Senior games: 12
Goals: 8
Dreamteam: 649
Supercoach: 645
Club Best and Fairest Votes: 5

7067235899_dba4edc533_z.jpg

Image (2012 preseason) courtesy of Mr Ripper

Pre Season:

Jared Polec, a highly rated footballer from WoodvilleWest Torrens with a penetrating left kick entered into his much hyped second season of football in 2012. Taken by the Lions at No. 5 in the 2010 Draft, expectations from many fans were high with an injury interrupted 2011 cutting his season shorter than expected, and with the news coming from the Lions camp in the pre season, many were thinking Polec may live up to the hype.

After spending a summer in the gym, Polec added 5kg to his frame, making him a stronger bodied midfield and resembled similar physical attributes such as fellow midfield Jack Redden and Collingwood’s Scott Pendlebury. Now at 189cm and 85kg he had exploded off the field and next step to take was to explode on the field. Injuries did prevent Polec from training fully with the group and found himself on the bike with some other members of the rehab group. Time was also spent engaging in static drills to improve skills before the all clear was given to train with the main group.

Signs were looking good early with Polec playing well in the pre season matches against Carlton and his efforts were highlighted in a ‘Michael Voss Mic’d up’ video released on the Lions website. It gave a good insight into what Voss valued in Polec's contribution, and also a hint to Lions fans that he would find himself in the side if he did those little things.

2012 Season

After having an in form pre season Polec was duely rewarded by being selected in the side for Round 1 to take on Melbourne. He went to to play 8 consecutive games and a total of 12 for the season, his last coming in Round 17 against the Suns. Polec averaged 11.9 disposals, a number slightly down on his 2011 average, it can be expected however as some matches were spent as the sub, with arguably his best performance coming against Fremantle in Round 3 by collecting 15 possession and kicking 2 goals as truly an impact player. This gusto faded quickly, while Polec was able to contribute his impact on games grew less as the season wore on. Reasons for this include injury and possibly lacking the required fitness base to perform consistenly for 22 games.

If 2011 was a development year Polec in 2012 was the definition of a fringe player, advancing in his development but not having the ‘breakout year’ many were hoping. For in the reserves was excellent but couldn’t translate that consistently to make an impact in the seniors. Late in the season Polec was again hampered by injuries and was a withdrawal from the NEAFL grand final. Glimpses were shown of what the No. 4 could produce, just not consistently enough. Any game time is good for Jared however due to the time spent on the sidelines through injury.

The Future

Now coming into his 3rd season, Polec will need a big pre season to build his fitness base and condition himself for the rigours of AFL football. There is no doubt there is a spot with Jared’s name on it, he just needs to earn it. Fans know if Polec can come into his own in 2013 the Lions will lift a gear. The class is obvious with the ball in hand, thus opportunities must be capitalised on when given. The signs are ominous, with the 2010 draft class already having produced some quality players in David Swallow, Harley Bennell and Andrew Gaff, as well as the now highly sought after Josh Caddy to name a few.

Trade talk has Polec’s name thrown about in a deal with Adelaide to secure Kurt Tippett. Polec is from SA but it is highly unlikely he will depart the club considering he extended his contract in 2011.

With the Lions holding good picks in the draft, including pick 8, the youth of the team will find themselves in strong competition for spots which will making the competition thrive and may be that push Polec needs to play all 22 games in 2013, and maybe more for finals.

The club revitalised culture full of young talent and opportunity, and many young players have had to work hard for their positions in the team. If Polec can take his chances there is no doubt that he will find himself as a integral part of the young midfield brigade along side the 3 R’s, Black and Beams. This young man can help the Lions roar once again.

Great vid. Shows his class with his kicking, but also shows he isn't a soft outside type. He goes when it's his turn, he puts his body on the line and is prepared to take a hit to make a spoil or take a mark, standing under a ball. Really just needs that consistency in his game, which should come from more game time as he gets fitter. He is a player that can impact a game and turn it in 1 quarter, really hope he can avoid injuries and we see more of him next year.

Jared Polec must be kept at all costs :cool: he has the brains, the foot skills, the nous and the temprement to be an A-grade midfielder / wingman. He adds a completely different dynamic to our group. His finishing skills are superb.

If he can add 3-4kgs and increase his running capacity, I can see Gaff like results in 2013 :footy:

His overhead marking is pretty good, too. I just mentioned it elsewhere, but he reminds me of Patty K with his contested marking, particularly in the 50.

Was a few times in that vid that he took it overhead, and a few where he protected the ball, got it on his chest while under pressure. Pretty good effort for marking, especially for a thinner outside type player.

reviewer would make a great motivational speaker got me so pumped up for next season lol
Cheers mate.

