• Thread starter Thread starter legend166

I'm not impressed so far.

He's made some very bizarre decisions this year. A couple from earlier in the year:

- Choosing Seaby as the sub round 1. Made no sense. And it made even less sense when he replaced Sam Reid. We had no forward line that last quarter and it killed us.

- Continuing to play White as a second ruck (until tonight). Clear as day to anyone with eyes that White isn't a ruckmen. And when we've continued to have no forward structure, it was just a poor choice.

And then tonight, which was just poor coaching all round.

- Bevan in defence. If Bevan is going to play in defence, he should never be in our side. Basically every good game he's played in the last 3 years has been as a forward. And on a night like tonight, his tackling pressure would have been handy.

- Everitt as the sub. Why would you pick a tall, in a side that already has a lot of talls, to play on a night where the talls aren't going to be dominant? Ridiculous.

- Then, he subs off our tall forward target, and replaces him with another tall forward target. We replaced one invisible forward for another. Even at his worst Jesse at least has some presence. I wouldn't put Everitt and presence in the same sentence.

- Mike Pyke was no where to be seen in the forward line for the entire second half. Why?

Longmire has to lift his game.

St Kilda chose Lyon over him for a reason. Lyon stands for something.

Longmire has shown nothing in his whole coaching career that is unique or creative. Our game plan and structures seem to be all over the place this year and we have not had one convincing game or win.

Quite bizarre that we did not go through a process to select the best coach and simply appointed him.

Meh, it was his 6th game in charge and from what I've noticed the only real problems are ones that Roos dealt with too. For example, not playing well for 4 quaters, only in patches etc.

I say give him this year and at least a few rounds into next year before we start laying into him as a coach.

Meh, it was his 6th game in charge and from what I've noticed the only real problems are ones that Roos dealt with too. For example, not playing well for 4 quaters, only in patches etc.

I say give him this year and at least a few rounds into next year before we start laying into him as a coach.

Agreed, apart from messing up the sub rule, alot of Longmire's problems were experienced by Roos as well. Poor forward structure, using Goodes for too long in the forward line, having Bevan down back.

It's still way too early to be calling for his head. But I think structure & game plan are a concern atm. Other teams have had better positioning & set ups so far this season.

Fair enough to question him, no one is calling for his head. If no one questions him how will he learn?

His use of the sub has been absolutely horrible, he just doesn't seem to have a clue.

He doesn't seem to put any real value on forward structure. I think he needs to realise that we aren't winning anything without developing our forwards. Need Reid there at all times, can't use our best forward as a swingman, put him at CHF and develop the next Riewoldt. Need to rotate the rucks through the forward line as well as Goodes, Kennedy and ROK. All of them are dangerous targets.

Need to work on the forward press, West Coast have shown how much it can improve a side, we aren't doing it well at all, most of Carlton's goals came off easy rebound 50s was pathetic. Bevan, Moore, Jetta and White should have 1 KPI and one KPI only... Tackles inside 50. I don't include McGlynn because he is the only guy who gets it. If those guys won't tackle I50 then bring in the guys who will. Bevan has been very valuable as a forward this year for this reason alone. Doesn't help that Goodes is not good at this either.

That has been my biggest problem with him so far, we don't lock the ball in well enough, we do a great job getting it in there but we either score or let the other team rebound and we are really bad on the rebound. So far we've been torched by this in every game.

I'm not going to get lather up after 5 games, but the OP's pretty much spot on. Some bizarre thought patterns happening at the moment.

Jetta, White and Everitt need to head back to the reserves.

Jetta and White need some confidence. I just don't think Everitt's a footballer - other than his 15 minutes of fame, it's been largely 500 minutes of absence.

This thread should be closed like the Mcveigh one.
I said before the appointment that he has been here 9 years and a fresh face should be chosen and i mentioned the Scott brothers. But please don't compare him with that arrogant tool in Ross Lyon, who quite a few swans disliked when he was in Sydney.

Made the point last night, pressure needs to come on Horse NOW. Yes he's in his first year and we shouldn't be calling for his head, but that doesn't mean he gets a free ride through his first year. He's been absolutely pathetic in some coaching decisions.

White was great last night and added some good presence and physicality to our forward line and got subbed off. Why? No idea. Everitt should have been the late withdrawal for Pyke, not Grundy.

Made the point last night, pressure needs to come on Horse NOW. Yes he's in his first year and we shouldn't be calling for his head, but that doesn't mean he gets a free ride through his first year. He's been absolutely pathetic in some coaching decisions.

White was great last night and added some good presence and physicality to our forward line and got subbed off. Why? No idea. Everitt should have been the late withdrawal for Pyke, not Grundy.
By that last sentence I'm assuming you're inferring that Grundy's withdrawal wasn't due to sickness and it was for tactical reasons?

Do you guys seriously believe that the ideological shift between Longmire and Roos would be that great, considering how long they worked together?

What do you mean by difference. They were colleges not clones. We've already seen a different attitude to forward set up and a desire to kick more out of defence than run. Sadly we see why Roos used the tactic of run out of defence with a lot of our players foot skills.

