jealousy is a curse

walshy1993

Jun 4, 2000
Melbourne, (ESSENDON)
it has appeared growingly that all these essendon knockers are actually jealous of the great side
we have proven our selves to almost everyone
carlton, nth, and every other hurdle that has come our way
admitally except one, but essendon will jump that one when it comes.
why are essendon supporters all of a sudden whingers
i thought football was all about passion and opinion and i think thats all that essendon supporters are showing.
give it a break, no actually dont, keep bagging us, have a go, because the more people that say we are whingers and call the team chokers, the more desperate and determined the team becomes and the more people that will be proven wrong on september 2nd.
it just seams to me that the most famous (one i 6 australians barracks for essendon), the most advanced, the most skillful, the hardest and the best team in the compition for a very long time is hated by others for exactly those reasons.
one thing ive always said is dont knock a champion and essendon is a champion team

Couldn't agree more.

The utter jealousy showed by Longjohn, Geelong4eva, Rooboy 96 and others is astounding.

They keep talking about what happened last year. It's history. Just like 1949 is history, or 1956 is history (just random years)

I could spend all my tme bagging all the previous years where North have failed to win the Grand Final (71 out of 75 years), but I won't.

I can't believe all the rash predictions about Essendon's impending gloom in August. And based on what ? An unlucky loss last year where we had 9 more scoring shots !!!

People should wake up, or they might just hate the Bombers even more when a Grand Final victory is achieved. Hopefully this year. Nothing is certain of course.

I'm just thankfull that I am an Essendon supporter. I hope the jealousy continues into 2001.

finally
dan24 u are the first person i have seen in here that has anything resembling intelligence
keep up the good work and in the words of an over rated so called mr football who did absolutly nothing in a so called stellar career "stick it up em"

Hey I can put up with most of this Essendon back slaping but when you start to bag the one and only late great E.J.Whitten I draw the line.
Nothing for Footy, learn some respect for 321 games premiership player ,2nd all time rep for the big V and the TRUE and only man that will EVER be

MR.FOOTBALL

aside from that I reckon the current Dons side will be great once it wins this years flag. BUT it still has to do it, Dan lets not start our dance again here eithier
wink.gif

Quite right. All this negativity will spur us on.

Thanks for all the posts here guys, I will be pinning them to the locker doors each game day.

This sounds like a dam good chance for a pissing competition, so what have I got to be jealous of.

CLUB OF THE NINETIES
2 SENIOR AFL PREMIERSHIPS
2 SENIOR NIGHT PREMIERSHIPS
3 DAY GRAND FINALS
4 NIGHT GRAND FINALS
1 COLEMAN MEDAL
3 ALL-AUSTRALIAN CAPTAINS
2 RESERVE PREMIERSHIPS
2 UNDER-NINETEEN PREMIERSHIPS

WAYNE CAREY
MICK MARTYN
GLENN ARCHER
ANTHONY STEVENS
DAVID KING
COREY McKERNAN
WAYNE SCHWASS
JOHN BLAKEY

I have nothing to be jealous of, "been there, won that"

What is Essendon's claim to fame in the nineties "THEY LET COLLINGWOOD WIN A PREMIERSHIP"
wink.gif
wink.gif
wink.gif
wink.gif
wink.gif
wink.gif

essendon isnt a champion team YET.
we havent won bugger all, or acheived anything or made any mark whatsoever YET.

North has done it all (in the 90's) and therefore they have the right sit up there and knock us right now.
But no one stays king of the hill forever.

A.

Me ? Jealous of Essendon ? HA HA HA

We all know that Essendon won the 93 flag by cheating on the salary cap and it looks like they are doing it again this year (wait for the big investigation at the end of the year) why would i be jealous of a club that a) cheats b) loses a gf to collingwood !

gee long 4 neva

At least the Bombers have won flags during your lifetime, your beloved handbaggers havent even gone close. They needed 8 Hawthorn players to be injured to make the 89 GF close otherwsie it would have been the biggest shellacking of all time.

Hey Collingwood won a premiership in 1990, in 1963 John F. Kennedy was still U.S President when you last won and oh yeah, we had pounds shillings and pence for currency!!!!!

Oh, and who let Colingwood win 2 PFs in a row (80 81) by 4 pts and 7 pts (not to mention 1964 PF by 4 pts) and at the same time forget to pick up their players with the team bus????
biggrin.gif
biggrin.gif
biggrin.gif
biggrin.gif

Now go crawl back into your hole.

we may have lost a grand final to collingwood but geelong let the premiership go interstate and as if once wasnt enough they did it twice
then you call us cheats
dont your remember the yates/dermie incident?
i dont call that fair play

Well said Grendel!

I don't know why the great EJ Whitten had to be brought into a thread like this anyway.

And call me a one-eyed supporter but I am not about to join the Essendon bandwagon either.

I agree with Arch. Great sides win premierships and if Essendon do go all the way this year, only then should they be spoken about as being one of the best sides.

Otherwise, some people in here are going to leave themselves wide open to a lot of criticism.

A question from an interstater.

Why is Ted Whitten Mr. Football & not Ron Barassi?

Both played before my time (that is pre "The Winners" & Sunday arvo VFL highlights on 7) so I've only seen the odd bit of B/W footage & photos.

