John Meesen

The problem is that it was widely reported last year that meeson wanted to go home to victoria, the go home factor does affect trades as much as teams would like it didnt. With that being said, id have no problems offloading a 2nd round pick for Meeson, he has to be a better option than Richards or Bryan

Yeh swap a young key forward for a useless dud ruckmen. Makes sence with our mighty forward power.

We have two dud ruckmen on the list as it is.

Yeh swap a young key forward for a useless dud ruckmen. Makes sence with our mighty forward power.

We have two dud ruckmen on the list as it is.

Just because he hasn't played a game, doesn't mean he's a dud! Hamish McIntosh didn't play a game for ages and now he is being touted for AA selection.

Depends on how much a club wants a player! Look at Barry Brooks:

Drafted @ Pick 15 in 2001 by Port
Didn't play a game
Traded end 2002 for Pick 7 and 31 to St Kilda
Barry Brooks was essentially 'on-traded', with St Kilda's 2001 opinion dictating their riddiculously high (on paper) price.

They were of the opinion that he would be a top 5 pick in 2002. Definitely the worst draft in recent history, but it was still over the odds and based upon their 2001 draft assessment which proved to be incorrect, because he is a dud!

Just think, the Aints may have tossed up between drafting him at Pick 13 and Nick Dal Santo.

I would rather set my sights on someone like Jamie Charmen who has already indicated a move to melbourne next year is imminent.He is the big bodied ,experienced ruck option we need top play alongside josh and he can play up forward.If he is available we must go for him.
Where has Charman indicated that at all? You're not going by a Andrew Hamilton article by any chance are you? Charman has never said, or even hinted he wants to go to Melbourne.

Jamie is our number 1 ruck and in our top 5 players. Think of your top 5 players and that's the sort of trade you would have to consider. He is also 25 and playing the most important position on the ground.

This is not even considering what Charman has actually said himself:

1. June 24: "I love the team, I love the boys, I'd do anything for them," Charman said.

"I love Brisbane (and) my family's here but I want to wait until the end of the season to have those talks. I want to concentrate on footy without this hanging over my head."

2. July 11: "I love the team, I love the boys and I've got my life set up here," Charman said.

"I just wanted to wait until the end of the season to do the contract for no other reason bar that I don't want that sort of stuff hanging around while I'm trying to finish off the season."

"But I love Brisbane, I love the Lions and I love this team. I'd love to stay.
"My life is set up here, my business is set up here. I'm looking to stay."

"He's going to be a fantastic player for the club," Charman said of Leuenberger.
"I look forward to playing alongside him for the rest of my career."

He also praised Nick Riewoldt's loyalty yesterday.

Charman is not going anywhere.

This year is not suppose to be a strong draft year. In a way clubs may be better trading for a ruckman they know has had 3 years of good development, who might just have had the wrong attitude at another club. A player like Meesen could help win a club a premiership, a pencil thin 18 year old ruckman won't!
As far as rucks go, this actually is a strong draft. About three in the top 20 (Kreuzer, McEvoy, Bellchambers) and another three or four at least to go mid Round 2 onwards, plus there is plenty of raw talent that will get a rookie list shot.

There were 2 articles, one in the Age and another on Fox Sports about one month ago,that specifically noted that Charman would be heading to melbourne,why because he wants to move his business here to melbourne,and has achieved everything he wanted with Brisbane.
Also the fact that even though he is the number 1 ruck at the moment only,Brisbane want to bring in leuemberger next year,they've got wood and macdonald.
Charmen said that his opportunites may not be that easy at brisbane especially since he injured himself.So a move to melbourne made sense.
If he does come to melbourne collingwood should go hell for leather to get him.

There were 2 articles, one in the Age and another on Fox Sports about one month ago,that specifically noted that Charman would be heading to melbourne,why because he wants to move his business here to melbourne,and has achieved everything he wanted with Brisbane.
Also the fact that even though he is the number 1 ruck at the moment only,Brisbane want to bring in leuemberger next year,they've got wood and macdonald.
Charmen said that his opportunites may not be that easy at brisbane especially since he injured himself.So a move to melbourne made sense.
If he does come to melbourne collingwood should go hell for leather to get him.
What a load of rot.

Can you find those articles with quotes from Charman? Those quotes I posted are actually from Jamie Charman, and not a journalist with a chip on his shoulder over the Lions.

And when did he injure himself? Last year?

A player like Meesen could help win a club a premiership, a pencil thin 18 year old ruckman won't!
Haha, you're suggesting that a player that has never played a game could help a club win a premiership.

... and people thought our comments on Martin Clarke were ridiculous. :rolleyes:

As far as rucks go, this actually is a strong draft. About three in the top 20 (Kreuzer, McEvoy, Bellchambers) and another three or four at least to go mid Round 2 onwards, plus there is plenty of raw talent that will get a rookie list shot.
That's true. In addition to the likely first rounders that you've mentioned, there's Connelly, Simpson, Mulligan, Lobbe, Hill, Phoenix, and many others. As far as being a weak draft goes, it doesn't apply to potential ruck options. That said, they still won't likely have an impact in their first season.

