Johnstone, Ottens, Croad

Originally posted by Zombie

You call it bias, on the normal board it is how it is.

You say Cousins is better than Buckley and Haselby is better than McLeod but out in the real boards you get laughed out of town.

But you sit there with your mate Sabre tugging each other if it makes you feel better he'll agree with you that Medhurst is a better player than Riewoldt.

If only every team had all these great players that Freo do they could be as good as Freo aswell :rolleyes:
Please, please don't associate Cousins with the Dockers board.

Oh, BTW, based on the past two years Cousins is better than Buckley;) (in personal performance)

Unfortunately for us, Buckley is the one who has lead his team to a GF:(

Originally posted by larrikin

Please, please don't associate Cousins with the Dockers board.

Oh, BTW, based on the past two years Cousins is better than Buckley;) (in personal performance)

Unfortunately for us, Buckley is the one who has lead his team to a GF:(

No he's not, Buckley is still a top 5 player, Cousins isn't a top 10 player. Cousins lacks the ability to tear opposition to pieces like Buckley has, he picks up a load of possessions but so what?

Cousins regularly tears the opposition to pieces. Did you see the round 22 WCE v NM game?

Cousins has been in the top 5 in all media awards for the last two years. Where has Buckley been?

Or do you live by those pre-season lists from the Melbourne media?

You call it bias, on the normal board it is how it is.

You say Cousins is better than Buckley and Haselby is better than McLeod but out in the real boards you get laughed out of town.

But you sit there with your mate Sabre tugging each other if it makes you feel better he'll agree with you that Medhurst is a better player than Riewoldt.

If only every team had all these great players that Freo do they could be as good as Freo aswell :rolleyes:

You are such a tool Zombie.

No one said Hasleby was better than McLeod. You were comparing Simon Black to McLeod and someone pointed out that Simon had a better season than him.

If anyone goes and reads your posts on the Freo boards, they will also realise how biased you actually are, and how you little you actually know about anything.

Better yet, I'll post it here

Posted by Zombiie
Simon Black vs A.McLeod, McLeod easily
Paul Hasleby vs G.Wanganeen, Wanganeen easily
Ben Cousins vs N.Buckley, Buckley easily
Daniel Kerr vs B.Pickett, Pickett easily
Luke McPharlin vs W.Tredrea, Tredrea easily
Daniel Chick vs C.Bradley, Bradley easily
Jonathon Hay vs D.Wakelin, Wakelin
Matthew Carr vs P.Burgoyne, Burgoyne easily
Josh Carr vs S.Burgoyne, Burgoyne slightly
Shane Woewodin vs C.C-Collins, Woewodin slightly
Tarkyn Lockyer vs D.Mead, Mead easily

You win 1 position, how the hell do you suppose that your team is better????

End Quote

So who is biased now?

Originally posted by CowboyFromHell

Don't reply to threads with crap like that Sabre. We weren't even talking about beer gut boy until you decide to bring him into it.

And anyway, Johnstone is a better player.

I'm not saying Hasleby is better than Johnstone but he has done as much as Johnstone in his career, if not more, and has been playing less years. And beer gut boy? You tell Sabre not to post irrelevent things yet you go post such crap.

Johnstone has been great this no doubt, we will see how he goes next year before picking him ahead of Ottens and Croad.

Originally posted by Kenny_01

I would've thought
Simon Black vs A.McLeod, Pretty Even
Paul Hasleby vs G.Wanganeen, Different types of players - probably even in their value to their sides
Ben Cousins vs N.Buckley, Two superstars - on record Buckley but on form of the past two years Cousins has been a bit better
Daniel Kerr vs B.Pickett, Kerr by miles
Daniel Chick vs C.Bradley, Bradley's retiring - Chick
Jonathon Hay vs D.Wakelin, Hay by streets
Josh Carr vs S.Burgoyne, Carr
Tarkyn Lockyer vs D.Mead, Different players, but if I had to pick one of them it wouldn't be Mead

I'd take Ottens, hasnt had the best of years but he is still a huge talent and could really help out WC, being a tall marking option up forward. Johnstone though would certainly compliment Judd, Cousins and Kerr in the midfield. Croad a distant last.

Troll....Cousins regularly tears teams apart. Buckley has being a great player in a side that has lost and lost and lost some more. What happens when there finally successful?? He has a bad year? Take from that what you will. But im happy we have Cousins and Collingwood can keep Bucks.

Originally posted by jod23
I'd take Ottens, hasnt had the best of years but he is still a huge talent and could really help out WC, being a tall marking option up forward. Johnstone though would certainly compliment Judd, Cousins and Kerr in the midfield. Croad a distant last.
Johnstone would fit in just nicely in WCE's midfield. Pacy, good foot skills and a good decision maker. The only thing that worries me there is he is another receiver of the ball (along with Judd, Cousins and Chambers). We would be leaving a lot of work for Kerr.

