Jason Cave's best VAFA Team since 1975

I came across the 1998 A Section Grand Final edition of the Amateur Footballer and in it was the late Noel Rundle's best VAFA side based from 1979-1998.

This was Noel's team:

B: A.Smythe (Bull.Temp) R.Schober (Colleg) P.Considine (NOB)

HB: B.Conti (NOB) J.Manton (OG) R.Fuller (OSco)

C: P.Kingston (Orm) P.Mehrten (Orm-VC) J.Bowen (OldXavs)

HF: I.McMullin (OMel) N.Burne (OldXavs) I.Cordner (OldMel-C)

F: F.Gleeson (OPar) C.O'Brien (OldXavs) M.Yeo (UniBlues)

R:R.Brown (OldMel) P.Sherwen (OSco) A.Thompson (OMel)

INT: S.Molony (NOB) S.Murphy (DLS) M.Greene (DLS) B.Cooper (Marc)
M.Jackson (OBright) R.Furphy (UBlues) M.Blood (OldXavs)

UMPIRES: Brian Goodman Richard Simon

PPS - having played on A. Dillon, Lethlean and Woodruff and managed to at least square those contests ;), and in winning sides (yes, OTs do beat Xavs occasionally) I'm now upset I didn't get a look in here. :p[/quote]

Put the lid back on the white paper Scribe, the fumes must be getting to you.

I do seem to recall the VAFA did pick a 'best of VAFA from 1945-95' side and it was in Jon Anderson's old column in the Herald Sun. According to the 1995 VAFA Annual Report (which I have at home) then VAFA CEO Phil Stevens (who was compling the report) said the annoucement of the side '...created an enormous amount of interest' (Phil Stevens words, not mine). I think the selectors from memory was John Dillon, Phil Stevens, Jock Nelson, and Noel Rundle. I'll try & see if I can get a hold of a copy of the Herald Sun (I think from memory the team was in on Oct.1 1995 edition of the Herald Sun) from 1995 next time I go to the State Library and post the team on BigFooty.

PPS - having played on A. Dillon, Lethlean and Woodruff and managed to at least square those contests ;), and in winning sides (yes, OTs do beat Xavs occasionally) I'm now upset I didn't get a look in here. :p

Put the lid back on the white paper Scribe, the fumes must be getting to you.[/QUOTE]

Been waiting ages for you to finally stumble across that one Plumber! :D

UMPIRES: Brian Goodman Richard Simon[/quote]

Frank Gleeson was a tremendous footballer, many say the best to ever pull on the boots for Old Paradians.

Which gives you an idea just how highly regarded Frank Gleeson was by the late Noel Rundle. And Noel certainly knew his VAFA players-having been Chairman of Selectors for the 1988 and 1991 Carnivals and also Treasurer of the VAFA for 40 years, having watched a lot B&A Section Grand Finals and State games during that period.

I came across the 1998 A Section Grand Final edition of the Amateur Footballer and in it was the late Noel Rundle's best VAFA side based from 1979-1998.

This was Noel's team:

UMPIRES: Brian Goodman Richard Simon

That's good enough for me... can we please close this thread now?

If the team that the late Noel Rundle was selected based on current players, who would've made the team?

I reckon Noel Rundle is by far and away the best administrator in my time watching VAFA football. VAFA football is now much the poorer for his absence, because I reckon Rundle would've stood up to those guys at AFL Victoria on behalf of the VAFA strongly arguing for AFL Victoria to leave the VAFA alone in regards to decision making, instead of the VAFA saying 'yes' to everything AFL Victoria wants to do.

I'm trying to put together a C-D4 (or C-F in the old system) team. The only problem is that unlike A-B Sections, most of these clubs move up & down sections. So could you send in your nominations for the C-D4 team please? It has to done this way: name, club and what position he played in.

