Jesse Hogan(mini-draft)- priority for us

If Melbourne are found to be "tankers", at the conclusion of the AFL's investigation, they, potentially, stand to be excluded from this years draft.

My question is, if this comes to pass do Melbourne lose the rights to Jesse Hogan, as seeing that the picks used to trade for him, were not theirs to trade, after having been stripped of the right to participate, owing to the club being found guilty of owning a putrid, corrupt and shameful excuse for a set of values? ;)

If Melbourne are found to be "tankers", at the conclusion of the AFL's investigation, they, potentially, stand to be excluded from this years draft.

My question is, if this comes to pass do Melbourne lose the rights to Jesse Hogan, as seeing that the picks used to trade for him, were not theirs to trade, after having been stripped of the right to participate, owing to the club being found guilty of owning a putrid, corrupt and shameful excuse for a set of values? ;)

i was thinking about that ... if they get excluded from this year's draft, they shouldnt be able to pick up jesse ... doesn't guarantee we can get him next yr though ... but still opportunity there :)

I doubt the punishment will be that harsh - only the men on Mars know that Melbourne didn't intentionally tank, but still can't see them being able to prosecute a punishment that hard.

And even if they did, I can't see how they can force them to give up Jesse unless they nullify the trade which means taking picks off GWS ... AFL taking picks AWAY from GWS, LOL

I don't think the AFL could void his contract. Viney will be the painful one, but not for Melbourne. The rule says that you have to pick him with your next available pick, so if that pick is now #126, Viney goes then instead.

Now that's an injustice.

I don't think the AFL could void his contract. Viney will be the painful one, but not for Melbourne. The rule says that you have to pick him with your next available pick, so if that pick is now #126, Viney goes then instead.

Now that's an injustice.
Nah, that wouldn't happen. some AFL.com.au stories have already suggested Melbourne will lose him if they're deemed guilty. All a club would have to do would be to commit to him with a higher round draft pick than Melbourne's 8th rounder or whatever it is...? Viney doesn't just slide to pick 100+.

I doubt the punishment will be that harsh - only the men on Mars know that Melbourne didn't intentionally tank, but still can't see them being able to prosecute a punishment that hard.

And even if they did, I can't see how they can force them to give up Jesse unless they nullify the trade which means taking picks off GWS ... AFL taking picks AWAY from GWS, LOL

yeah just wishful thinking and taking picks away from GWS would be icing on the cake ... i think if melbourne is found guilty they'll probably only get excluded from next yrs draft

Yes, it would be justice IHOM if GWS lost those picks, really Melbourne should never have been in a position to have so many to begin with and the system was not meant to get GWS more 1st round picks at the end of it. Just another balls-up by the AFL, but now it's done, it can't be undone.

And yes, if they get excluded from a draft, it will be next year I reckon, which means again there's injustice because they used their high picks this year and played the system to make sure they get Vinney for unders. Between the AFL who basically encouraged Melbourne to go down the tanking path in the first place then set them and GWS up with too many 1st round picks, and the low life Demon officials who took advantage of it ...

It's like watching Dumb and Dumber, only without the laughs.

Hogan played a nice game for Melbourne vs North tonight, 4 marks and a goal from deep in the pocket. Sigh.

Got my hopes up when I saw this thread bumped - I thought he might have come out and said something indicating he wanted to come home in future.

I hate Melbourne so very, very much. I never thought it possible but they might actually be approaching eagle levels of hatred.

It makes me feel hatred. Poorly conceived hatred.

I kind of feel sorry for Melbourne fans (the ones with integrity) they are torn between supporting the club they love, and the scumbag con artist management that runs it. I hope as a Freo fan I never have to be put in that position.

Got my hopes up when I saw this thread bumped - I thought he might have come out and said something indicating he wanted to come home in future.

I hate Melbourne so very, very much. I never thought it possible but they might actually be approaching eagle levels of hatred.

Same.

Lyon is the one I've never had time for.
A very unsavoury trio there.
I so agree about good ol' Gaz.
The bloke presides over all these footy shows like he's some sort of statesman - but is so one eyed about his basket case club, it's not funny. He nearly started crying during his attack of Caroline Wilson (about some derogatory article she wrote about Melbourne's tanking) on Footy Classified.

I reckon blokes who are actively involved in club administration like him, Maguire & Brayshaw shouldn't be able to chair these shows. All of them self promoting tossbags.

The other thing about Lyon is he appears to be a bit of a sook. Gets all surly when the rest of the Footy Show panel take the mickey out of him / his hair / footage of him lipsyncing / footage of him crying.

My hatred of Melbourne surpassed Eagles loathing levels some time ago.* I can't stand them, what they've stood for and how they've operated over the last 5 or so years. They'll steadily rise as their tanking investments start paying off and I'm going to hate them even more. I don't think there's another club in the league that is so proudly void of character.

* I should come out and say that my hatred of the Eagles has been steadily coming down for some years now. I don't even mind them winning every now and then. :oops:

My hatred of Melbourne surpassed Eagles loathing levels some time ago.* I can't stand them, what they've stood for and how they've operated over the last 5 or so years. They'll steadily rise as their tanking investments start paying off and I'm going to hate them even more. I don't think there's another club in the league that is so proudly void of character.

* I should come out and say that my hatred of the Eagles has been steadily coming down for some years now. I don't even mind them winning every now and then. :oops:

You are probably being a bit harsh on Melbourne, lets not forget Collingwood got Pendlebury through the same deal, as did the eagles and hawks (Buddy). At least melbourne didnt go from being in the finals one year to only winning four games and getting a bonus first round draft pick.

And by the eagles, I don't mind them winning occasionally as long as they finish 9th :)

You are probably being a bit harsh on Melbourne, lets not forget Collingwood got Pendlebury through the same deal, as did the eagles and hawks (Buddy). At least melbourne didnt go from being in the finals one year to only winning four games and getting a bonus first round draft pick.

And by the eagles, I don't mind them winning occasionally as long as they finish 9th :)

Yep. West Coast go from bottom of the ladder one year to top 4 the next. As far as I'm concerned, you should miss out on your first round pick if you make top 4 after getting a priority pick.

I find the anger against the Dees a little mystifying. The system existed and they exploited it, fair play to 'em. Abuse of the set-up was wide-spread and yet now we hear allot of righteous talk about Melbourne's morally bankrupt culture whilst everyone else that had a crack (including ourselves most likely) is merely a victim. What a load of balls.
It was a corruption in which a significant majority had a hand in. Why else the comparatively weak punishment? They can't explicitly punish them for tanking without it forcing out the evidence that a number clubs have done the same whilst AFL officials gave tacit approval. Everybody loses. Hence the pumped out outrage before and during the investigation followed by not actually doing anything. Hell they had prima facie evidence for the same investigation 3 and half years ago. Anyone who thought Melbourne as a club would carry the can for this were dreaming.