Jaymin

Nov 8, 2002
Leeds United FC
Will leave the other thread for what people have voted for.

Predict how you think the top 10 will pan out. (In order)

1 point - song in top 10
2 points - song in correct place in top 10

Also predict what song 100 will be - will be used as a tiebreaker (closest to the pin style)

Winner gets bragging rights...

1. Sex on fire - KOL
2. Time to Pretend - MGMT
3. Use Somebody - KOL
4.Embrace - PNAU
5. Electric Feel- MGMT
6. Lights and Music -Cut Copy
7.Cape Cod Kwassa Kwassa- Vampire Weekend
8 Kids- MGMT
9. Not my name- Ting Tings
10. Festival Song - (I dont even know which aussie hip hop knob jockie sings this piece of sheet but as i have an extreme dislike for it, it means it will land in the top ten.)

100 Goliath- The Mars Volta, easily this years best song from a killer album which has copped an absolute flogging on my cd player this year. Also, if it does make it they better play the whole song and not the abbreviated version.

1. Kings Of Leon - Sex On Fire
2. MGMT - Kids
3. The Presets - Talk Like That
4. Kings Of Leon - Use Somebody
5. MGMT - Electric Feel
6. Vampire Weekend - A-Punk
7. Cut Copy - Lights and Music
8. The Living End - White Noise
9. Birds of Tokyo - Sillhouetic
10.Empire Of The Sun - Walking On A Dream

100. Jackson Jackson - All Alone

Righto i managed to fluke picking the top 6 in order last year so lets see if i can pull another one from my arse this time.

1. This boys in love - The Presets
2. Sex on fire - Kings of Leon
3. Kids - MGMT
4. Jimmy Reckard - Drapht
5. A Punk - Vampire Weekend
6. Electric Feel - MGMT
7. Walking on a dream - Empire of the sun
8. Silhouettic - Birds of tokyo
9. Lights and Music - Cut copy
10. Festival song - Pez

With better songs such as No sex for ben and Dig Lazarus Dig coming in the 11-20 range

100. Animal - Calling all cars

1. Drapht - Jimmy Recard
2. Kings of Leon - Sex on Fire
3. MGMT - Electric Feel
4. Kings of Leon - Use Somebody
5. Ting Tings - That's not my name
6. MGMT - Time to Pretend
7. Empire of the Sun - Walking on a Dream
8. Nick Cave - Dig Lazarus Dig!!!
9. Flight of the Conchords - Most Beautiful Girl
10. Last Shadow Puppets - Age of the understatement

100. Mr G - Naughty Girl

Tried to pick a slight smokey for no. 1 just going on previous years. Drapht seems to be popular in the other hottest 100 thread.

Geez looking at these top 10's its been a shit year for popular music

1. Electric Feel - MGMT
2. Use Somebody - KoL
3. Walking on a Dream - Empire of the Sun
4. Embrace - PNAU
5. That's not my name - Ting Tings
6. Sex on Fire - Kings of Leon
7. Business Time - Flight of the Conchords
8. Broken Bones - Birds of Tokyo
9. Jimmy Recard - Drapht
10. Lights and Music - Cut Copy

100. Raise the Alarm - The Living End

Geez looking at these top 10's its been a shit year for popular music

You're not wrong.

So much great music out there yet people are served up this type of shit and they lap it up.

Disagree.

Triple J listen to their listeners, the bulk of whom are teenagers. I don't really like Aussie hip-hop or sub-par bands like Kings of Leon (or worse...Wolfmother/Silverchair), but I can see why they like it to some extent as I can remember back to the younger years. The station is there for them after all!

When it comes to what the listeners are "served up" you can go through say Pitchfork's most read reviews for they year and they've "served up" the vast majority of that including some thrashed via featured records. There is some great music in that list (as well as some shit!) and music that I don't reckon the Wolfmother set would appreciate. Kingsmill's *Insert Year* program introduces a variety of international music.

But the kids gravitate towards the music they most relate to. In 10-15 years time they will be the ones whinging!