I agree Crimso, there are probably also similarities with Polec and Luke Shuey in terms of development. Both are those fast break away players and like Shuey, Polec has been hampered by injuries in his last two seasons. Sam Mayes who we just drafted is a similar build and similar type of player so those two might be fighting for the same role. It will be excellent for Polec's development to have a direct threat, rather than his own faults letting him down.

Cheers mate.

I agree Crimso, there are probably also similarities with Polec and Luke Shuey in terms of development. Both are those fast break away players and like Shuey, Polec has been hampered by injuries in his last two seasons. Sam Mayes who we just drafted is a similar build and similar type of player so those two might be fighting for the same role. It will be excellent for Polec's development to have a direct threat, rather than his own faults letting him down.
Actually - with Jared being a natural left footer and Sam a right - rather than seeing them fighting for the one spot I can see them owning the side [wing/half-forward] of the ground where their predominant foot is boundary side when running towards goal.

Oh and a great review Matt. :thumbsu:

Has anyone seen Jared this pre-season? I was hoping to hear that he's bulked up, mainly through the core.

From memory he managed to put a bit of weight on this season, got to maybe 83kg or something like that, but he is coming from a very thin build. It will probably take him an extra preseason than others just to get that extra beef on him. He just needs that extra few KG's, and then work on his core strength, and strengthening his body more so than building mass. Around 85-87kg i think his ideal playing weight would be. He is a fairly tallish player, i often forget how tall he is, thinking he is a fast outside type makes you think small.

Personally I think that Polec is our most talented midfield prospect, and has the potential (dirty word I know) to be a top 10 mid in the comp. He has the ability to win his own ball, he is very hard to tackle, kicks goals, and is very damaging with the ball. With a big preseason he will be in our round 1 team imo.

What's the general consensus on his kicking? To me, while it seems effective, it's not the most attractive style (irrelevant I know). But he does seem to get under it a bit. Not direct, bullet-like ala Rich.

Last off-season the group was based at the resort where I'm employed and I noticed Jared signing in at the fitness center in-between training sessions/ in players' downtime. Committed to the cause, and I think we will see the development in his body in 2013

Polec eyes finals and fitness
01 Dec, 2012
Michael Whiting

FOLLOWING two injury-riddled seasons, classy Brisbane Lions midfielder Jared Polec is itching to help his team make the leap to finals contenders.

Polec came to the Lions with huge wraps when he was taken with the fifth pick in the 2010 NAB AFL Draft.The South Australian was touted as a strong and skilful player with elite kicking and blistering pace.

However, in his first two seasons, he's only been able to show the odd glimpse of talent squeezed between a frustrating run of injuries.

Now back into full pre-season training, Polec realises 2013 is a big season not only for the Lions, but for him personally.

polec_away-c.jpg

Lions off season update

Jared Polec said:
Then my second injury from this last season was my adductor longus, I tore it completely off the bone straight away, so, bit unpleasant.

Matt Thompson said:
So you're still in recovery mode from that?

Jared Polec said:
Yep. Yeah it is frustrating, seeing all the other boys training and that but it makes me want to train hard to get on the track

For those playing at home, this is the adductor longus:
adductor_longus220.jpg

Polec is the missing puzzle piece in our midfield. Just adds that polish and talent and outside run that we lack at the moment. Really hoping he can get his body right and if Polec is fit and firing, he'll be the one to watch.

He's had 2 years now, 2 years of injury-interrupted seasons which doesn't do anyone good, but apparently he is set to play the next 2 games or at least in one of them which is great news! :thumbsu:

Polec is the missing puzzle piece in our midfield. Just adds that polish and talent and outside run that we lack at the moment. Really hoping he can get his body right and if Polec is fit and firing, he'll be the one to watch.

He's had 2 years now, 2 years of injury-interrupted seasons which doesn't do anyone good, but apparently he is set to play the next 2 games or at least in one of them which is great news! :thumbsu:
Has put some size on that's for sure, he's looking great. I remember just after he'd done his first pre-season Browny saying he is one of the best kicks he'd seen, I'd love to see him lock down a regular spot.

Can someone fill me in a bit on Polec.

What makes him tick? What's his personality like?
Who is he friends with at the club?
When can we be expected to see him back in action?
Does he have leadership qualities? What has Vossy said about him recently?

He really is a mystery!

Can someone fill me in a bit on Polec.

What makes him tick? What's his personality like?

Don't know. Seems kind of shy from the outside.

Who is he friends with at the club?

Banfield and McKeever are his good mates I believe.

When can we be expected to see him back in action?

He's been playing the last 2 weeks in the reserves. Has been fairly quiet as you'd expect from someone coming off another injury smashed pre-season.

Does he have leadership qualities?

Doesn't seem like one at the moment. Just focusing on getting on the park.

What has Vossy said about him recently?

Rates him as the second best kick at the club (behind Rich)

Traded Jared Polec (2011-2013)