There going to be similar but Longmire needs himself to show some adaptable with the times and list.

Though the bagging after five games is hardly necessary, he might have been assistant but taking the hot seat is always a big step up.

We've lost two teams currently sitting in the top four.

White was subbed off because he was useless. Everitt did more in his quarter than White did in his three. Aside from a clever kick to Goodes and an exhilarating poster, White contributed nothing.

We were sitting 2wins, 1 loss & 1 draw before last night. Draw was against Melb in Rd 1....an away game. We beat West Coast away & Essendon at home at ANZ. Both these teams are form teams as we've seen. Essendon weren't all that far away from the Pies the other day.

Our losses...................Geelong in the wet (now undefeated) & now Carlton (hate to admit it but they are up there this year).

We have missed Malceski, LRT, Bolton (now retired), Kennelly & Moore from our regular senior team.

So Longmire has attempted to re-invent some of our players that have not been regulars in our team over the years, to give them some hope. Bevan comes to mind. He was upset that he got dropped from the team in the final but an underdone Bradshaw was still able to nearly win us the match with 4 goals. So Longmire threw Bevo down back to give him ANOTHER opportunity to be part of our regular team. FAIL. But this is not Longmire's fault. He is only guilty of giving Bevan a shot at stopping Carltons clever small forwards.

He is only guilty of giving these same players another chance because we haven't started the year off too badly. But after last night against Carlton, I'm sure there will be changes.
My prediction is that Sumner will come in & Jetta will go out. Not sure on our injuries but LRT may come back. Reid needs to go & stay forward. Perhaps Lewis Johnston will get the gig down back if LRT doesn't come up.

Another exclusion I think may be White or Everitt for TDL.

It's not all bad from Longmire. He just needs to make some tough & unpopular calls this week against the Dogs.

Just my thoughts!

Longmire neither deserves solely the credit for our intital successes nor the blame for our failures.

Cultural and structural change is almost as bloody hard to implement as it is to dismantle.

Roos' greatest contributions in his first season and a half was simply taking the fear of being cut from the list off the backs of many on the list who were struggling under the yoke of Eade's slow, downward trajectory. It really took him the better part of a year to firmly imprint himself on the list. By comparison, Longmire didn't inherit a club struggling to find itself. But he did inherit a list chock full of young untried players who need time to develop. And that will be his biggest challenge.

I'm not even going to try and assess how well he's really doing until well into next season.

I dont think we play or understand wet weather footy we try to be to cute just kick the ****ing thing forward.

I recall some posters earlier in the year predicting a better result than what we achieved last year, i think thats unrealistic considering a fresh coach and losing our most influential player in Kirk if we can make finals it would be a good start under Longmire.

Yeah, my gut isn't giving me a great feeling about horse. Just seems a bit of a non-entity. He's just there, like furniture.

Also team selections are odd, and game-day decisions bemusing.

My gut doesn't give me great feelings about horse either.

It's very lean, extremely stringy which makes it very chewy and it sticks to the bone. only a handful of chefs world wide can get it right and I don't think any of them are in this country.

Clearly all the cooks on this board trying to give Horse a bake here are sending their dish off half cooked.

On the subject of vents,
I'm ****ing sick of the Swans culture. You go to the footy and get shunned for yelling at the game, the odd clap is acceptable. The facebook page is testament to the Swans 'un-diehard' like culture with lame status updates like; "There is something wonderfully Australian about the Qantas youth choir singing I still call Australia home. Gives me shivers." The amount of times I hear Swans 'fans' at the game say uneducated comments like; "Is that one Adam Goodes or is that Lewis Jetta?"
I'm not going to lie, if i was a professional AFL player, I wouldn't want to play for the Swans. Look at clubs like Collingwood and Essendon where spectators follow your progress with such passion and intent.

Anyone else feel my pain?

On the subject of vents,
I'm ****ing sick of the Swans culture. You go to the footy and get shunned for yelling at the game, the odd clap is acceptable. The facebook page is testament to the Swans 'un-diehard' like culture with lame status updates like; "There is something wonderfully Australian about the Qantas youth choir singing I still call Australia home. Gives me shivers." The amount of times I hear Swans 'fans' at the game say uneducated comments like; "Is that one Adam Goodes or is that Lewis Jetta?"
I'm not going to lie, if i was a professional AFL player, I wouldn't want to play for the Swans. Look at clubs like Collingwood and Essendon where spectators follow your progress with such passion and intent.

Anyone else feel my pain?

dunno mate at least you get to see the games live regularly.

surely beats watching on the telly

My gut doesn't give me great feelings about horse either.

It's very lean, extremely stringy which makes it very chewy and it sticks to the bone. only a handful of chefs world wide can get it right and I don't think any of them are in this country.

Clearly all the cooks on this board trying to give Horse a bake here are sending their dish off half cooked.

I appreciate that 5 games is far too early to actually make a reasonable judgement about the guy. I'm just saying my initial feeling is that he might not have the coaching X-factor. Same as someone saying 10 minutes into the 1st quarter "I reckon we'll lose this one." Plenty of time to be proven wrong, and I hope I am.