Draft Profile Jake Stringer

Saw him tonight, saw him 2 weeks ago at Visy and he is definitely struggling.
Purely based on current output and my opinion based on seeing him play 2 games, it would be one ballsy club that takes him with a pick inside the top 20.

Selwood slipped down the pecking order due to his injury and was pounced on by Geelong, so I can't see any reason why a club wouldn't take him. They will do due diligence and make sure that the leg has healed properly though.

Playing VFL For the Gold this week apparently , be interesting to see how he goes .

RP, I was under the impression that being top up player in VFL was more for your fringe draftable type -player who had little exposure at Nationals, or your overage (19 year olds). You can correct me but it seems a little odd.

Not sure on that but Kerridge did it last year for Bendigo and he was hardly fringe. Maybe Bendigo have different rules?

Not sure there is any restriction/rule on who can play as the 23rd man , but I'd suggest most TAC cup clubs would tend to not encourage players who have played nationals to play VFL and as you say leave that option for those that havent had nationals exposure .

You might find that Essendon are looking at him and expecting/hoping he falls into their pick region, and wanting to get a first hand look via the VFL. You are correct though, most TAC clubs endorse players to the VFL who missed out on the Nationals but are performing well....good luck to Jake, he's been through a lot in the last 12 months,

the Daniher pick? Or pick 35?

Pick 35, Essendon would be silly to pass up on Daniher. Interestingly, Stringer trained with Geelong a couple of years ago as a 15/16 year old, no coincidence that the Gold played Geelong today? It's all about maximum exposure at this time of the year....
Just through, Stringer named in the best for the Gold in their loss against the VFL Cats.....

If Geelong have their first round selection still (ie they haven't traded it away) I would expect them to look very closely at Jake Stringer - If he is still available, which may depend on where Geelong finish up - a few weeks ago it seemed Geelong would have pick 14 or 15, now it could be 19 or 20 :) Stringer might not make it to 20, but I think he would make it to 15 - 35? I would not have thought so, but he is coming back from major injury

Is that a guess or some sneaky inside knowledge from being a Bendigo fan? TAC Future Stars left him out of the first round mock they did. Would love to snap him up with one of our 2nd rounders. By all accounts is a ripper character

He would look good in a Tigers jumper, don't think it'll happen though. By the years end and through the combine, I believe that he'll certainly go 1st round, I still hope top 10. Correct on the character, when the Pioneers had a bye recently, he played a game for his local club with his brother when 'advised' not to; because he wanted to play a senior game of footy with his brother......He might be something special....

Schnail73 if Essendon where looking at him and wishing he falls through to them wouldn't they prefer he didn't play VFL. I'd have thought they be in the best position to look at him without having to further promote him ?
Also do you think he is any chance of regaining his normal running gate and agility by seasons end / draft camp ?

Schnail73 if Essendon where looking at him and wishing he falls through to them wouldn't they prefer he didn't play VFL. I'd have thought they be in the best position to look at him without having to further promote him ?
Also do you think he is any chance of regaining his normal running gate and agility by seasons end / draft camp ?
It was probably along the line of reward for effort, he has given everything into getting back to a standard he accepts as his. His game in the Bendigo league seniors where he lined up against 3 or 4 different players for the day (men, not boys) was very strong, kicked 2.8 and 2 out on the full. He monstered them....There might be a little in the fact that he was not included in the TAC Cup Future Stars phantom draft that pushed him into calculations for the VFL. We all believe he is a top 10 pick quality prospect......
I don't subscribe to the running gaite and agility discussion. During rehab, he spent hours in the weightroom and bulked up considerably, putting on around 8kg, this is a lot for a 17yo who will need to effectively learn to run again. Seeing old footage of him, he had the same running style as a 15yo. Nothing is normal when it comes to Jake. He will get quicker and more agile by years end....I would love to see him fall into the yellow and black pick region, there are so many upsides to picking this kid up...

It was probably along the line of reward for effort, he has given everything into getting back to a standard he accepts as his. His game in the Bendigo league seniors where he lined up against 3 or 4 different players for the day (men, not boys) was very strong, kicked 2.8 and 2 out on the full. He monstered them....There might be a little in the fact that he was not included in the TAC Cup Future Stars phantom draft that pushed him into calculations for the VFL. We all believe he is a top 10 pick quality prospect......
I don't subscribe to the running gaite and agility discussion. During rehab, he spent hours in the weightroom and bulked up considerably, putting on around 8kg, this is a lot for a 17yo who will need to effectively learn to run again. Seeing old footage of him, he had the same running style as a 15yo. Nothing is normal when it comes to Jake. He will get quicker and more agile by years end....I would love to see him fall into the yellow and black pick region, there are so many upsides to picking this kid up...
Then hope he doesn't get his speed and agility back until pre-season :p

Not sure on that but Kerridge did it last year for Bendigo and he was hardly fringe. Maybe Bendigo have different rules?
His selection probably has as much to do with Essendon's injuries (OTOH there were only about 8-10 listed guys @ Bendigo last week) as anything.

They would probably not pick a really lightly skinny kid purely because they'd be worried about hurting him, but I don't think there's any 'rules' that we don't know about.

His selection probably has as much to do with Essendon's injuries (OTOH there were only about 8-10 listed guys @ Bendigo last week) as anything.

They would probably not pick a really lightly skinny kid purely because they'd be worried about hurting him, but I don't think there's any 'rules' that we don't know about.

There was never a mention of "rules" as you put it. Just a query on why he was playing when top up players used are usually the fringe/draftable types.

Sorry mate but I think he most certainly still his a very evident limp and his agility isn't great , yes additional weight could decrease his agility , but why would he bulk up when coming off a major leg injury ? Strange ? Unfortunately every suggests to me he is playing on purer strength ATM , which he will no doubt get away with this year . His limp and loss of agility reminds alot of Nathan Brown post his injury and I think is a significant reason for concern , when considering him as a first round prospect .
I honestly think he has it ahead of him to be a early round pick , not that it means much , but I suspect he is very likely to slide to middle of the 2nd round .

Sorry mate but I think he most certainly still his a very evident limp and his agility isn't great , yes additional weight could decrease his agility , but why would he bulk up when coming off a major leg injury ? Strange ? Unfortunately every suggests to me he is playing on purer strength ATM , which he will no doubt get away with this year . His limp and loss of agility reminds alot of Nathan Brown post his injury and I think is a significant reason for concern , when considering him as a first round prospect .
I honestly think he has it ahead of him to be a early round pick , not that it means much , but I suspect he is very likely to slide to middle of the 2nd round .

That would be fantastic if it was to happen and the tigers gave him a shot with our compo pick !

That would effectively mean we traded Tambling for
Helbig
Elton
Stringer