Prediction Jimmy 300 or not?

Selwood and Duncan are a good chance, as other have said already.

I reckon Cameron Guthrie would have a shot as well. He's played 92 games and is still only 23. He's also versatile enough to play several team roles, which should help his longevity.

I was looking at Guthrie yesterday as a possible option and while he has only played the 92 games as you said, he is tracking at a similar rate to Duncan. Guthrie is just over a year younger than Duncan, and he is about that one season behind him in terms of games played.

One player I won't put it past is Blicavs - sure he just turned 25 in March and only has 73 games under his belt, but considering what he has done so far in his short career, does anyone really want to doubt what he could achieve before he finishes? He looks surpremley fit, and just seems full of surprises.

With the late start to his career, he'd have to play on until he's about 36-37. Being so versatile and with huge stamina should help, but it's still a long shot IMO.

3. Jimmy Bartel isn't limping to the finish line
The Brownlow medallist was one of the veteran Cats who the club chose to hang onto at the end of 2015 and Geelong's decision looks like the right one. Bartel, like so many experienced campaigners across the League, was in vintage touch in the impressive win over West Coast, collecting 28 touches and booting a goal, after racking up 30 possessions the previous week against the Suns. The 32-year-old offers invaluable experience, calmness under pressure, fierce competitiveness and he still has that touch of quality that suggests he will be a vital asset for this generation of Cats heading towards a September campaign where they could do significant damage. - Travis King

Nine things we learned from round seven, AFL.com.au

Yep. Just like on page 1. He will get there on merit... 291 down 9 to go.

OT but someone needs to get him this beard guide hoodie. See how far he can get to by the end of the season. Gawn would be at Cave man :D

26712847900_bbe4e238ae.jpg

I think some are underestimating how tough it is to get to 300. There is a reason not many do it. Just Jimmy and Selwood will make it from the current group.

That kid from Kimba, South Australia (home of the Big Galah!) might make it too.

I was looking at Guthrie yesterday as a possible option and while he has only played the 92 games as you said, he is tracking at a similar rate to Duncan. Guthrie is just over a year younger than Duncan, and he is about that one season behind him in terms of games played.

I think his footy career may be shortened because he is a chance to compete in 2020 olympic games.:(

I think some are underestimating how tough it is to get to 300. There is a reason not many do it. Just Jimmy and Selwood will make it from the current group.
300 games mean an injury free career consisted of 12 seasons including 3 finals. Considering you can't play in final series 12 years in a row, as well as little niggles, suspensions, rests and other factors, It took most of them 14 seasons or more to reach the milestone. That is just remarkable.
Selwood is a strong chance if he can continue till the age of 33. Duncan became a regular member of the playing side in 2011 at the age of 20 but missed a lot of games last season. So he may have to keep the body up until 35. It's a bit difficult and I really hope he can carry on.

300 games mean an injury free career consisted of 12 seasons including 3 finals. Considering you can't play in final series 12 years in a row, as well as little niggles, suspensions, rests and other factors, It took most of them 14 seasons or more to reach the milestone. That is just remarkable.
Selwood is a strong chance if he can continue till the age of 33. Duncan became a regular member of the playing side in 2011 at the age of 20 but missed a lot of games last season. So he may have to keep the body up until 35. It's a bit difficult and I really hope he can carry on.

It took Newman 17 seasons, and he only missed one through injury.
They play more games now, though.
It took Nankervis 16 years to reach it, with a lot of 22 h & a round seasons and very few injuries.

It took Newman 17 seasons, and he only missed one through injury.
They play more games now, though.
It took Nankervis 16 years to reach it, with a lot of 22-game seasons and very few injuries.
Yeah 14 seasons is from a optimistic perspective. Realistically it takes more than that.
Jimmy starts at 2002, it's his 15th season. He may reach 300 thanks to our dominance. We played 25 finals from 2004. Without such dominance Jimmy has to fight for another year to reach 300.

Yeah 14 seasons is from a optimistic perspective. Realistically it takes more than that.
Jimmy starts at 2002, it's his 15th season. He may reach 300 thanks to our dominance. We played 25 finals from 2004. Without such dominance Jimmy has to fight for another year to reach 300.

Yes, almost impossible to do without lots of finals.

Was far far from the worst in the last 2 weeks.

Had a bit of the fumbles on occasion but im being picky.

One of the few behind Guth and Hendo that could hold their head up....

He gets a rest when he needs or wants to - that should be his call but well on track for the 300.

And while its early, his form suggests there is more longevity to him as well...

Go Catters

Wasn't convinced 18 months ago but not only is 300 looking comfortable 325 is even money.
Yeah I'm in a similar boat to be honest.
Late last year I feared he was done. He has been almost our most consistent player this year

I look forward to #Jimmy300
images (11).jpg

Jimmy and Boris could realistically play deep into their thirties and not keep players whom are better on form out of the side. I'd love nothing more than it to be these two guys out of any of our 07,09,11 premiership heroes and it looks like it could happen at this stage.