Redgum

South Freo Footy Club
He hasn't signed with Melbourne , I have always loved this guy ,I suppose it's those hangers he takes ,but the guy can play. He is only 25 years old ,plenty of footy left in him ,can play at both ends. I reckon he is a lot better than Mayne , imagine him and Fyfe taking screamers , he would energise the crowd and players. I think playing at Melbourne and the way they have been travelling , he's under-performing ( because he needs a new environment ) and I think he can really play. I would grab him in a heart beat.

He said half forward flank not half forward ya gooseberry

Hogan, first choice before Howe.

Sent from my iPad Air using Tapatalk

No thanks. He's been moved forward and back because of his shit defensive efforts, with Roos trying to get him a 2 way player. He clearly isn't that's why he's on the trade table l

He's a good player just starting to hit his prime. I think if we could get him at a reasonable trade it'd be worthwhile.

I've always thought Crozier would become as good as him as they're very similar styles of players, but to date he hasn't got near what Howe offers. He still may but it would be great having Howe there as Crozier develops.

At the end of the day, he would improve our team and surely that's what a trade is all about. The negotiation over what that trade is, is the next step but we should at least be interested.

Yeah, I could imagine Bondy coming up to RTB and saying we got this guy available who takes a really good mark and could be handy for the forward line. Sounds good says RTB, what club does he play for?
Bonds says Melbourne!
Well f$&@ no then and give yourself a clip on the way out you idiot!!!

Double face palmed when I saw someone actually made a thread for this dud. Is not better than Mayne, seriously mate, that's an appalling thing to say. Howe can take a speccie, that is all, Melbourne will be happy to lose him if they get a second rounder for him. Dead set dud

He's a good player just starting to hit his prime. I think if we could get him at a reasonable trade it'd be worthwhile.

I've always thought Crozier would become as good as him as they're very similar styles of players, but to date he hasn't got near what Howe offers. He still may but it would be great having Howe there as Crozier develops.

At the end of the day, he would improve our team and surely that's what a trade is all about. The negotiation over what that trade is, is the next step but we should at least be interested.
Outside of a good speccy - what does Howe offer?

Firstly, don't underestimate the value of contested marking. It's a very handy attribute for a player and his team.

Secondly, he adds versatility which is also extremely important. He can play tall or small in defence, play forward and be dangerous, and run through the midfield. Also handy as third man up.

He does all of the above well and is elite at contested marking. He's played 99 games and averaged 15 possessions, 6 marks, a goal a game despite playing in defence for a lot of his games, and 2.3 tackles a game.

Just as a comparison Ibbo has averaged 17 possessions over his career, 5 marks and 2.1 tackles. Mayne 14 possessions, 4 marks, 1.2 goals and 3.9 tackles.

Fairly similar to those guys really and a couple of years younger and playing in a shit cultured team. I'd back him in to improve in our system and wouldn't it be good to have another Ibbo/Mayne type running around for us? Whether its Howe, I'm not sure but we should investigate.

Firstly, don't underestimate the value of contested marking. It's a very handy attribute for a player and his team.

Secondly, he adds versatility which is also extremely important. He can play tall or small in defence, play forward and be dangerous, and run through the midfield. Also handy as third man up.

He does all of the above well and is elite at contested marking. He's played 99 games and averaged 15 possessions, 6 marks, a goal a game despite playing in defence for a lot of his games, and 2.3 tackles a game.

Just as a comparison Ibbo has averaged 17 possessions over his career, 5 marks and 2.1 tackles. Mayne 14 possessions, 4 marks, 1.2 goals and 3.9 tackles.

Fairly similar to those guys really and a couple of years younger and playing in a shit cultured team. I'd back him in to improve in our system and wouldn't it be good to have another Ibbo/Mayne type running around for us? Whether its Howe, I'm not sure but we should investigate.

I see the comparison but both Ibbotson and Mayne are players that are too reliant on one aspect of their game (Ibbotson intercept marking and Mayne tackling). I would rather another Michael Johnson - someone that is no only an intercept marker but can and does regularly break the lines or a "Aaron Hamill" type - a third forward that not only tackles hard but averages up around that 2-3 goals a game mark. So no, I am not hugely fussed about getting another Mayne or Ibbo.

Whilst Howe can theoretically play in those positions you say, I just don't think he is consistent enough at any one thing (apart from the marking) - he may improve the Ross Lyon "30% improvement" but as a counter to your argument I would raise you:

(1) He is already been under Paul Roos; and
(2) Colin Sylvia.

I see the comparison but both Ibbotson and Mayne are players that are too reliant on one aspect of their game (Ibbotson intercept marking and Mayne tackling). I would rather another Michael Johnson - someone that is no only an intercept marker but can and does regularly break the lines or a "Aaron Hamill" type - a third forward that not only tackles hard but averages up around that 2-3 goals a game mark. So no, I am not hugely fussed about getting another Mayne or Ibbo.

Whilst Howe can theoretically play in those positions you say, I just don't think he is consistent enough at any one thing (apart from the marking) - he may improve the Ross Lyon "30% improvement" but as a counter to your argument I would raise you:

(1) He is already been under Paul Roos; and
(2) Colin Sylvia.

Melbourne are still shit even under Roos.

Sylvia was at the end of his career with a poor track record and looking for a retirement home, Howe is 25.

I feel you backed up my argument by pointing out Howes versatility in comparison to Ibbo and Mayne.

Every team would like a Jonno. 194cm utilities with the skills and nouse of Jonno don't grow on trees and if one became available you'd pay heaps to get him. So we shouldn't look at anyone else unless they're as good as Jonno?

Don't get me wrong, I'm not saying he's a champion or that we should sell the farm to get him, but to say that he's a one trick pony like some are suggesting is totally wrong. He's a handy player that would improve our side so we should at least look at him IMO.

Over and out.

It's players like him that make me wish that the AFL had some sort of try outs. Would love to see how he goes with our mids.

Reckon it may come down to price, so probably won't happen.