn't be an issue.

Anyone see any significance in us naming Stringer before Macrae? Most pundits (even those here on BF) would have had Macrae rated higher than Stringer. It could be as simple as we just thought he was the best available, but there could have been other considerations too...

It's only a little thing but a bloke like Stringer can probably handle the pressure of being the club's #1 pick in the draft better than Macrae. Takes the pressure of Jackson a bit.

It might also be telling the world "this is not a reach, he is the one we wanted and we're calling his name first".

Isn't there also a clause in the AFLPA agreement about top3/top5/top10 picks being guaranteed higher minimum contracts than later picks? Anyway with our salary cap space that shouldn't be an issue.

We have been very, very strong on Stringer for a while is my mail. Stringer was our best available at #5.

Didn't want to risk the dreaded number 6 on his leg? :p

My first thought as well.

Un-cursed Macrae = Bob Murphy Mk2 = finals
Un-cursed Stringer = Pavlich Mk 2 = premiership

Really like the way we went about recruiting these guys. If you looked past all the BS spun by the media, we had Stringer train with us, were constantly in contact, got him to the combine (right?), he was even posting that he had essentially been unofficially recruited by us. And then we picked him. Same with Macrae - we were apparently very interested in him from early on in the draft, interviewed him pretty extensively, and then picked him. Very strong, professional message sent - if we are interested in you, we're dead serious and not mucking around, and will do what we can to get you. Makes Melbourne's treatment of Wines look pretty flaky and mercenary by comparison, hope he makes them regret their little backflip at some later stage while our boys repay our good treatment of them.

My first thought as well.

Un-cursed Macrae = Bob Murphy Mk2 = finals
Un-cursed Stringer = Pavlich Mk 2 = premiership

Because if it's one thing Pavlich Mk 1 has done well it's premierships. And finals for that matter.

That said I love Stringer already.

I did think about this for a split second but I reckon the club probably didn't put to much thought in to it. Maybe a a minute or two but ultimately it doesn't matter. Only us here at BF over think stuff like this! aha

Traded Jake Stringer (#973)

Write your reply...