James Aish

Do people understand the concept of buying low and talent ......the kid is talented, not happy, so his footy is shit

Would you have wanted to keep CEY last season? ......what about now?

We should just go and get some ready made superstars for cheap.

I wonder if the deal has already been done, and he's already mentally checked out...
Deal hasn't been done.....but he may have checked out of Brisbane

This is the first time I have actually watched him play with the intention to keep an eye on him.

I am embarrassed that we have a thread dedicated to his potential trade. He is a passenger out there ... at best.

I'm afraid that I agree with this. I also just watched him for two and a bit quarters. He had two possessions: one was a kick to a teammate, the second was a handball out of bounds. But that wasn't all: he was tackled and went for holding the ball twice; he tackled and gave away two frees for goals; he lost two one-on-ones, one of which resulting in him chasing and not catching his opponent, resulting in another goal! He doesn't seem to have any attributes and should not be chased by us, in my view. He would just add more of the inadequacies that we already have. We need to pursue midfielders with some outstanding characteristic or other, such as speed. (This opinion is based on watching more than one match and I don't accept that I should ignore all of these observations on the grounds that he is deliberately playing badly for whatever reason: do we really want a player of that character?)

Do people understand the concept of buying low and talent ......the kid is talented, not happy, so his footy is shit

Kidding me Wayne, he's might be playing low but you'll have to pay bloody high.
This is no bargain buy and quite frankly you said it yourself "his footy is shit."
Once again Adelaide will be the team that turns around a disgruntled or potentially talented kid.

Jumboprince already commented "we have far greater needs if we are trading our first round pick than Aish..I mean if we had our KPPs all sorted out then maybe, maybe trade our first for him...and even then I wouldn't be happy."

We have so many more needs than a Aish. Get him cheap, Yes... but what you stated Wayne is a concept and no where near reality. Brisbane will demand plenty for him.

CEY was ours, we didn't have to trade for him...cost us nothing, not a valid argument in this case.

Kidding me Wayne, he's might be playing low but you'll have to pay bloody high.
This is no bargain buy and quite frankly you said it yourself "his footy is shit."
Once again Adelaide will be the team that turns around a disgruntled or potentially talented kid.

Jumboprince already commented "we have far greater needs if we are trading our first round pick than Aish..I mean if we had our KPPs all sorted out then maybe, maybe trade our first for him...and even then I wouldn't be happy."

We have so many more needs than a Aish. Get him cheap, Yes... but what you stated Wayne is a concept and no where near reality. Brisbane will demand plenty for him.

CEY was ours, we didn't have to trade for him...cost us nothing, not a valid argument in this case.

Who ever said trade our first pick .....there's no way that will happen ....2nd round and potentially a player only

In these days the club holding the player is not in the bargain position .....take a second round or get nothing if he goes in the draft ....Aish is not in contract you know

Commentators did say on the radio during the first half that Aish is pushing his price down with every game he plays. I imagine that trend would have continued with his 1 possession 2nd half. He will be dropped this week I reckon, if he is kept it is nothing to do with form.

I'm pretty ok with that... if we can get Aish for under a first it'd go along way to fixing gaps with promising youth (does look like a bad case of 2nd year blues though, was pretty good last season).

GWS showed yesterday what we are missing and Aish does not help to fill this gap

we will just add another player with average leg speed and compound the issue even more

GWS showed yesterday what we are missing and Aish does not help to fill this gap

we will just add another player with average leg speed and compound the issue even more

Toumpas playing very well for Melbourne today; he's one we should be chasing as well - and would definitely fit the need we have.

Do they? polec hasn't set the world on fire and Jacobs was never a high talent buy low guy.

Polec was very good last year.

May have misinterpreted you anyway mate - Jacobs was a gamble, no one thought he was this good; but we got him due to him being down the pecking order and not being able to get a game.

Aish potentially = Robbie Gray

Leg speed equal
Footy nouse equal

Gray just has 5-6 years more experience

Definitely think he's a need ......we have minimal real footy thinkers in the midfield ...plenty of grunt, just no Stevie J's

Aish potentially = Robbie Gray

Leg speed equal
Footy nouse equal

Gray just has 5-6 years more experience

Definitely think he's a need ......we have minimal real footy thinkers in the midfield ...plenty of grunt, just no Stevie J's

You must be kidding! Let's go for someone with an outstanding characteristic such as speed.

That doesn't mean that won't be a draft priority ......but i'll say this outside speedy players have a huge failure rate

It's not electric speed we need ....just above average ....like a Fyfe please ;)

Agree with this. Eddie Betts. Had his worst season on record before we picked him up, we identified him in a trough. Now it's Cheers all round.

We either identify jaded goods and get them back on track, or give up our first round picks + huge $$ and/or equivalent players.

Best teams (Sydney is a good example) cherry pick other lists' talent to play a role. Aish may be having a below average year, but he sure as shit would've been handy yesterday.

James Aish