JLT 2018

Then again, it could work out nicely! Harley could come on from the crowd at quarter time and pull his mate Wilson aside to tell him what he's doing wrong. Ross would have no other option than issuing him with his final, final, final warning.....

what's he cost a game so far ..... 600k well worth it

Nope, the way they have said they will interpret it, he had to go. It was a choice to bump and head high. Unlucky and I don’t necessarily agree with the rule as there are many variables such as protecting yourself, relative height etc but that was clear...and unlucky. I feel more sympathy for the poor sods that tackle a larger man and then try and work out how to stop him hitting his head on the turf, a la Dangerfield

Rojo was a better mark, had better hands, also had more the midfield nous although you could teach him set plays/blocking patterns I suppose.
Jeeesuus, another few years and you’ll have him a Brownlow. Very average footballer who gave his best. Darling is far more valuable and other clubs would think the same.

was that on the port board? I saw that as well- something like we had 13 players play 80% of the game and they had 5.
In typical whinging Port style, he gave this as the reason that we won 'cos they was tryin arder than us'. Now as far as I see it, if we had a lot more players with over 80% game time in those hot conditions, they should have run over top of us not vice versa. Not to mention our CHB only played 10 minutes.

you really would think that their key players having fresh legs would have helped them in the clinches, especially in hot humid conditions...

west coast premiership confirmed.

Each to their own.
I'd take Rojo before Darling.

You can't compare the two players roles.
Having said that this comment is madness.

Darling has been the number 2 forward and has kicked 40+ goals 5 times.
I'm sure every other club would pick him ahead of Rojo. Ahead of most number 2 forwards for that matter.
I liked Rojo so no disrespect to him though.
Edit: Correct me if I'm wrong but didn't he have his best year when Kennedy was out with his ACL?

I'm sure every other club would pick him ahead of Rojo. Ahead of most number 2 forwards for that matter.
Edit: Correct me if I'm wrong but didn't he have his best year when Kennedy was out with his ACL?
Kennedy had a broken foot, not an ACL. And yes Darling kicked 53 goals in 2012.

Potential team/squad of 24 for the scratchy this week:

FB: Watson Barrass Nelson
HB: Rotham Schofield Cole
C: Masten Hutchings Ainsworth
HF: Venables Brander Karpany
FF: Rioli Waterman Bayok

R: McInnes Brayshaw Partington

I: Burrows England Ryan Mutimer Olango Vardy/Lycett

Rested players (13): McGovern LeCras Gaff Yeo Shuey Duggan Sheppard Sheed Redden Cripps Jetta Hurn Lycett/Vardy Darling

Players unavailable due to injury (7): Naitanui, Kennedy, Mackenzie, Petrucelle, O. Allen, M. Allen, Ah Chee

Don't like - would prefer to see a team capable of winning so a winning standard and culture are maintained into season proper. Lycett, in partilcular, needs another hitout. A more substantial ruckman also means some of the younger players will get first use of ball.

Having said that - it would be interesting to see who Dockers roll out in this match.

Don't like - would prefer to see a team capable of winning so a winning standard and culture are maintained into season proper. Lycett, in partilcular, needs another hitout. A more substantial ruckman also means some of the younger players will get first use of ball.

Having said that - it would be interesting to see who Dockers roll out in this match.

I think the two clubs would have agreed that the scratchy was for younger players. The WAFL preseason doesn't start until next weekend so they needed to organise something for the players who didn't play last weekend.

Kennedy had a broken foot, not an ACL. And yes Darling kicked 53 goals in 2012.
Ahhhh, wrong. Darling has never kicked more than 40 goals in a season. I heard it from one of the commentators so it must be true.

I'm in the minority it seems and it really doesn't matter.
Not a big Darling fan at all and I really like team orientated players....Gladly trade him for someone that would make our midfield better and all our other midfielders stand taller.

I'd still take Rojo before Darling and it'd be interesting, if it was possible, to see if any other clubs would too.
I don't think I'd be on my own.

Rojo > Darling is a hilarious call.

The only reason people are even capable of getting annoyed at Darling's failings are because his talent and statistical output make him a fixture in the best 22 and suggest he's been very close to taking the next step to being a genuine star for a long time now. if he were an out and out dud, no one would be remotely bothered about him dropping chest marks or staging for frees because he wouldn't even be playing seniors. It's the 90% of quality he has which makes that last 10% disappointing.

ROJO was lucky to play in a once in a generation midfield. He was a deadset average player that was able to play a certain role. Every premiership side has a handy role player or two in their squad and its not like ROJO role was something extraordinary.

Darling may infuriate fans with dumb footy but Ffs so many teams will kill for another 40-50 goal a year forward. He actually had a pretty decent second half to the year. A lot of this anger is surfacing after a bloody JLT game as well in their first hitout. In a regular season he would take majority of those Marks as well.

I'm in the minority it seems and it really doesn't matter.
Not a big Darling fan at all and I really like team orientated players....Gladly trade him for someone that would make our midfield better and all our other midfielders stand taller.

I'd still take Rojo before Darling and it'd be interesting, if it was possible, to see if any other clubs would too.
I don't think I'd be on my own.

No team would take RoJo ahead of Darling.

RoJo was / is a champ no doubt and every team needs team players willing to sacrifice their game for the team.

But Darling is a 40-50 goal a year 2nd forward which are not easy shoes to fill. He also has his best ahead of him IMO, as he matures he will prove the doubters wrong.

Like playing Jetta behind the ball in defence to get him involved more and use his skills.

Or playing Yeo as a mid.

And playing a smaller forward line tobri g more defensive pressure!

Yeo has played on and off in the middle for a few years with marginal impact on our ball movement (when in the middle), wonderful footballer off of half back, plenty to prove in the middle.

Jetta has an absolute ton to prove yet. There's hope though.

Our new small forward line hasn't even played together yet, let's keep it in our pants, and that doesn't particularly solve our ball movement up the ground.

Getting good quality forward entries is largely on the forwards rather than the mids.

It certainly can be, but it'd be absolutely ludicrous for anyone who has watched us over the last few years to suggest that our midfield isn't a major cause of our issues moving the ball forward, we're appalling when pressure is applied, and often lack the patience and footy smarts to work through the oppositions defensive structures.

Rojo never flopped around throwing his head back, i'll give him that much.

I hear he could also take simple chest marks, is that true?
;):)

tenor.gif

To bring this thread back on track and away from dislike for our best trade bait.

I thought the Redden played a bloody good game, now that they're playing him in his preferred position, it looks like he'll flourish.
My main concern is however is his size...By that I mean bulk.
For an inside mid, he's built for like a HFF, I'm concerned about his ability to last out the season...In particular having the rigours of AFL football affect his consistency as the season wears on.

It's a shame Ah Chee did his ankle so early in the piece, I was really excited to see what he can offer.
Franky looks a ripper and Jetta although much maligned is a match winner on his day. FWIW I suggested he play HB when he came to the club, I for the most part was flamed on this board.

I thought
To bring this thread back on track and away from dislike for our best trade bait.

I thought the Redden played a bloody good game, now that they're playing him in his preferred position, it looks like he'll flourish.
My main concern is however is his size...By that I mean bulk.
For an inside mid, he's built for like a HFF, I'm concerned about his ability to last out the season...In particular having the rigours of AFL football affect his consistency as the season wears on.

It's a shame Ah Chee did his ankle so early in the piece, I was really excited to see what he can offer.
Franky looks a ripper and Jetta although much maligned is a match winner on his day. FWIW I suggested he play HB when he came to the club, I for the most part was flamed on this board.
Jetta was running at pace, something he looked unable to do last season.