List Mgmt. Jeremy Cameron traded to Geelong

What will happen with Cameron?

He skips leg day!
Did I tell you I recently saw Tom Hawkins in Bunnings wearing short shorts? Tom specialises in legs.;)

Just need to look at his Instagram page to know that...

He skips leg day!

Andrew Mackie skipped all gym sessions! Didn't do him any harm! ;)

Its a number.... I think id have given him another number but really what doest it matter. AblettJr had three different numbers ..even Sr had a different number at Haw... Not sure what Neale's number is ... edit 33

View attachment 1028105
agreed TC...

Go Catters

What illustrious company Jezza joins - Polly Farmer, Gary Malarkey, Gary Ablett Senior, and Travis Varcoe.

It will raise debate on which is the most famous number worn at Geelong, 4, 5 or something else?

Bill Ryan and Doug Wade
Bill Brownless and Gary Ablett Snr
now
Jezza Cameron and Tom Hawkins

I'm very excited
Another class combination up forward to savour

Cement your place in GFC history Jeremy

What illustrious company Jezza joins - Polly Farmer, Gary Malarkey, Gary Ablett Senior, and Travis Varcoe.

It will raise debate on which is the most famous number worn at Geelong, 4, 5 or something else?

To me #5 is still comfortably and easily number one.

Purely due to Gary Ablett, Polly Farmer, and then perhaps Gary Malarkey (in that order too). Then you add Jack Evans (premiership player in 1937), Syd Smith (premiership player in 1952), and Varcoe it's hard to go past.

After that, any of #2 (Denis Marshall, Bruce Lindner, Tom Harley), #9 (Leo and Michael Turner, James Kelly), #23 (Doug Wade, Larry Donohue, Nathan Ablett), #26 (Bill Ryan, Jack Hawkins, Barry Stoneham, Tom Hawkins)* fill in the remaining spots. Probably could add #35 too (Billy Goggin, Paul Chapman, and now Dangerfield).

(* - amazing how frequently key forwards, and pretty good ones - fill in #23 and #26 for us).

Purely due to Gary Ablett, Polly Farmer, and then perhaps Gary Malarkey (in that order too). Then you add Jack Evans (premiership player in 1937), Syd Smith (premiership player in 1952), and Varcoe it's hard to go past.

After that, any of #2 (Denis Marshall, Bruce Lindner, Tom Harley), #9 (Leo and Michael Turner, James Kelly), #23 (Doug Wade, Larry Donohue, Nathan Ablett), #26 (Bill Ryan, Jack Hawkins, Barry Stoneham, Tom Hawkins)* fill in the remaining spots. Probably could add #35 too (Billy Goggin, Paul Chapman, and now Dangerfield).

(* - amazing how frequently key forwards, and pretty good ones - fill in #23 and #26 for us).
NO5 the clear winner I couldn't split 26 and 35 for second place.

Hope everyone watched that interview, as he seems like an absolutely class person. Was asked whether he feels he has to prove himself now that he'll be running around with guys like Sel, and his answer was basically 'I've thought about this a fair bit, and I do feel like I'm last in line - the 43rd player - ... I feel like I've hit the refresh button and I've got to prove myself all over again...I don't see myself as a guaranteed selection, and know I need to work hard'

That's a fantastic attitude to have, and really makes me even happier about his trade-in - given he exudes leadership and will be able to offer mentorship to the younger guys once Hawk and Sel have likely moved on end 2022

Good get Partridge - some fantastic names amongst those numbers - #5 my personal favourite but #26 & #35 not too shabby either.
As a fellow left footer I'm looking forward to another lefty in the #5 - hope he goes as well as the last one - Polly :thumbsu:

Just my opinion - but re the jumper number i would have given him number 10 ( if it was available )

Reason for that - i think he is the closest player Geelong have had to the great John Sharrock

Booming left foot kick - and how he moves half forward / centre half forward - he is probably a little bit bigger than Sharrock - but Sharrock did play one year quite a few games at FB- so he wasnt small either

But Cameron is like Sharrock - all class - dangerous - quick - long left foot kick - lets hope he kicks plenty of goals

He will but it's in the finals we need him to kick plenty of goals.
He has a 2.55 goals per game average during H&A.
That drops away significantly in the finals to 1.77 goals in finals.

Eerily similar to Hawkins I'm afraid.
Most forwards would have their goal averages go down in finals... They are coming up against good defences/defenders and arent going to be able to kick big bags against scrub teams.

Just my opinion - but re the jumper number i would have given him number 10 ( if it was available )

Reason for that - i think he is the closest player Geelong have had to the great John Sharrock

Booming left foot kick - and how he moves half forward / centre half forward - he is probably a little bit bigger than Sharrock - but Sharrock did play one year quite a few games at FB- so he wasnt small either

But Cameron is like Sharrock - all class - dangerous - quick - long left foot kick - lets hope he kicks plenty of goals
Just reading this post makes me pinch myself and ask is Jeremy Cameron really playing for Geelong in 2021?

How times have changed.

The Sharrock family's connection with Geelong began in 1962 when the Cats took 18-year-old John from Tooleybuc (near Swan Hill) on a boat trip to New Zealand in an attempt to secure the signature of the Murray League best-and-fairest winner.

Sharrock, who had left school at 14, was working on the family citrus farm, earning a quid a week and trapping a few rabbits to make a few shillings extra.

"Leo O'Brien rang me and said, 'Will you play for us?' I replied, 'Mr O'Brien, I'd love to, but I have no money, no shoes and no clothes'," Sharrock said.

"So they sent me into Sack's Drapery at Swan Hill to see a bloke called Jack Wheeler. I got a blazer, two pairs of pants, two shirts and some shoes. Then I said, 'Mr O'Brien, I have no money', so he gave me 50 pounds to go to New Zealand.

"It was a lot of money, but nothing compared to the 400 pounds they gave me when I signed and the chance to wear No. 10, which my idol Fred Flanagan had worn."

Sharrock played 20 games straight, including the 1963 premiership against Hawthorn. He was a star from the beginning, left-footed and devastating in his ability to turn a game from a forward flank.

By 1966 the knee injury that would end his career two years later at age 24 after 94 games was worrying him. Coach Peter Pianto moved Sharrock to full-back, then centre half-back, centre and centre half-forward.

By season's end he'd finished third in the Brownlow Medal behind St Kilda's Ian Stewart.

To right could play, some said he heard foot steps,one of those Alex Epis lined up on him at KP one Saturday arvo after touting Sharrock all week in the papers in that regard and was give a quick footy lesson when Sharrock took him apart in the first quarter and Epis as captain having to take himself off him.

Just reading this post makes me pinch myself and ask is Jeremy Cameron really playing for Geelong in 2021?

Given how many have come across from other clubs I don’t see what’s so surprising.