Still, it's all in fantasy land so I guess it doesn't matter.:p

Originally posted by Kenny_01

You are such a tool Zombie.

Better yet, I'll post it here

Posted by Zombiie
Luke McPharlin vs W.Tredrea, Tredrea easily
Matthew Carr vs P.Burgoyne, Burgoyne easily
Shane Woewodin vs C.C-Collins, Woewodin slightly

You win 1 position, how the hell do you suppose that your team is better????

End Quote

So who is biased now?

This is a shocker....

Black v McLeod - Mcleod just but Black quickly pulling even.
Haselby v Wanganeen - I'd take Hase because he is younger but Wanga over his career has been better although Hase's career is just getting going.
Cuz v Buckley - pretty even but of recent Cousins has been better.
Kerr v Pickett - easiest of the lot, Kerr by a street.
McPharlin v Tredrea - Tredrea by a street.
Chick v Bradley - over there careers Bradley has been better but i would take Chick cos he will still be playing footy next year.
Hay v Wakelin - Hay.
Matty Carr v P.Burgoyne - pretty even...maybe lean towards Carr.
Josh Carr v S.Burgoyne - Burger cos he looks the goods.
Woewodin v CC Collins - Woey just.
Lockyer v Mead - Lockyer easily.

So out of that 11 I agree with just 4.....

Johnstone would fit in just nicely in WCE's midfield. Pacy, good foot skills and a good decision maker. The only thing that worries me there is he is another receiver of the ball (along with Judd, Cousins and Chambers). We would be leaving a lot of work for Kerr.

Well if its Fantasy Land, I guess you could just go out and trade a 4th rd pick for Ratten....and no more overtime for Kerr ;)

Originally posted by King Crow

Well if its Fantasy Land, I guess you could just go out and trade a 4th rd pick for Ratten....and no more overtime for Kerr ;)
Get Carlton to throw in Kouta and it's a deal!!!!!!:D :D

If you look at the stats you would be surprised as too how many hard ball gets Cousins actually gets ... but yes, primarily he is a reciever so we probably dont need Johnstone that much. Brauny and Banners arent afraid to get there hands dirty though so Kerr doesnt have to do all the hard work.

This is a shocker....

Black v McLeod - Mcleod just but Black quickly pulling even.
Haselby v Wanganeen - I'd take Hase because he is younger but Wanga over his career has been better although Hase's career is just getting going.
Cuz v Buckley - pretty even but of recent Cousins has been better.
Kerr v Pickett - easiest of the lot, Kerr by a street.
McPharlin v Tredrea - Tredrea by a street.
Chick v Bradley - over there careers Bradley has been better but i would take Chick cos he will still be playing footy next year.
Hay v Wakelin - Hay.
Matty Carr v P.Burgoyne - pretty even...maybe lean towards Carr.
Josh Carr v S.Burgoyne - Burger cos he looks the goods.
Woewodin v CC Collins - Woey just.
Lockyer v Mead - Lockyer easily.

So out of that 11 I agree with just 4.....

This is who I would pick for my club.

Black v McLeod - Even
Haselby v Wanganeen - Haselby
Cuz v Buckley - Even
Kerr v Pickett - Kerr by a street.
McPharlin v Tredrea - Tredrea, not by a street though.
Chick v Bradley - Chick
Hay v Wakelin - Hay.
Matty Carr v P.Burgoyne - Burgoyne, just.
Josh Carr v S.Burgoyne - Carr
Woewodin v CC Collins - Woewodin by a street
Lockyer v Mead - Lockyer

If you look at the stats you would be surprised as too how many hard ball gets Cousins actually gets ... but yes, primarily he is a reciever so we probably dont need Johnstone that much. Brauny and Banners arent afraid to get there hands dirty though so Kerr doesnt have to do all the hard work.
I was discounting Banfield (age restrictions) and Brauny does do a bit of both, but we are lacking the Tony Evans/ Don Pyke/ Dwayne Lamb types we had in the early 90's. Mind you, Wooden and Jones don't mind the hard work, so maybe those two could be worked on.

Yeah i though we missed Jones this season as he was always willing to get in there and get it himself. Jones and Kerr though are the only guys that do it as a priority though. Braun, Banners and Cuz do get the hardball but not with regularity which is why Chick would be a nice addition.

The more I look it at it the more I see Chick as a priority (not for Gardiner of course). He would help us in so many areas.

I agree...our midfield has pace, endurance, talent but lacks a bit of hardness. Chick would be ideal, obviously not for Gardy or Cox but if we can get him i would be pretty happy. He is also more than handy as a half forward or even one out of the goal square.

I think he provides that option up forward that Peter Matera did in the mid 90's - ie if the FF ain't firing, try him there. His hardness would be invaluable to the club. I reckon we'll get him, I would be suprised if the club hasn't already talked contracts with him.

Deals between football clubs aren't done in the media