Training Jen's training updates

It's a bug bear of mine too.
I'm not sure who is ultimately responsible - mids coach, stoppages coach, ruck coach, Ruckman himself.

But you just shouldn't have a ruckman getting such a high percentage of taps as Grundy and having such a poor conversion of centre and stoppage clearances as Collingwood seem to do.

I don't think that Anthony Rocca, try as he might, would be the organisation's preferred choice as ruck coach. Perhaps this role is undervalued by the hierarchy?

De Goey in the middle and Sier could assist in this respect.

But tapping the ball to Grundy's feet when you don't have a fast moving, big-bodied mid to work with is seemingly a recipe for continued failure as was seen too many times in 2019. That and the straight forward taps toward the boundary at throw ins where we seem to constantly outnumbered by opposition to clear it.
DeGoey by far & away reads Grundy taps best

Pre-season: December 13th.

Early start this morning. They were already out before 9:30. I stood on AAMI park side before heading to the other side.

Players who were there today:
De Goey
Quaynor
Grundy
Elliott (went in early)
Tyler Brown
Treloar
Noble
Pendles
Shaz
Adams (on the bike)
Darcy Cameron
Dunn
Cal Brown
Varcoe
Greenwood
Reid
Phillips
Sidebottom
Roughy
JT
Crisp
Daicos
Kelly
Murphy
Moore
WHE
Wills
Bianco
Rantall
Ruscoe
Sier
Maynard
Howe
Atu
Mihochek
Tohil
Keene
Lynch
Cox
Wilson

Saw Appleby later on in the cafe. Langdon as well, who has a support on his knee. Adams was out of the moon boot and on the stationary bike during the session. Worked up quite a sweat, so things not too serious in that aspect. I suspect come post xmas, he'll be in full training again.

Overheard that the boys training with us that have no number and we don't recognize are our newly recruited VFL players. I suppose we'll know at some point who they are. But they can play, which should help our team.

I'll spare you some of the details, as it becomes quite repetitive. Warms ups done and so on. The moment I saw there was an umpire at training, I admit, it did surprise me. They usually don't use them til post christmas break when things get more intense as they do more and more match sims.
So I knew they would be doing a big session of full ground, which they did.

And they went straight into it. While Phillips, Treloar, WHE, Dunn, Cal Brown, Greenwood, Quaynor did running sessions, probably part of their own programs.
Will Kelly finished after the match sim. Heard him say he is still on a restricted program. Probably given his last year.

I noticed Sier has stepped up so far this pre-season. Definitely enforcing himself in contests and with the ball. Hopefully this continues. I'm expecting him to step a big step, as long as he has the right attitude and work ethic and no injuries.

A few of the younger players were doing well. We need to start having them take the next step to overtake our senior players, or at least some of them.

De Goey was mainly doing work separately, most likely on a restricted program as he gets his hamstrings managed.

That lasted for about 15-20 minutes, and then they went into stoppages rotations on different parts of the ground, done in half time minutes. 5-10 min halves where they have to move around and place the ball into the nets.

There was also 100 metre sprints from around the goal posts and to the front of the ground where they would meet up.

The draftees were taken inside after the match sim, as they get more and more into the sessions as they go along. I'd think after christmas, they should be involved with it all.

The session lasted for 2 hrs, as its one of their final sessions of the year.

After it was finished, went into the cafe with a mate and some players started coming in. A bunch of them at a table. Grundy giving Lynch some ruck tips, and also giving him a compliment saying how impressed he is of Lynch and how far he has come so far this pre-season.

I reckon once Grundy retires, he should do some ruck coaching for us haha.

Pre-season: December 13th.

Early start this morning. They were already out before 9:30. I stood on AAMI park side before heading to the other side.

Players who were there today:
De Goey
Quaynor
Grundy
Elliott (went in early)
Tyler Brown
Treloar
Noble
Pendles
Shaz
Adams (on the bike)
Darcy Cameron
Dunn
Cal Brown
Varcoe
Greenwood
Reid
Phillips
Sidebottom
Roughy
JT
Crisp
Daicos
Kelly
Murphy
Moore
WHE
Wills
Bianco
Rantall
Ruscoe
Sier
Maynard
Howe
Atu
Mihochek
Tohil
Keene
Lynch
Cox
Wilson

Saw Appleby later on in the cafe. Langdon as well, who has a support on his knee. Adams was out of the moon boot and on the stationary bike during the session. Worked up quite a sweat, so things not too serious in that aspect. I suspect come post xmas, he'll be in full training again.

Overheard that the boys training with us that have no number and we don't recognize are our newly recruited VFL players. I suppose we'll know at some point who they are. But they can play, which should help our team.

I'll spare you some of the details, as it becomes quite repetitive. Warms ups done and so on. The moment I saw there was an umpire at training, I admit, it did surprise me. They usually don't use them til post christmas break when things get more intense as they do more and more match sims.
So I knew they would be doing a big session of full ground, which they did.

And they went straight into it. While Phillips, Treloar, WHE, Dunn, Cal Brown, Greenwood, Quaynor did running sessions, probably part of their own programs.
Will Kelly finished after the match sim. Heard him say he is still on a restricted program. Probably given his last year.

