Joffa

Seriously? Are we analysing and dissecting the public image of Joffa like one might a book written by Dickens?
Fancy analytical skills and a command of the English language in these posts doesn't make him any less of a knob.

He's a fame whore that forgets he's just gutter trash; Clearly so did you all.
You sound jealous

where have I said joffa claims to be a role model?? All I am saying is people take there feral kids to the footy who crowd around him like he is some kind of god. To them he is clearly a role model , this is not joffas doing but it seems to be the case. I would not want my kids hanging around joffa and idolising him(some clearly do)because he is not an example someone to look up to IMO.

I dont want to be seen as a melbourne type club but the feral image does not sit that well with me either and joffa is as feral as they come. Clearly the feral tag sits nicely with many on this board and thats ok if thats how you want to be seen but I don't.

I have no problem with joffa being a feral bogan and agree life is boring if we are the same. Its the fact that he is now a celeb that annoys me. Not to the point were I lose sleep over it but when the topic is raised I am more than happy to give my 2 bobs worth.

Good luck to him but from what I have seen of him(and yes I have seen him around the traps) I dont think he is a very good advertisment for our club
I don't agree.
Joffa never once asked to be a role model for kids, or to be a celebrity.
I don't know a lot about him, but so what if he isn't to smart and uses rude language? He can't help if the people (fans, media etc.) are obsessed with him. He can't just change who he is to please others, just because he is a "role model".

And seriously, who cares if he isn't a very good advertisement for Collingwood. A good advertisement is the Lexus Centre, the 14 premerships and the yearly profits.

Why dont we send joffa over to the power, i reckon he is more representative of their supporter base than ours.:)

Seriously? Are we analysing and dissecting the public image of Joffa like one might a book written by Dickens?
Fancy analytical skills and a command of the English language in these posts doesn't make him any less of a knob.

He's a fame whore that forgets he's just gutter trash; Clearly so did you all.
Is he gutter trash? I have never seen him do anything other than barrack at the footy, or advertise some beverages and a charity walk over christmas. Has he assaulted members of the public? Has he driven under the influence of drugs/alcohol? Have seen him at both Collingwood and Williamstown games and I have probably used worse language than I have ever heard him use. Who really gives a toss how we express ourselves on here, I can swear with the best of them, it doesn't make me any more or less clever, or my opinion more or less valid, and no one claimed it did. I wood have thunk that as this is an elektrick righting bored plase sum abilletee to right england out propa wood be gud but.

Joffa, born Joffrey Alexander Crowley, (12 October 1875 – 1 December 1947; the surname is pronounced /'krəʊ.li/ i.e. with the first syllable sounding like "crow" in English) is an Australian occultist, writer and mystic.

He is perhaps best known today for his occult writings, especially The Book of black and white Law, the central sacred text of Thelema. Joffa was also an influential member in several occult organizations, including the Golden Dawn, the Argenteum Astrum, and Ordo Templi Orientis (O.T.O.) and official Collingwood cheer squad

Other interests and accomplishments were wide-ranging—he was a chess player, mountain climber, poet, painter, astrologer, hedonist, drug experimenter, degenerate and social critic.

Joffa himself claims to be a Freemason, but the regularity of his initiations with the United Grand Lodge of the AFL has been disputed.

Joffa has gained much notoriety during his lifetime, and was famously dubbed "The Wickedest Man In the World by opposition supporters. But preferred to call himself the beast (666) from the bible.

knobcreek-w.jpg

His favorite imbibe

The media itself made Joffa, he never went to the media, it went to him, if the media ignored him and thought of him as every other supporter, would we even be talking about him now?

I don't like or hate him, he's a supporter, I'm a supporter, he gets in the media, good on him, personally I don't see the big deal about the gold jacket, but then again that is just me.

Joffrey (Greek: Σωκράτης, invariably anglicized as [ˈsɔkɹətiːz], Joffa; circa 1960–2007 AD) is an ancient Magpie philosopher who is widely credited for laying the foundation for black and white philosophy. The most important source of information concerning Joffa is Plato. Plato's dialogues portray Joffa as a teacher who denies having disciples, as a man of reason who obeys a divine voice in his head, and a pious man who is executed for his love of Collingwood. Joffa disparages the pleasures of the senses, yet is excited by beauty; he is devoted to the education of the citizens of Collingwood, yet indifferent to opposition supporters. He is often held to be the founder of Western philosophy, and its most influential practitioner of cheer leading in the AFL.

Joffa (Greek for "thrice-great Magpie", Greek: Ερμής ο Τρισμέγιστος) or Joffas ter Maximus in Latin, is the syncretism of the Greek god Hermes and the Egyptian god Thoth. In Hellenistic Egypt, the god Hermes was given as epithet the Greek name of Joffa. He has also been identified with Enoch. Other similar syncretized gods include Serapis and Hermanubis.

Joffa might also be explained in Euhemerist fashion as a man who was the son of the god, and in the Kabbalistic tradition that was inherited by the Renaissance, it could be imagined that such a personage had been contemporary with Moses, communicating to a line of adepts a parallel wisdom. A historian, however, would leave such speculation to the history of alchemy and the nineteenth-century history of occultism, or indeed Mick Malthouse himself.

ROFL.:thumbsu:
Love it

Joffa has become an institution,
or, as some would say, should at least be in one.
Jokes aside, I like the guy.
Loves the club, and is a very passionate supporter.
And if the media have tried to make more of him than what he is, then that should be their problem, not his.
All I see, is that he turns up each week, rain hail or shine, to support the greatest team in the universe.
You've got to love the guy for that

Anyone that has actually talked to him has found him to be quite a down to earth sweet natured guy, I would suggest the only people here trashing him are those jealous types that have never met him

Yes he has a game face as we all do, just like we have nicknames on a chat site, doesn't represent the real man

I've got to agree with anzacs, joffa seems like a nice a down to earth person. In the heat of the moment at the footy we all turn ugly (or uglier). The gold jacket and game over sign brings alot of colour and interest to the game. If it causes the opposition supporters to make their own sgins targeting Joffa, I think Joffa's aim is achieved. I don't pay much attention to the gold jacket like I used to when it was new, but it adds a bit of life to an over-sanitised crowd.

Joffa seems ot be a bit of an attention whore. Either that or he is gay. Why else would you wear a gold jacket to the footy. That said, dirty grey mullet + gold jacket = star.

There is however the absolute, which by definition must remain unknowable, the easiest concept to understand this ineffable mystery would be to conceive of god as existence itself
I tend to believe there are absolutes although the jury is out. Nothing must remain unknown by definition although we may never personally know anything for sure. Existence is like rice. Depends how you cook it. Do my dreams exist?

Joffa seems ot be a bit of an attention whore. Either that or he is gay. Why else would you wear a gold jacket to the footy. That said, dirty grey mullet + gold jacket = star.

Only wears the gold jacket towards the end of the game when he feels it has been won, otherwise it is not worn.
And so far he has not been wrong.
It is his way of sticking it up the opposition, something we would all like to do.

Joffa