And when it comes to the Hottest 100, the bogan set from Triple M smell a barbie and all of a sudden find their inner-indie to vote, hence why the crossovers dominate.

Disagree.

Triple J listen to their listeners, the bulk of whom are teenagers. I don't really like Aussie hip-hop or sub-par bands like Kings of Leon (or worse...Wolfmother/Silverchair), but I can see why they like it to some extent as I can remember back to the younger years. The station is there for them after all!

When it comes to what the listeners are "served up" you can go through say Pitchfork's most read reviews for they year and they've "served up" the vast majority of that including some thrashed via featured records. There is some great music in that list (as well as some shit!) and music that I don't reckon the Wolfmother set would appreciate. Kingsmill's *Insert Year* program introduces a variety of international music.

But the kids gravitate towards the music they most relate to. In 10-15 years time they will be the ones whinging!

And when it comes to the Hottest 100, the bogan set from Triple M smell a barbie and all of a sudden find their inner-indie to vote, hence why the crossovers dominate.

I think we'll have to agree to disagree. Triple J have become more and more beholden to record companies and the music pluggers over the years - not to the same extent as the commercial networks though. But they have lost the true independent and adventurous ethos they had years ago.

I lived in Sydney when they were still squeaky new to FM and they certainly had some 'avant-garde' about them.

But still, in terms of today's music, what are they not playing that they should be, and what are they playing that they shouldn't?

Listening to the Jays has never been about loving 100% of what's played.

The fact that My People has been shortlisted worries me when creating this list, but hopefully sanity prevails (good song, but was in last year)

So lets go with...

1. Kings of Leon - Sex on Fire
2. The Presets - Talk Like That
3. The Ting Tings - Thats Not My Name
4. Kings of Leon - Use Somebody
5. MGMT - Electric Feel
6. The Last Shadow Puppets - The Age of the Understatement
7. Empire of the Sun - Walking on a Dream
8. Cut Copy - Lights and Music
9. Birds of Tokyo - Silhouettic
10. Vampire Weekend - Oxford Comma

100. White Rabbits - The Plot

1. Sex on fire - KOL
2. Time to Pretend - MGMT
3. Use Somebody - KOL
4.Embrace - PNAU
5. Electric Feel- MGMT
6. Lights and Music -Cut Copy
7.Cape Cod Kwassa Kwassa- Vampire Weekend
8 Kids- MGMT
9. Not my name- Ting Tings
10. Festival Song - (I dont even know which aussie hip hop knob jockie sings this piece of sheet but as i have an extreme dislike for it, it means it will land in the top ten.)

100 Goliath- The Mars Volta, easily this years best song from a killer album which has copped an absolute flogging on my cd player this year. Also, if it does make it they better play the whole song and not the abbreviated version.

hahah, better than half the rubbish you got on that list :eek:

Disagree.

i agree with ur sentiments, and am glad that others are prepared to articulate that it's the cross over crowd that decided this thing year after year. knights of cydonia was an abbhoration... but one crowded hour, wish you well (whilst both great songs) and take me out were direct results of the triple m (and perhaps even the new nova) crowd.

and it's why the hottest 100 isn't as good as it used to be. it's why kings of leons pish new album and mgmt will both end up with 2 top 10 songs each.

1. Jimmy Recard - Drapht (Please Please Please Please!!!)
2. Talk Like That - The Presets
3. Sex on Fire - Kings of Leon (I wish it would be lower but it'll be hereish...hopefully)
4. Kids - MGMT
5. That's not my name - Ting Tings (ugggghhhhh.... :()
6. Silhouettic - Birds of Tokyo
7. Lights & Music - Cut Copy
8. Bliss n Eso - Eye of the Storm
9. White Noise - The Living End
10. Use Somebody - Kings of Leon (...Damn you and your turning to the (dark) commercial side)

