Leg End

I've seen a bit of "drop him to ressies" stuff this week. Here's my take:

He's a genuinely talented, livewire midfielder like the Hawks' Rioli. His biggest issue is that he may try to play the team game too much and restrict the off-the-cuff brilliance that we saw in pre-season.

We have not had a player like him in years. Why rock his confidence now by dropping him when we're winning? Senseless.

i said in another thread we should drop him for rohan, but im changing my tone. jetta has already played and starred in the wafl. there isnt much for jetta to get out of playing in the ressies, he has proven he has what it takes in a competition miles above the canberra league.
i will have to agree and say leave him in the seniors and tell him to let loose, especially against north melbourne who are a young side and not as big as our previous opponents of st kilda and adelaide.

He's a genuinely talented, livewire midfielder like the Hawks' Rioli. His biggest issue is that he may try to play the team game too much and restrict the off-the-cuff brilliance that we saw in pre-season.

We have not had a player like him in years. Why rock his confidence now by dropping him when we're winning? Senseless.

tbh i don't care if he is dropped or not

i reckon half you guys choose with favouritism in mind

but if the reasoning for not dropping a player is confidence (posted something to a similar affect in another thread).... then that player has no AFL future

it's not gonna destroy anyone, if the club continues to give them good support, which i'm sure they do

"Jetta - Let him develop"... can't do that with a few games in the reserves, is it completely impossible

A player should only be dropped when he is not performing and there is a better option available.I doubt Jetta will ever be in Cyril Rioli's league.He's not "delicious" as Bruce would say.

As I said in the other thread.

if you belive Lewis Jetta is in the best 22 than he plays. There all paid to be AFL footballers and regardless of age or development if there in the bestt 22 they play.

Jetta's not without his flaws and may not be in the best 22 all year but he is using the ball well and has excellent pace, like a lot of kids he's been patchy in his output.

I've got no desire to see him dropped, on the job learning when he's among the best 22 available.

His 21 years of age and can't develop much more, what we see now is pretty much what we are going to get. The only upside is his confidence to pull out more of his "party tricks" will come to the fore as his game time grow and so will his match fitness and knowledge of the team tactics and what each of the forwards do when he has the ball.

Dropping him won't help, unless its for poor form and he hasn't shown poor form he just hasn't lived up to the high expectations of many here. He has to get use to the pace of the AFL and when he does only then can that call be made. Most just want Rohan in the team, but he is a player who can do with time in the Reserves until he is called into the team when ready (which won't long), but no need to make changes now for change sake.

He's not even a teenager any more! We have to think of the future, he should be dropped! Having said that, I don't think he should be delisted, he would be a handy depth player, and mentor to the kids in Canberra. :thumbsu:

;)

I know you are being sarcastic but i can't help but think some people would agree with this statement.

His 21 years of age and can't develop much more, what we see now is pretty much what we are going to get. The only upside is his confidence to pull out more of his "party tricks" will come to the fore as his game time grow and so will his match fitness and knowledge of the team tactics and what each of the forwards do when he has the ball.

Dropping him won't help, unless its for poor form and he hasn't shown poor form he just hasn't lived up to the high expectations of many here. He has to get use to the pace of the AFL and when he does only then can that call be made. Most just want Rohan in the team, but he is a player who can do with time in the Reserves until he is called into the team when ready (which won't long), but no need to make changes now for change sake.

There are plenty of blokes in the reserves who are showing very good form, possibly even better form than Jetta at the moment.

For everyone saying how "shattering" it would be for Lewis to go back to the reserves, how shattering is it for the blokes who are performing in Canberra and not being selected?

Jetta is new and shiny, which makes him more attractive to supporters. But at the end of the day we are chasing wins, not confidence boosters, and in all honesty if all it takes is one week of the reserves to destroy Jetta then he shouldn't even be at a footy club.

I'm not saying drop him, but don't mollycoddle him either. These blokes are paid to perform, and if Teddy or Bevo or Vesz or Rohan or anyone in the reserves is performing then why should they sit and wait just to boost one players confidence.

He will cut north melbourne up and he is exciting why drop him?

Oh there are plenty of reasons to cull the lad dswan, he is selfish, breaks the lines, way too old, has to much pace, is of muddled mind, kicks the ball to well, just doesn't get enough of it, is exciting, has reached his station, to popular with the flamin kiddies, has never been to Canberra and Cyril sounds way sexier.
The reserves have played a whole match this season so there is as good a guide as one could hope for to go on with choosing a likely candidate in his stead.
Hope that helps mate. :confused:

If anyone reads 'Jets Journal', you might be swayed into letting him loose on the kangaroos this week... Let 'The Jet' show us how its done...:thumbsu:
Gotta laugh at the timing of this one.

Oh my god. what a massive overreaction; like you make it sound as if dropping him into the ressies for like one week will massively hamper his ability to improve over like a 5 year period. In case you haven't realised, it IS possible to develop players in the ressies, and if your suggesting otherwise... well soph won't be to happy.

