James Aish

Dumb decision?

Not trading pick 12 + Polec for Tippet was a dumb decision mate.

Drafting a highly talented kid in a NATIONAL draft, isn't.
Mate, you were over on the Port board whinging that we have a James Aish thread. You gots lots of love from the flogs on their board, you can always go back there for more back slapping and high fiving.

Coming over to an opposition's thread and being a smart ass. Okay...

The Lions did finish up with 3 players who have shown real ability in senior footy in their first year...Darcy Gardiner,Tom Cutler and Nick Robertson...and premiership ruckman Trent West who sizzled at ruck when Leuey went down until his own unfortunate injury...to replace Polec and Docherty (pick 12).

Even so,I am of the opinion that the deal should have been done even though the Lions obviously thought that it would have been paying overs at the time.

The Lions failure to replace Mitch Clark with Tippett or another quality KPF is still the biggest deficiency of their list by far...especially now that Browny has retired.

Coming over to an opposition's thread and being a smart ass. Okay...

As much as you can say that, he is absolutely right. We did lose more by not accepting then they did.

Had we accepted, we'd have more draft picks etc.

when was this on the table? fuaaaaark would not have minded it!

That wasn't on the table from Brisbane, that's what we wanted. The rumour differs from different folk I know who follow Brisbane but they were offering pick 12 and I think 30 for Tippett and we wanted 12 with either Redden or Polec. Of course, with hindsight it is fair to say that Brisbane knew of the explosive contract we had with Tippett and must have been shocked that we were playing hard ball, all things considered

how would brisbane know about tippett's illegal contract? wasnt it like hardly even illegal

John Reid, had or was still doing a review of operations for the Lions. I guess there is a little "tin hat" going on here but with Mitch Clarke just gone and Brown Dog in his last few years, you'd think they'd pay overs to get Tippett but they stuck at current market value. Makes you wonder if they knew but to be honest Caro Wilson was spouting that contract quirk for Tippett a year earlier than that.

Well, we illegally had him on our list for three years, that's why we got such a heavy penalty. Well that and the fact we only came forwarded about it when we were painted into a corner
what was actually so illegal about the contract? i was under the impression that the club had organised sponsorship with one of their sponsors (balfours?) to sponsor tippett as well as there being a release clause meaning he would definitely leave after 2012 which for some reason isnt allowed. the sponsorship is similar to what players like judd have been offered in the past isnt it? or am i just completely wrong and we did something much worse..

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...w-it-went-wrong-for-crows-20121128-2aefe.html

You know the Simpsons episode where Marge becomes a real estate agent and Lionel Hutz tells her there is the "Truth" and then there is the "Truth wink". Well we had a contract which we submitted to the AFL and then we had a contract.

So, given that Brisbane probably knew about our situation with Tippett, they were in fact more than fair trying to take him off our hands at market value. Of course market value a year out was unders but considering it meant we would have that illegal contract disappear until Kurt wrote a book, we were just mad not to accept it...and it really came back to bite us hard

James Aish