setanta17

Man United
I am a Carlton supporter and this bloke has made my year exciting. He is the most underated player in the afl and barely ever gets under 25 possessions.
He is top 3 in the afl for possessions and I think he is an inspiration.

GEELONG FOR THE FLAG

He's been much improved, getting possies and being more effective with them than in times past. Got a pretty good midfield going on.

I am a Carlton supporter and this bloke has made my year exciting. He is the most underated player in the afl and barely ever gets under 25 possessions.
He is top 3 in the afl for possessions and I think he is an inspiration.

GEELONG FOR THE FLAG

like the way you think :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Hey Mooney_d'king hope he keeps up his Funniest home videos mate oh and the salami. Go Corey

Joely has the biggest tank in our team.

Did you see his 150m run, capped with a goal? Didn't break a sweat let alone go to his haunches gasping for breath.

I can't get over how fit the entire side look actually. Are our hooped warriors the fittest list in history?

Definitely one of the most under-rated in the comp. Love it when they try to tag Jnr, then Bartel, then Corey, then Ling, then Chappy, then ......

The list is endless, that's why we are in the position we are in. Forget to mention that guys like Kelly, Enright and Mackie could rotate through the centre at times.

Our midfield, whilst not as renowned as the Eagles, the depth of it is the best in the comp.

super fit!!!!

the one thing i didnt particularly like about him in the past was his chasing sometimes. always fit enough just sometimes he got caught and his defensive pressure at times was average but not this year.

big reason we are so far ahead. one of my favourites.

go Corey. could be a reason we actually don't see the Brownlow to a geelong player this year (Ablett, Bartel)

His kicking lets him down, but apart from that he is awesome. Would get a few votes in the brownlow, and a bit of a dark horse to win it I think.

I am a big fan of his aswell. And even chucked a few dollars on him for the brownlow before the season started he was at 500/1 and I thought geelong couldn't go as bad as last season and he polled early last year. Never expected him to win but at 500/1 I will take the slim chance :P

He's at $21 now, so you got a bargain. He did poll pretty well last year - I was surprised because I didn't think he was all that effective, but I guess if you've always got the ball you'll attract the umpire's attention even if you don't always dispose of it well.

I'm the first to admit I was a little concerned with Joel Corey early in the season. Just didnt feel his disposal or general confidence levels were where they needed to be.

Come round 20 and he is killing it at the moment. Whilst it's right to sing the praises of Gaz and Jimmy, and Ling and Selwood for that matter...Joel Corey in recent times has been superb.

At times last week against the Crows when we were challenged in that second quarter he really stood up. His pace and strength to make clean breaks from stoppages has been first rate lately...and he could be one of our real weapons come September given how much attention will be on Jimmy and Gaz.

I agree about his fitness....he looks absolutely ripped, muscle on muscle. I think this has a lot to do with his improvement this year.
Anyone else agree that at stages this year he has looked positively 'Judd-like' bursting out of packs with the footy in one hand, muscles rippling...? I have.

Think the biggest thing Joel gives us is his tackles , Think we have seen some game changing ones from him this year. even at the start of the season when things were not looking so rosey in the disposal department he was doing a great job at this

Game against West Coast, was the first player this year to successfully get Judd pinged for holding to the ball. I think?

Yes his kicking does let him down sometimes you would not want him to be kicking for goal to win a final.
Kicked a massive super-goal in the NAB Cup Grand Final last year to get us ahead of Adelaide, if I recall correctly. Not the same as a real final, I know, but it was pretty inspiring at the time.

Correct. They always use the footage of Chappy lifting him up after he kicked it. He was much skinnier even then I reckon.

His kicking is an issue, but I would say it's more of a confidence (and sometimes fatigue/laziness) thing than a technical flaw, because it's not a consistent thing. You'd think he can rectify it quickly.