I am 50/50 about him being dropped, im not going to pretend im up to date on all the ressies news but apparently odwyer is shredding it up, and well, jetta didn't really shred it up, so all this stupid "he is exciting" crap aside, I think the best 22 should go into a game irregardless of how many games we have won, -which btw did you realise, was against RICHMOND- I hate how like because he is exciting and all that crap, he gets second chances and favoritism, which is not what the swans is about.

Whether he played well or not, well thats each to their own, but suggesting that "jetta" specifically shouldn't be dropped, just because he should be allocated special time to develop in the seniors because "it will rock his confidence" if you do otherwise, is just stupid. What about the ones who perform well regurlarly in the ressies, do they have to wait for jetta to develop in the seniors and miss out on a spot they may or may not deserve over him?

Keep him. He's an outside player who is reliant (at this stage) on how the team goes and the quality of the feeds. As the OP suggests we need a bit of what he brings, with the caveat that he should be dropped (as warranted) at some stage through the year for a game or two due to fatigue/1st year blues/pressure from below. I'd guess 15-18 games this season

Skills and/or (especially) pace has been good so far, and surely no-one would have expected all those marks to stick or a 25+ disposal game so far.

Rohan and Ves will have their time later in the season, and (baring injuries) Lewis will go back for a rest then.

There are plenty of blokes in the reserves who are showing very good form, possibly even better form than Jetta at the moment.

You can't compare the form of a player in the AFL to that of a player in feeder league such as the ACTAFL. More so you can't compare two forward pockets, a half forward flanker, a half back flanker and a key position defender to a player who plays on the wing. Plenty are trying to make cases to drop Jetta, BUT NOT ONE PERSON HAS YET made a case to replace Jetta with a like for like replacement, because there isn't one in the reserves playing the same role that Jetta is and at the same time playing the so-called great Football.

People are just blindly throwing names out there because they WANT to see changes or WHAT to see a certain play brought in. But no one has made a case that dropping Jetta would improve our "MIDFIELD", because all the names thrown up are forwards. I guess next we'll see people calling one of our ruckmen to be dropped for Sumner to play:rolleyes:

For everyone saying how "shattering" it would be for Lewis to go back to the reserves, how shattering is it for the blokes who are performing in Canberra and not being selected?

I'm guessing those back in Canberra are getting feedback on their performance each week and how close they are to the senior team. Hard to make a Senior team that is settled when there are NO injuries and the Senior team is WINNING. People are forgetting those two simple facts.

Jetta is new and shiny, which makes him more attractive to supporters. But at the end of the day we are chasing wins, not confidence boosters, and in all honesty if all it takes is one week of the reserves to destroy Jetta then he shouldn't even be at a footy club.

Chasing wins. Shit, I forgot we have won the last two matches. Better drop every one:rolleyes:

I'm not saying drop him, but don't mollycoddle him either. These blokes are paid to perform, and if Teddy or Bevo or Vesz or Rohan or anyone in the reserves is performing then why should they sit and wait just to boost one players confidence.

They should sit if they can't find a spot in the team of them. Ted Richards needs a Key Position Defender to go down with injury to come back into the side, and the other three are pushing Moore for his spot in the side, but Moore has done nothing so far this season to show cause that he should be dropped. Same goes for Jetta, people have got expectations that are too high placed upon him and it has taken only 3 games for people to turn around and call for his head. He has done more than enough to keep his place in a winning team, but if his form tails off or doesn't improve from were it is now, then he should expect a period in the Reserves and no his confidence wouldn't be hurt by that, playing him in the seniors when he isn't pulling his weight would hurt that more. But at the moment he is doing enough to pull his weight.

Oh my god. what a massive overreaction; like you make it sound as if dropping him into the ressies for like one week will massively hamper his ability to improve over like a 5 year period. In case you haven't realised, it IS possible to develop players in the ressies, and if your suggesting otherwise... well soph won't be to happy.

I am 50/50 about him being dropped, im not going to pretend im up to date on all the ressies news but apparently odwyer is shredding it up, and well, jetta didn't really shred it up, so all this stupid "he is exciting" crap aside, I think the best 22 should go into a game irregardless of how many games we have won, -which btw did you realise, was against RICHMOND- I hate how like because he is exciting and all that crap, he gets second chances and favoritism, which is not what the swans is about.

Whether he played well or not, well thats each to their own, but suggesting that "jetta" specifically shouldn't be dropped, just because he should be allocated special time to develop in the seniors because "it will rock his confidence" if you do otherwise, is just stupid. What about the ones who perform well regurlarly in the ressies, do they have to wait for jetta to develop in the seniors and miss out on a spot they may or may not deserve over him?

+1

A reasoned argument. Team before individuals.

Earlier this week it was White; now Jetta. Neither is actually playing badly.

It's more a reflection of how boring this board has become; how deprived of serious football debate, or more how any debate is hijacked by several nimrods, that threads such as this rubbish are stretched beyond 4-5 responses.

Earlier this week it was White; now Jetta. Neither is actually playing badly.

It's more a reflection of how boring this board has become; how deprived of serious football debate, or more how any debate is hijacked by several nimrods, that threads such as this rubbish are stretched beyond 4-5 responses.
Post of the year so far