Jnr Footy Incident WA

Goosecat

Sep 9, 2006
Mandurah
So I wasn't there but a couple of parents have contacted me about a major junior footy incident taking place yesterday in WA.
The Peel district year 11 and 12 Grand final took place between the Dockers aligned Secret Harbour Dockers and Halls Head.
There were rumours pre-game apparently of pre-planned hits to be delivered by the Dockers aligned juniors on Halls Head players.
Only minutes before final siren with result basically done and the Secret Harbour Dockers being down by 14 points.
An 18 year old year 12 ( I wont name him) is caught on video running up and king hitting Halls Heads player and knocking him out cold.
Everyone is a little stunned and initially don't know how to react before eventually all hell breaks loose. We're talking multiple teeth knockout.another player knocked out and parents threatening to kill the 18 year old starter who had to be locked away in the change-rooms.
He was apparently arrested last night.

Throw away the key

This stuff is so important to really get to the bottom of. It's the sort of thing that particularly in today's "world" drives parents and kids away from the game.
There should be an in depth investigation into the entire Secret Harbour Dockers club/culture and hierarchy IMHO.
I say that knowing the reputation the club has and the apparent knowledge of some it was potentially going to happen.
There is a culture within the club that flows from a number of leaders down through playing groups and parents. The club has lost it's way in clearly identifying the difference between aggression at the ball and acceptable aggression towards the individual. That stems in this case, not from any socio/ economic drivers but from an encouraging band of club leaders and coaches. A broom is needed to be swept through the club.

So I wasn't there but a couple of parents have contacted me about a major junior footy incident taking place yesterday in WA.
The Peel district year 11 and 12 Grand final took place between the Dockers aligned Secret Harbour Dockers and Halls Head.
There were rumours pre-game apparently of pre-planned hits to be delivered by the Dockers aligned juniors on Halls Head players.
Only minutes before final siren with result basically done and the Secret Harbour Dockers being down by 14 points.
An 18 year old year 12 ( I wont name him) is caught on video running up and king hitting Halls Heads player and knocking him out cold.
Everyone is a little stunned and initially don't know how to react before eventually all hell breaks loose. We're talking multiple teeth knockout.another player knocked out and parents threatening to kill the 18 year old starter who had to be locked away in the change-rooms.
He was apparently arrested last night.
Yeah one of the very worst incidents I've ever seen in Junior footy and I've been involved for twenty years plus

This was absolutely horrible to watch. I go to school with this guy and never did I think he was capable of anything like this. I heard rumours and know there is a rivalry, but assault should never be permitted anywhere. There needs to be a serious investigation into that club and the way they run things, because that is disgraceful.

You're not alone. I thought of putting the thread on a main board where everyone would jump in no doubt but just couldn't bring myself to fully "advertise" this really negative story re; junior AFL. Something did need to go up though, so here it is for those that follow this level.
Things are going to happen at the club.... I hope.
Having nephews involved down that way and you are spot on.

Also as far as I'm aware, the umps are refusing to be involved in any future games involving that club given they (kids themselves) needed to be escorted off the ground

You're not alone. I thought of putting the thread on a main board where everyone would jump in no doubt but just couldn't bring myself to fully "advertise" this really negative story re; junior AFL. Something did need to go up though, so here it is for those that follow this level.
Things are going to happen at the club.... I hope.
Except that game is NOT “at this level”.

From my little understanding, we’re not talking draft prospects here.

Colts age community football clubs if I’m not mistaken, regardless of affiliation.

This is the draft board. Where we talk about the top junior talent in the land. Your thread belongs either on the main board. Or the WAFL board or School Football board, both of which (coincidentally) have far less traffic.

Quality first post

Is he back at school or his he suspended?

Colts age community football clubs if I’m not mistaken, regardless of affiliation.

This is the draft board. Where we talk about the top junior talent in the land. Your thread belongs either on the main board. Or the WAFL board or School Football board, both of which (coincidentally) have far less traffic.

Lol imagine channeling your outrage at the incident in this manner

Each side in this case has players that have played state level juniors and made state junior squads. Neither side has current players in state 18s but each has players being watched.
It is a higher level than you think and one AFL club is absolutely attached. If it belongs somewhere else, I'm happy for mods to move it and I'm sure it would get plenty of attention on the main-board.
That aside it seems a strange response to be concerned with the location of the thread rather than the incident.

