Oppo Camp Joe Richards (Traded to Port Adel. 2024)

Jack Watts survived Port. He'll be fine

I drive North for work through Port Adelaide heartland. Im going to have to upgrade to a military amphibious vehicle to get through all the bile that's going to be vented at the President, head of footy, list manager, coach and these 3 new recruits.

Please stop mining the bile Kaneo. Bunnings has already sold out of pitchforks and disgruntled loonies have started gathering on street corners brandishing any weapon they can find.

He didn't leave for a tiny bit more coin or slightly more opportunity in best 22, the world was his oyster if he wanted to stay with us.
There was clearly some other reason and I'm not implying anything untoward.
But you guys do you.
Maybe he's Jewish?

He didn't leave for a tiny bit more coin or slightly more opportunity in best 22, the world was his oyster if he wanted to stay with us.
There was clearly some other reason and I'm not implying anything untoward.
But you guys do you.
Didn't like the hustle and bustle of Melbourne?
Hates McRae?
Took Kelly's car spot and copped an ear full?
Didn't like the Collingwood hazing ceremony of drinking urine?
Didn't like having to go for a drive with Didak because he didn’t like to be used as a meat shield from gun fire?
Everyone commented that his Mum wasn't as cool as McCreery's?

Na it was coin and opportunity. He was a TA on small coin so the opportunity to get 350K a year at Port compared to 250K with us was a big difference. Port probably also offered him an option of a 4th year. He would also have been told, that he is considered an automatic best 23 at Port for round 1 baring injury while at the Pies he is behind Hill, Schultz, Elliott, McCreery and have to fight with Harrison when he comes back for a potential spot.

Didn't like the hustle and bustle of Melbourne?
Hates McRae?
Took Kelly's car spot and copped an ear full?
Didn't like the Collingwood hazing ceremony of drinking urine?
Didn't like having to go for a drive with Didak because he didn’t like to be used as a meat shield from gun fire?
Everyone commented that his Mum wasn't as cool as McCreery's?

Na it was coin and opportunity. He was a TA on small coin so the opportunity to get 350K a year at Port compared to 250K with us was a big difference. Port probably also offered him an option of a 4th year. He would also have been told he is considered automatic best 23 at Port for round 1 baring injury while at the Pies he is behind Hill, Schultz, Elliott, McCreery and have to fight with Harrison when he comes back for a potential spot.
Got into with it with Jaxson Barham, it was brutal.

The way things unfolded it was clear as daylight he agreed to go to Port long way out prior to trade period.
He had a breakout year playing for the biggest Club in the land, semantics and speculations aside we've matched Port's offer, Fly made a plea to him on Copeland night yet he still decided to leave to Port without having any connection to Radelaide.
And if all of that isn't enough to get my point across after his departure we went and got Membrey.

The way things unfolded it was clear as daylight he agreed to go to Port long way out prior to trade period.
He had a breakout year playing for the biggest Club in the land, semantics and speculations aside we've matched Port's offer, Fly made a plea to him on Copeland night yet he still decided to leave to Port without having any connection to Radelaide.
And if all of that isn't enough to get my point across after his departure we went and got Membrey.
Yes I too assume he is lying. People never delay significant life decisions to as late as possible. And you're right Collingwood making a late decision to recruit Membrey as a replacement for Krueger is further proof that Joey made his decision months ago.

We matched the length of the contract (although there was speculation on a 4th year at Port) but I doubt we matched the money or the promise of game time. Why move unless you are getting guarantees of more money or more game time. His manager talked about setting Richards up for the rest of his career financially if I remember correctly.
Your Membrey speculation makes no sense to me. Maybe you are thinking on a different level to me and I am just not seeing it.

The Pies were reluctant to offer him a contract when they belately tried to make him an offer he was already committed to Port.

being a country boy probably more to do with being off broadway and playing for a smaller club
I was confident he'd decide to leave, because quite simply he could be a decent AFL standard small forward and not get a game for us due to our strength in the position, but if he can perform to a decent AFL consistently for Port, he's a permanent fixture of their team.

THere's always other factors involved in decisions to move jobs, but I think his manager would have been advising him to leave for more opportunity - or at least should have been, because it's the move that maximises his chances of playing senior AFL footy.

Might just be public speaking, but he came across as a pretty quiet type of bloke when accepting his award during the Copeland. Maybe it’s just as simple as not having confidence to fight or back himself into a spot in our best 23?

No we didn't offer a contract length that Port did. He had a deal on the table

Whether it was too little or whether it was too late, or whether it was a pure match play opportunity decision… or whether in fact Collingwood had their hand in his back with a little shove out the door as they had their eye on the prize (Houston)……. We will never know.

Probably a combination of all of the above.

I reckon any late improved contract offers were probably gambit offers to ensure his trade value was duly recognised.

Whether it was too little or whether it was too late, or whether it was a pure match play opportunity decision… or whether in fact Collingwood had their hand in his back with a little shove out the door as they had their eye on the prize (Houston)……. We will never know.

Probably a combination of all of the above.

I reckon any late improved contract offers were probably gambit offers to ensure his trade value was duly recognised.

Re-assigning “best first year player” to “best young player” for the Copeland, and then awarding that prize to Richards is a lot of effort to go to to have Richards’ trade value recognised?

The award is for the best player who player who played their first senior game that season. Pretty sure that hasn’t changed for decades. Who do you suggest should have won it? It was between him, Parker and Dean. The only other two debutants I think were Allan and Jiath.

We got the chocolates, so it was worth it.

The award is for the best player who player who played their first senior game that season. Pretty sure that hasn’t changed for decades. Who do you suggest should have won it? It was between him, Parker and Dean. The only other two debutants I think were Allan and Jiath.

It appears that sometimes it’s labelled “best first year player” (2023, 2022, 2021) and other times “best young player” (2020, 2024)

Labels may change but the award as far as I’m aware is based on much the same parameters. “ best debutant” might be a better description but that sounds a little lame.

Regardless to answer your point I highly doubt he was gifted this award to improve our trade position. He deserved it.

The McCarthy family also supported the decision for Richards to don the No. 35, and he said it was “a huge privilege” to wear it.

“Obviously, coming from Collingwood, similar to John, and being traded to Port Adelaide, there’s a little connection there,” he said.

“And I jumped at the opportunity as soon as they offered it up.

“There is a bit of history. And obviously Chad Cornes wore it before John. So a little bit of pressure. But I’ll try and make it my own and do as much as I can in it.”

The 25-year-old said he thought the opportunity was greater at the Power.

“It was more about the opportunities that I get coming here, and hopefully I can make the position my own. So that was probably the main factor,” he said.

“Obviously I’m a small forward and there’s an array of small forwards at Collingwood who are all great players.

“So whether there was a spot there for me or not, you know, potentially there was, I’m not too sure, but it certainly felt like what Port Adelaide pitched to me, it felt like the right decision. And as I said, one that I’m happy to make.”

Lonely Miss You GIF

Oppo Camp Joe Richards (Traded to Port Adel. 2024)