Player Watch James Peatling

LAIRD HAS NO VALUE.

There’s nothing laughable about it.

He is a terrible footballer and a selfish flog of a team mate.

Its astounding people still cant see it.
He’s in the same boat as Macrae and Parker. Great players who have lost a yard and their current club has decided to move them out of the midfield. Both of those have found suitors and Laird would as well, however it won’t happen, not in our DNA.

I have it on good authority he spat it when he was moved to defence, Nicks was not terribly happy with his reaction and actually said "Well mate, if you don't like it theres the door".

I know we are all bashing Laird, myself included.... but to say he's got no value is pretty laughable.

If we decided we would like to trade him he'll have plenty of suitors.

But sadly, we won't do that.
A third rounder doesn't do anything for us. The time to move Laird on was when his last extension came up. The club just isn't ruthless enough.

I have it on good authority he spat it when he was moved to defence, Nicks was not terribly happy with his reaction and actually said "Well mate, if you don't like it theres the door".
our friggin entitled senior players. Hopefully they can learn from ANB.

Issue is Laird doesn’t fit in our defence either, the fact we moved out Hinge for him is proof.

I know we are all bashing Laird, myself included.... but to say he's got no value is pretty laughable.

If we decided we would like to trade him he'll have plenty of suitors.

But sadly, we won't do that.
2 issues are:

• contract value of 800k+ ish means it’s effectively a salary dump IMO. I can’t see how anyone trades for him with anything meaningful (second rounder or better) AND pay his total salary.
  • Rory as an introverted character who is settled in his home state would almost certainly poo poo the idea anyway

Wow, nice intel and insight into a more ruthless than some would expect Nicks

our friggin entitled senior players. Hopefully they can learn from ANB.

Issue is Laird doesn’t fit in our defence either, the fact we moved out Hinge for him is proof.
It was said to me that Rory felt they'd sprung the change on him without any real notice.

Even if that was the case, who ****ing cares.

At least one has highlights
Data Recovery Vintage GIF

Just tried searching for Murphy's highlights

That was the bit i found interesting.

I think it was more frustration on Nicks' behalf rather than being ruthless
Look, we all love to bash guys when we have a terrible year, but none of us really know what goes on behind closed doors. Nicks had a tough job when he arrived, trying to get the playing group united and improving the culture, and wielding a big stick straight away wouldn’t have achieved that. It’s entirely possible that he has a more ruthless side but is walking a tightrope of managing personalities. I think anyone who has managed largish groups would relate to this.

I am hopeful that the idea of having extra help for him is so that they can get a bit of a good cop, bad cop scenario happening. That idealy should be where Kelly and Roo come in, but I have very little faith in those two.

For someone who begs him to resign from being a mod so you can put him on ignore you certainly seem to talk a lot more about him than he does about you Georgey boy
Context cartoon. Yesterday he commented on me disappearing for the wins and not being happy with the acquisition of ANB and Cumming. All blatant bullshit I called him out on which he slinked away from. This was a friendly jab to highlight it.

Yeah he speaks a lot more shit than me so there’s plenty to talk about ;)

2 issues are:

• contract value of 800k+ ish means it’s effectively a salary dump IMO. I can’t see how anyone trades for him with anything meaningful (second rounder or better) AND pay his total salary.
  • Rory as an introverted character who is settled in his home state would almost certainly poo poo the idea anyway
So you’re saying we should trade him to Port?

I like it 👍

Context cartoon. Yesterday he commented on me disappearing for the wins and not being happy with the acquisition of ANB and Cumming. All blatant bullshit I called him out on which he slinked away from. This was a friendly jab to highlight it.

Yeah he speaks a lot more shit than me so there’s plenty to talk about ;)
I reckon you both need a hug. And I'm happy to provide.

I made the mistake of going to page 11 where this thread had morphed into something completely different.

I haven't seen alot of this kid but I like the bits I have seen. If we manage to draft Draper, this will be one of the better off seasons we have had in a long time. A B+ from me.

With Draper, 4 walk up starts into next years 22.

2 issues are:

The deal would be so shit for Adelaide that it wouldn't even be worth doing but I think you could get Laird agree to a trade. You just tell the bloke he has a choice to play AFL elsewhere or SANFL for us. I think Laird has a bit of an ego and would see playing SANFL as below him.

Given he cares so much about Port's feelings maybe he can play there. Doesnt have to move and they can pay him from Perryman money.

Ha ha ha.

In all seriousness though -GWS would be filthy. Developed this kid for 3 and a half years.

In the backend of 2024 does enough to displace 30 year olds Coniglio and Kelly for the key midfield spots and would be there 3rd or 4th best midfielder in 2025.

Isnt given enough time to truly showcase his talents in the midfield and has zero draft capital - so the price wont be crazy high.

Will be a far more impactful recruit than ANB & Cumming IMO.

Crispy, Soft, & Crispy INSIDE The Soft..Olé!🎊

Player Watch James Peatling