Movie James Horner, dies 61

Remove this Banner Ad

Sep 25, 2010
AFL Club
Fremantle
"On June 22, 2015, an airplane registered to James Horner crashed in the Los Padres National Forest in southern California.[39] The pilot died in the crash and was the only person aboard."

I'm a huge film composer fan, and he is one of the greats of the modern age.

Notable works
  • Titanic
  • Apollo 13
  • Braveheart
  • Field of Dreams
  • Glory
  • The Perfect Storm
  • Aliens
And much more including Deep Impact, Casper, A Beautiful Mind, Enemy at the Gates, Jumanji, Clear and Present Danger, 48 Hrs., Commando, Cocoon, Avatar, Legends of the Fall, Bicentennial Man -- All told 100 (give or take) film composer credits since 1982. Basically (3) per year average.

10 Academy Award nominations, 2 wins. His best scores elevated the movies beyond the visuals in a kind of timeless way. He left an emotional impact on them that resonated with the audiences.

He sits so near John Williams, Ennio Morricone, Jerry Goldsmith and Lalo Shifrin in the composer Lexicon. And comfortably among or above the likes of Alan Silvestri, James Newton Howard, Hans Zimmer, Howard Shore, Danny Elfman, Thomas Newman, Michael Kamen (who also died before his time)

RIP James.

This is heartbreaking. I can't decide which Horner movie to watch tonight in celebration and remembrance of his legacy.

One of his best pieces.

Also... "You were good" - Field of Dreams - Moonlight Graham piece.

Last edited:
Aliens was probably my favourite all time movie score and Titanic though much maligned was brilliant I thought (the score, not the Celine Dion ballad). RIP James

Psst: He wrote the ballad

The film version of the song is so much more impacting and beautiful. Horner's arrangement 100%. It's basically a demo (her vocal one take) but is so raw and perfect they kept it as was. And she really brought it.