100. Pork and Beans - Weezer

If Kings of Leon get #1...I will come close to topping myself I think

1. Kings of Leon - Sex On Fire
2. Pez - The Festival Song
3. MGMT - Kids
4. Drapht - Jimmy Recard
5. The Presets - Talk Like That
6. Vampire Weekend - A-Punk
7. The Ting Tings - Thats Not My Name
8. MGMT - Electric Feel
9. Art Vs Science - Flippers
10. The Rapture - No Sex For Ben

100. Cloud Control - Vintage Books (absolutely killer track!)

1 Kings Of Leon - Sex On Fire
2 MGMT - Kids
3 Kings Of Leon - Use Somebody
4 The Presets - This Boy's In Love
5 Drapht - Jimmy Recard
6 MGMT - Electric Feel
7 The Presets - Talk Like That
8 Pez - The Festival Song
9 Ladyhawke - My Delerium
10 Ting Tings - That's Not My Name

100 The Boat People - Awkward Orchid Orchard

No one hear yet rates Lily Allen, Josh Pike, The Living End. The first 2 are sacred to JJJ So I believe they will go high. TLE also because of their commercial exposure as with KOL. Anyway usually a good day and creates a bit of interest and arguments. As for me my smokey is Dog dressed in clothes song.

Here's my top 10

#1 - a middle of the road song by a bunch of the most boring musicians ever to take the stage - they made a couple of decent albums but have delivered a disk that stinks to high heaven but the general public doesn't seem to notice

#2 - some overhyped bunch of wannabes that will leave no lasting mark on music

#3 - a bunch of talentless hacks that look cool and sound shocking

#4 - some hot girl whose looks exceed her musical talent exponentially

#5 - some guy with an acoustic guitar making music to slit your wrists by

#6 - a young Australian band that can actually play and have a decent song - they sneak in at just to show that not all Triple J listeners are a mob of sheep

#7 - some hip hop megastar that relies on voice masking technology to make his piles of steaming crap a little less crappy

#8 - a song that is actually terrible but the video clip is cool

#9 - an insipid pop tune (but the video clip is cool)

#10 - an old favourite band that's best years are past it yet still attract lots of votes from their legion of fans who are so blinkered they believe that their idols can do no wrong

I reckon that pretty much sums up what will be in the top 10.

I predict the top 10 will have some seriously shit aussie hip hop,some seriously shit synth pop,a couple of trendy american indie bands that nobody will ever hear of again,and a couple of 'raw' production indie songs with guitar riffs that people think are heavy or edgy.I also predict it will have no metal.So pretty much the same as every other year.

I also predict that most of the people JJJ talk to over the phone on the day will be morons with a blue wifebeater and a southern cross tattoo ,calling from the central or north coast of NSW,they will all be named 'cody' or 'hamish',and they all say shit like 'yeah nah,me and me mates are just on the way to a mates barbie...yeah nah should be good..i reckon you should play some powderfinger ayyyyyyyyy'.

I'll listen to it anyway :)

are half the people in this thread kidding themselves!!

whats is the view like from up on your high horses?

there has been some great music this year, and some crap music. no different to any other year. the JJJ hot 100 top 10 will again be dominated by catchy cross over tunes, and what is so bad about that? it has been like that for the last 10 years

just because a song is popular doesnt make it rubbish. only stuck up robbie buck wanna-bees would make say that.

i bet half the tools who posted on this liked sex on fire when it first came out, and now preach to their mates that they were KOL fans before they got big, and now cant stand them as they are 'commercial'. what a load of wank

are half the people in this thread kidding themselves!!

whats is the view like from up on your high horses?

there has been some great music this year, and some crap music. no different to any other year. the JJJ hot 100 top 10 will again be dominated by catchy cross over tunes, and what is so bad about that? it has been like that for the last 10 years

just because a song is popular doesnt make it rubbish. only stuck up robbie buck wanna-bees would make say that.

i bet half the tools who posted on this liked sex on fire when it first came out, and now preach to their mates that they were KOL fans before they got big, and now cant stand them as they are 'commercial'. what a load of wank

Someone with some sense. :thumbsu:

The Festival Song #1. :p

JJJ Hottest 100 Competition - Predict the Top 10