Haha, you're suggesting that a player that has never played a game could help a club win a premiership.

... and people thought our comments on Martin Clarke were ridiculous. :rolleyes:

Yep I am!!

Once he gets his body 100% he'll be able to fufil his potential!! Only just turned 21, but now has the body to be able to stand the battering of a AFL ruck position. Doesn't matter how good they are 18 year olds don't have the body to ruck for a whole year.

There are heaps of players who don't start to show much until they are 21+. Any 200cm+ player who is over 95kg and is quick is worth having on your list.

Before this year Laycock from Essendon had only played 5 matches and not shown much. Has had an extra 2 years development than Meesen, and is now a key contributor on match day for the Bombers.

Then Rusling has the potential to kick 100 goals in a season.

Maybe not 100!! Is however, a bit short to be a power forward, although he does have speed!

The sort of player you wouldn't like to see leave you club unless you were getting something good back in return.

Was pretty good here in Adelaide when he was playing at Westminster, one of those hidden footballers, caught up in the college system. If he wasn't snapped up straight out of school by Collingwood, he would have had a pretty decent year for Westies and been drafted much higher than 23.

Charman is no chance of leaving Brisbane.

Regarding the father son rules regarding bidding from other clubs.

As far as I undertand it, the trade period is a long time befoe the draft. If you trade away your first round pick and second round pick in trade week, then another club bids with their first round pick for your f/s prospect, you are then obligated to pick him up with your closest pick. If you have traded away your 1st and 2nd round picks then you can grab him with your 3rd round pick.

This creates a massive loophole in the system, and one that I think will be closed either next year or when someone grabs a top prospect with their 3rd round pick after trading away their 1st round pick for an opposition player because they knew they'd have to use it to grab the f/s prospect. Which effectively makes it even more advantageous than the old rules.

Are there any articles worth reading on the upcoming draft crop? If so can people post up links please.

Charman won't leave Brisbane so I think we can cross that one off the list. Brisbane won't be letting him go and if they were to shop a ruckman around then it will primarily be Macdonald and possibly Woods if theres absolutely no interest.

I have no idea about Adelaide's position on Meeson so I don't know if he's a genuine possibility.

That loophole is nuts if its true, but surely the other clubs would recognize this and play hardball and demand much more for what they would otherwise. Or they would just outright refuse to take offers of 1st and 2nd round picks from the club in question. It will be interesting to see how this system goes.

There's no reason for other clubs to play hardball...if both teams (involved in the trade) stand to benefit, whilst the other teams in the league stand still, the teams will trade. I'm not sure if it's really going to be exposed this year (does anyone know if there's any Hawkins-type guys in this draft?)...but I will be interested to see if the next club to have an elite father-son recognizes this loophole.

Charman is no chance of leaving Brisbane.

Regarding the father son rules regarding bidding from other clubs.

As far as I undertand it, the trade period is a long time befoe the draft. If you trade away your first round pick and second round pick in trade week, then another club bids with their first round pick for your f/s prospect, you are then obligated to pick him up with your closest pick. If you have traded away your 1st and 2nd round picks then you can grab him with your 3rd round pick.

I don't believe that to be true. Essendon tried it the other year after receiving a 3rd round pick during trade week. As it was a later pick than there own 3rd round pick they were trying to use the later 3rd round pick on the father son selection. Under the old rule if you traded away your 3rd round pick then you would have to use your 2nd round pick or miss out on the father son selection.

Darren Jolly was also traded to Sydney for Pick 15 as Sydney needed a ruckman who was ready to play, not needing 3 years development.

FWIW, there is a bit of talk that his missus could be wanting them to move back to Melbourne soon.

Talk on the Adelaide board is that Meesen's manager was recently interviewed on radio, and that all current indications are that Meesen will indeed leave the AFC at the end of the season.

Let's hope that Richmond get's the #1 pick, because they'll use it on Kreuzer, and Meesen will not be as high on the radar. Carlton already have Ackland, O'hAilpin, Hampson, Jacobs and McLaren on their list. St. Kilda have Clarke, Rix and more importantly Gardiner on theirs. I reckon it would be between us and the Bulldogs.

Talk on the Adelaide board is that Meesen's manager was recently interviewed on radio, and that all current indications are that Meesen will indeed leave the AFC at the end of the season.

Let's hope that Richmond get's the #1 pick, because they'll use it on Kreuzer, and Meesen will not be as high on the radar. Carlton already have Ackland, O'hAilpin, Hampson, Jacobs and McLaren on their list. St. Kilda have Clarke, Rix and more importantly Gardiner on theirs. I reckon it would be between us and the Bulldogs.

Bulldogs have skipper who is starting to play orrright tonight on on the couch eade expressed his faith in will minson so i think we would be willing to offer more then the doggs. Richmond have Simmonds and possibly knobel (a hack but decent tap work) That said decent mobile rucks are invaluable and carlton doggies and everyone who doesnt have a star ruck will be in the market.