I'm not knocking Ted; his record is outstanding. His passion for the game was undeniable.

But Barassi played in what; 5 or 6 premierships? From what I have read if they awarded Norm Smiths back then he'd have 3 or 4.

He coached 4 premiership teams & made a couple more GF's as well.

As a non Victorian in the 70's & 80's Barassi was the face of VFL football.

I heard once that Ted called Barassi Mrs. Football.

Is it because Ted Whitten had a sense of humour?

I still think if you go 22-0, you have proved that you are a champion team. Regardless of the finals.

There have been 103 seasons of the VFL/AFL and someone has won the Grand Final in every season (except for 1924 and 1897, where a round robin tournament was played)

But for all intents and purposes, a team has won the Grand Final 103 different times. It's done every year.

But only one (Collingwood in 1929) has gone through the H&A undefeated.

Hypothetically, if Essendon went 17-5 and won the Grand Final, that has been done before. No big deal. It's been done 103 times.

But if Essendon IMPROVE to 22-0, but lose the Grand Final, they have achieved a win-loss record that has NEVER been achieved before. Never in 103 seasons.

(Of course there is no reason why we can't win both)

Mark my words, I want to win the Grand Final......badly.

But I still think an undefeated H&A seaon makes you a champion team. It will just make you a champion team that don't have the "Grand Final winning cup" to show for it. But a champion team nevertheless.

Is it really such a big statement to say that a 22-0 team (maybe) is a champion team? Seems pretty striaght-forward to me.

Suddenly, web users across the world felt an overwhelming sense of deja vu.

Back at WEB CONTROL CENTRAL engineers frantically scrambled to stop the WORLD WIDE WEB from euthanasing itself.

Technological Psychotherapists were amazed - the WWW appeared to have reached sentience. A living thinking creature had been born... and immediately tried to kill itself! Why?

Days later, a pattern had emerged. Having reached intelligent sentience the WWW had assimilated all the information flowing across its sites. Pornography; Dirty e-mails; Britney Spears photos... all had been taken in simultaneously.

Then.

In a small corner of the world, the being had become fascinated by the obsession shown in a particular ball sport by one nation's people. Intrigued and delighted, WWW quickly fell in love with game and its supporters. What Culture! What Passion!

Suddenly all went black... except for an a puzzling error message:

REPEAT ERROR: Dan24 (said the wan message)

This was followed by what can only be described as attempted suicide. All systems overloaded.

The search is now underway for renegade web fascist Dan24. His crime? Deliberately repeating the same mantra over and over until all joy was sucked out of the once mighty code of Australian Rules Football.

When WWW saw his 1,727,633,934,934,449,.89 (approx) messages insisting that Essendon deserved better recognition for their past failures, WWW realised that, given Essendon's current domination, Dan24 was certain to succeed in his mission to take the fun out of football.

So brief and yet so bright was the life of WWW. RIP.

He died so we could be warned!

Dan24 MUST BE STOPPED!!!

Well, in defence of me.

My last post did NOT cetre on "top spot deserving more recognition"

I simply stated that if a team (any team) goes 22-0, they are a champion team, as their record suggests. And et's face it..... they would be.

That's all.

But, if you want t bring it up, hey, it's your funeral. I can just see everyone of the regulars pulling their hair out......

How bout them mighty Bombers, hey !

Hawkforce,

OK, it was a funny post. Good one.

But I do talk about a lot of other stuff. Seriously, I do. I love talking about how Hawthorn havn't won a final since 1991. That's fun.

So, I'm not taking the fun out of footy at all. It's fun for all Bombers and North fans (probably Hawthorns two greatest rivals) to laugh at them.

I enjoy it immensely.

You ?

Fair enough. I just thought a gag post might cheer the rest of us up while you and walshy slapped each other on the back!

One thing though - we all know how good Essendon are... we see them beating us every week...

Then again I shouldn't complain. Halfway through 1988 I was firmly of the opinion that Hawthorn should be given the flag "in perpetuity" and let the rest of the clubs fight it out for second spot.

Cut out the middle man
cool.gif

Great post hawkforce.

Dan24: I have done some research, yes you do have posts that do not refer to a 'premiership' for minor premiers. they rate about 2 out of every 5 posts.

Give it a rest. We all know what you are trying to say and some of us might even agree with you, but enough is enough.

I for one would like to see Essendon go 22-0 as long as the Crows can make the finals. Why? So that i can see it in my lifetime, it doesn't happen very often.

But remember that for over 100 years all teams have strived to be "The Premiers" that is the team that wins the Grand Final.

For another 100 years all teams will strive to be "The Premiers" that is the team that wins the Grand Final.

End of story.

Servo,

What are you trying to do ? Get in the last word on me, or something ?

I can't let that happen.

I see no logical reason, why the AFL, in the near future won't recognise the top team, whilst also having the finals series as something to aspire to in it's own right. It makes sense.

I wouldn't try to pre-empt anything that the AFL does if I were you. They have talked about giving top spot more recognition for a long time now, so I'm sure it is only a matter of time.

Don't worry, the Grand Final will always be the biggest day of the year (like the FA Cup is), but it doesn't mean that it is the hardest thing to achieve, does it ?

jealousy is a curse