Blueinblood

Sep 18, 2007
Western Australia
Hi guys.
Sorry to see u lose today.
Just wondering what u guys think about Jeff Farmer.
To be honest i think he played a piss poor game today. Finished
with 6 or so kicks. From memory he hasnt been starring in other games this year either. So my question is do u think Mark Harvey will persist with him as he is getting older or will he replace him iwth a youngster?
Do you think he will line up against us this week?

P.S What sort of in's and outs are we likely to see this week

It would be a very tough call to leave Jeff out but personally I think he's past his best. Still demands a good defender and does the odd good thing but it's been a long time since he played a real blinder. Hopefully Mayne will come back this week.

think mayne will come in too but not at jeff's expense. didnt play well today but dont think he was the worst either. even if we did want to drop jeffrey, (which i wouldnt agree with) theres no one else on the list who can fulfil his role.

I'm a huge Purple Jesus, but not his best game today, however he is still the best forward we have for defensive pressure. Not Bog but not WOG today.

Quick, tell him to get back on the piss and give him a VIP membership at the Cas!!!

No seriously I had high hopes this year after goals/game conversions rate last year and that he would be clean and focused on footy this year. He is always assigned a tough defender and hasn't had any serious brainfades this year (I think) but the miss (didnt make the distance from 40 or so on the run in the 3rd qtr really told a story - getting on a bit!

He's lost that edge and hopefully he can get it back for the remainder of the season.

while i was watching the game today i thought to myself that he was finished but the reality is he still fills a role and we dont have anyone better

how's collard going :eek:

heard he wants to play for 2 maybe 3 years more.
Guy from work who is mark williams(haw) uncle said he sees jeff nearly every week.

still has the goods but the best thing hes been doing lately is defensive pressure he scoots all around the 50 at top speed trying to stop teams getting it out easily.

when hes on a tall defender he needs to give up trying to be a target an just provide leads to make space, then run hard to get to the crumbs he doesnt seem to get many crumbing goals. Also should push up in midfield to use his pace an playmaking skills.

When hes on small defenders he should try an be a target plus look for crumbs.

Should be his last year, shouldn't be offered a new contract.
Very selfish, that long bomb straight to a Bulldogs player at the Subi end summed up his performance !

I was shocked to see that Jeffrey is running 5th in the stats for kicking at Freo this year.

Perhaps we would be better off looking at the real reason (pathetic midfield) why we are losing each week. It just gets more embarrasing when you see how high Palmer is running in the stats!!

heard he wants to play for 2 maybe 3 years more.
Guy from work who is mark williams(haw) uncle said he sees jeff nearly every week.

still has the goods but the best thing hes been doing lately is defensive pressure he scoots all around the 50 at top speed trying to stop teams getting it out easily.

when hes on a tall defender he needs to give up trying to be a target an just provide leads to make space, then run hard to get to the crumbs he doesnt seem to get many crumbing goals. Also should push up in midfield to use his pace an playmaking skills.

When hes on small defenders he should try an be a target plus look for crumbs.

thats what i thought. but then i looked at the champion data statistics for the bulldogs game, and jeff did not have one tackle. NOT ONE! and the player who everyone bags for not tackling, Pav, had SIX.

I remeber saying to my dad, that farmer is now finished, its a shame but i havent seen that same spark and excitement that he used to generate in a long time now. i reckon we should get ballantyne for next year, and persist with jeff for the rest of the year to see if he can come back, if not, our list is already old enough, it might be goodbye. which would be devestating

its more running all over the field an getting there just after they take a mark an being able to hold them up an not play on that jeff does in our forward line.

watch him next home game he does more running when other team has the ball in our forward line than he does when we have posession.

If you want to see how important a midfield is just use the Egirls as an example.

There defense is pretty much the same players they had when they were grandfinalists. few different names here an there but havent really lost or gained anything in that area.
There forward line has improved heaps from when they were grandfinalists, they actually have some decent players there now.
Their midfield is where they have lost good players from an because there midfield is struggling they look are an absolutely pathetic team this year.

Geez...Jeff has played the 1 bad game this season that just so happened to be this weekend.

He's getting played out of position by Harvey for a start...hence he is getting more kicks...playing far too much mifield-high half forward flank. The guy should be playing from the goal square at Pav's feet & only leading if Pav doesn't.

I'd rather Jeff getting 6-7 possesions a game & kicking 3-4 goals a game than him playing further up the ground & getting 15-20 touches a game & kicking just the 1 goal a game.

I'd give him another year at present & hopefully draft a small crumber/goalsneak this year.

Yes - he had a shocker this week....but he's been good so far in 2008, just used incorrectly

Jeffrey