C-D2 Old Carey/Uni Blacks- Andrew Costello HBF R/R C
B-D1Uni Blacks- Tony Wilson CHF team captain state rep
C-D2Old Camberwell- Nigel Credilin anywhere, but key position best suited- ,multiple state team including captain,multiple all australian
C-D2Old Camberwell- Luke Gladman HF, RR
C-D2Old Carey= - Alistair Parton C, RR,FF,HF,Fp Comp b&F, state team, comp leading goalkicker
C-D1Old Carey Steven Collins C,W,HB, comp B&F, multuple state team, state VC
C-D2Old Geelong- Vickers-Willis -FF comp leading goalkicker multiple times, D1,D2 ?C
C Uni blacks Judd lalich- RR,HF, multiple state games
C-D1 Monash Liam Holloway Rov,W,HF, state rep
C-D1Monash Christian Gregory BP, HB,w, rov, state reo
C-D1Fitzroy Reds Tim Davis, CHB, C-D4 rep captain
C Old Paradians- G PorteousCHF FF, HF, multiple goalkicking, multiple state rep
C Ajax- Julian Kirzner FF state rep ? leading goalkicker
C-D2 BT-Dean Matthews HF CHF FF comp best and fairest, multiple state rep, leading goalkicker,state captain
d1-d2 Yarra Valley Ash Drew rov, w, fp state rep
d2-d4 Richmond Central- 'Whisper' O'sullivan RR, W, HF, ?comp b@f
c=d2 Parkdale- Tony MacGeorge FF comp leading goalkicker multiple times
d1 -d2Salesian- Bobetic w rr hf state rep
d2-d3 West Brunswick -Adam Cannane rov, multiple comp best and fairests , multiple state rep
d1/d2 BT- Greg Chivers RR, HF, FF,C HB, multiple state rep, ? comp b&F
d2/D3Swinburne Simon Fragiacomo rov,bp,fp multiple state rep
d1/d2 OGGS- Hugh McCarthy rov,wing comp b@F d2 i think
d1/d3Peninsula shaun Payze FF multiple comp goalkicking
d1/d2Aquinas Andy Cultrera C,rov,hf comp b&f i think, multiple state rep - not sure he played enough in lower grades
c-d3 Kew Dean Bell CHF, multiple state rep
c-d1 Banyule Brad Willmore CHB, HB, CHF, Ruck multiple state rep
c-d1 Banyule Dave Williams ruck man mountain, comp b&f, state rep
Banyule Martin Legge- played some c grade but played in Banyules glory days where most was A and B so may not qualify, maybe he shoudl be in your ab side jase- multiple leading goalkicker, multiple state rep as a rover
d2/d4 Monash Gryphons Lee Wells hf, w, hb,
d1/d3Williamstown Dave Lee FF, FP
c-d2 Old Carey Nic Everett w,hb, dont know his state qualifications but was an absolute freak
c-d1 gerard Bevan C comp b&f, state rep
c-d1 simon keleher multiple comp b@ F, multiple state rep

so in that lot you have multiple state reps, state captains and vice captains, section B@F winners, section goalkicking winners

hope that helps Jase.

Thanks Archangel, you made my job a lot, lot easier.

I reckon the team would be like this:

B: N.Credlin (OCam) M.Fletcher (HR) S.Fragiocomo (Swin)

HB: S.Collins (OCar) T.Davis (Fitz) C.Gregory (Mon)

C: A.Drew (YV) G.Chivers (BT) H.McCarthy (OGeel)

HF: L.Wells (MonGry) T.Wilson (UniBla-c) T.MacGeorge (Park)

F: A.Acreman (OldMent) D.Lee (Will) S.Payze (Pen)

R: B.Ivey (WBruns) A.Parton (OldCar) A.Cultrera (Aqiun)

INT: M.Vickers-Wills (OG) G.Porteous (OPar) M.Legge (Ban) N.Everett (OCar)
D.Bell (Kew) M.Ritterman (AJAX) L.Wintle (StBedeMent) D.Matthews (BT)

EMERG: J.Kirzner (AJAX) T.Bournon (OldMent) G.Stroud (OMent)
L.Holloway (Mon) A.Cannane (WBrun) B.Willmore (Ban)

COACH: George Voyage

CAPTAIN: Tony Wilson (UniBlacks)

UMPIRE: Steve McCarthy

The problem with your team's are that they are all selected from the last ten years.

There are many glaring omissions which I can't be bothered going into now.

I suggest you change your title of both teams to your best team since 1997.

D.Bell (Kew) M.Ritterman (AJAX) L.Wintle (StBedeMent)

HOW IS IT POSSIBLE THAT PAUL EDWARDS COULD NOT MAKE THAT TEAM?

D.Bell (Kew) M.Ritterman (AJAX) L.Wintle (StBedeMent)

mate good effort, you will always cop crap, i do however think you better get Dean Matthews in there; he is one of the greatest players to have played VAFA lower grades of all time; would make a team of the century for this period. Not one of the other forwards would hold him out of a spot. Similarl story big Dave from Banyule, he dominated c grade in the ruck. good enough for me.

fair call arch, you will always cop crap for having a go, however dean must go in, along with paul edwards and Simon Keleher has to be giving a jumper in this team, i think he has won the last three comp " c " grade b&fs

A number of Glen Eira/St Kilda South Caulfield huys could be nominated.
Charlie Capiron, Ralph Bergman, Tony Riddell, Richie Gilmore, Mark Tkocz, Nick Astapenko, Matt Ryan, Chris Massis, Alex Tsirogiannis, Steve Vamvakas

mate good effort, you will always cop crap, i do however think you better get Dean Matthews in there; he is one of the greatest players to have played VAFA lower grades of all time; would make a team of the century for this period. Not one of the other forwards would hold him out of a spot. Similarl story big Dave from Banyule, he dominated c grade in the ruck. good enough for me.

Big Dave Williams dominated the ruck in b grade from 91-97. Freak of a Man.