Quality first post

Is he back at school or his he suspended?
From my understanding he didn't get suspended, as it didn't happen on school grounds, but his parents have kept him out of school because some from halls head also go here, and if they were in the same place we'd likely get round 2, then school would have no choice but to get involved with suspensions and the like.

It's probably not gonna be easy to re-integrate him at any stage for the rest of the year

Probably not, especially given most of us don't like him in the first place and now he's in s**t with the school, he probably wont graduate with potential charges hanging over his head.

RIP

Well, let's hope he realises his error and becomes a better person for it, as a youngster.

I'm sure he will...most people do. And most young people make mistakes and learn.

No point getting the pitchforks and flame torches out is there?
And had this been an isolated incident, the product of just being on the losing end of a grand final, I would agree. However he has done this several times, although not quite to the extent of the damage he did here. Weather they were all ordered by the coach, or the player acting of his own accord, you'll have to ask them, but this was as far from an isolated incident as you could get. I hope he learns from it, but given that he's done this before, you'll be understanding as to why I don't reckon it will happen.

This stuff is so important to really get to the bottom of. It's the sort of thing that particularly in today's "world" drives parents and kids away from the game.
There should be an in depth investigation into the entire Secret Harbour Dockers club/culture and hierarchy IMHO.
I say that knowing the reputation the club has and the apparent knowledge of some it was potentially going to happen.
There is a culture within the club that flows from a number of leaders down through playing groups and parents. The club has lost it's way in clearly identifying the difference between aggression at the ball and acceptable aggression towards the individual. That stems in this case, not from any socio/ economic drivers but from an encouraging band of club leaders and coaches. A broom is needed to be swept through the club.
Goose thank you very much for your comments we have taken photos of them and will be in touch.
To inclinate that the people in the leadership positions had knowledge of that absolutely cowardly act is about as ridiculous thing I have seen or heard in my life.
Once we have finished making sure the people involved have been procescuted and more importantly rehabilitation put in place to understand what caused them to do this and help them grow to be better adults and also help the kids that were attacked to make sure there is no lasting side effects we will be dealing with people that thinking posting defamatory comments on social media has no implications

Goose thank you very much for your comments we have taken photos of them and will be in touch.
To inclinate that the people in the leadership positions had knowledge of that absolutely cowardly act is about as ridiculous thing I have seen or heard in my life.
Once we have finished making sure the people involved have been procescuted and more importantly rehabilitation put in place to understand what caused them to do this and help them grow to be better adults and also help the kids that were attacked to make sure there is no lasting side effects we will be dealing with people that thinking posting defamatory comments on social media has no implications
You can try and put words in my mouth and attempt to intimidate all you like buddy but your signing up and first panic post and threats says plenty in and of itself. That type of aggression whilst failing to acknowledge the community and parents seems to be yet another example of the aggressive posturing surrounding your club. Good luck hunting down all the parents and kids on social media. Just the type of leadership people in the community seem to be aware of.

Goose sorry just clarify we won't be in touch we will let the people that legally know what there doing do that.
We will busy running a club and putting structures and support in place to make sure this occurrence can be avoided in the future.
Good luck to you

Fine. It'll be interesting to hear what structures and changes the club decides to make in an effort to get better, certainly higher levels will be involved and community sentiment should not and will not be silenced but rather sought.
I would suggest however that threats and intimidation straight after the incident was not an auspicious start. I understand the intent but it could have been handled very differently right there.
To clarify; Good luck yourself, hope the kids, parents and community are able to see some positive moves. There are members of that community right here watching.

Fine. I'd be interested to know what structures and changes the club decides to make in an effort to get better.
Mate would glad to share them with you and also possibly give you a bit of a insight of what we walked in to 2 years ago and also the steps we have already done and too have 3 people destroy that over a weekend is heartbreaking
But in the end we are the people responsible and need to take heed and improve and move forward again

Just a quick follow-up to this Goosecat

Penalties Secret Harbour
SH Player 1 - 56 match suspension
SH Player 2 - 28 matches
SH Player 3 - 1 match
SH Player 4 - 1 match
SH Parent - 12 months

I will add that the Peel District rules that if a club fields multiple teams in the same age division they should be evenly matched, ie clubs don't grade their players to produce a strong Div 1 team with a team of spuds in Div 2. I'd be interested to hear from SH club officials on whether they think they should follow this rule.