I noticed Sier has stepped up so far this pre-season. Definitely enforcing himself in contests and with the ball. Hopefully this continues. I'm expecting him to step a big step, as long as he has the right attitude and work ethic and no injuries.

A few of the younger players were doing well. We need to start having them take the next step to overtake our senior players, or at least some of them.

De Goey was mainly doing work separately, most likely on a restricted program as he gets his hamstrings managed.

That lasted for about 15-20 minutes, and then they went into stoppages rotations on different parts of the ground, done in half time minutes. 5-10 min halves where they have to move around and place the ball into the nets.

There was also 100 metre sprints from around the goal posts and to the front of the ground where they would meet up.

The draftees were taken inside after the match sim, as they get more and more into the sessions as they go along. I'd think after christmas, they should be involved with it all.

The session lasted for 2 hrs, as its one of their final sessions of the year.

After it was finished, went into the cafe with a mate and some players started coming in. A bunch of them at a table. Grundy giving Lynch some ruck tips, and also giving him a compliment saying how impressed he is of Lynch and how far he has come so far this pre-season.

I reckon once Grundy retires, he should do some ruck coaching for us haha.
Good news with Sier, I think Grundy should run the Country. I think he’d go ok.

thanks and appreciate the write up.

Jen quick question and touching all wood I can how is Moore travelling?
From the 2 sessions I have attended, he's looked really good. Did a lot of running by himself on Wednesday, but there are no visible signs of restriction and his athleticism in the air and pace are quite evident.

Jen quick question and touching all wood I can how is Moore travelling?
brilliant. Nothing on him at all. He is travelling as good as possible. Hopefully it can continue and can have a hopefully injury free season. Unlikely as this is collingwood, but one can hope.

From the 2 sessions I have attended, he's looked really good. Did a lot of running by himself on Wednesday, but there are no visible signs of restriction and his athleticism in the air and pace are quite evident.
Ta Albert love have a fully fit and confident Moore would add a dimension to our team

I might be nit picking here. I haven’t seen JDG in person... but, would anyone else love to see him with a few kg’s shredded off him?

He is such a power athlete, and thats why he is who he is... but i think it would benefit him greatly.. in terms of getting out a full season, covering more ground etc.

Once again, just being picky here... Would have no complaints if he stays the way he is and continues his trajectory 😂 just curious on other peoples thoughts.

I might be nit picking here. I haven’t seen JDG in person... but, would anyone else love to see him with a few kg’s shredded off him?

He is such a power athlete, and thats why he is who he is... but i think it would benefit him greatly.. in terms of getting out a full season, covering more ground etc.

Once again, just being picky here... Would have no complaints if he stays the way he is and continues his trajectory 😂 just curious on other peoples thoughts.
Part of his power is his bulk - so long as that remains muscle and sinew bulk I see no problem.

He has such a big frame, that if he lost a few kg’s of fat i doubt he would lose that power. He may just be like Swanny, thats just his body type.

however, Swanny has no issues playing full seasons of footy usually

He has such a big frame, that if he lost a few kg’s of fat i doubt he would lose that power. He may just be like Swanny, thats just his body type.

however, Swanny has no issues playing full seasons of footy usually
There are of course different types of bulk - some people are just . . . rubbery with bulk that isn't either fat or muscle.

Much depends on what that bulk is.

There are of course different types of bulk - some people are just . . . rubbery with bulk that isn't either fat or muscle.

Much depends on what that bulk is.
Very true. I reckon for him to become more of a Mid, dropping a couple may have to happen.

It's a delicate balancing act with his type of build, lose too much and you gain speed and endurance but lose power/impact.

A kilo or two either way shouldn't have a big impact - looking as we are from the outside with no true understanding of the club's intent.

It's a delicate balancing act with his type of build, lose too much and you gain speed and endurance but lose power/impact.

A kilo or two either way shouldn't have a big impact - looking as we are from the outside with no true understanding of the club's intent.
As my son noted on Wednesday, Jordy does look like he has lost a little bit of weight versus the tail end of last season when did look like he was progressively gaining. He probably won't trim down too much while he has such limited pre-seasons and manages his training loads.

It's a bug bear of mine too.
I'm not sure who is ultimately responsible - mids coach, stoppages coach, ruck coach, Ruckman himself.

But you just shouldn't have a ruckman getting such a high percentage of taps as Grundy and having such a poor conversion of centre and stoppage clearances as Collingwood seem to do.

I don't think that Anthony Rocca, try as he might, would be the organisation's preferred choice as ruck coach. Perhaps this role is undervalued by the hierarchy?

De Goey in the middle and Sier could assist in this respect.

But tapping the ball to Grundy's feet when you don't have a fast moving, big-bodied mid to work with is seemingly a recipe for continued failure as was seen too many times in 2019. That and the straight forward taps toward the boundary at throw ins where we seem to constantly outnumbered by opposition to clear it.
Absolutely spot on. We've got a once in a generation ruckman thats only 25 with massive improvement left in him potentially, and we've got a centre half forward as a ruck coach. Madness. Total madness. Should be offering Dean Cox a 7 year ruck coach deal in conjunction with Brodies deal.

Could the Club Announce Grundy's Re-Signing at the Open Training Session on Monday?
I suspect he'll re-sign late in the 2020 season.