Johnstone

No to Brad Green. He has shown a lot this year and his accurate left foot is still handy. He's improved his hardness out of sight and is one of our best leaders on the ground.

I'd definately be up to trading White as long as we get Hudson!

Hudson is not only a rather poor footballer but, from what he is doing to the Crows, a rather average person. We don't need him at Melbourne.

If we off load White then I say we should chase someone like John Meesen or Cameron Wood.

I probably should have read the Melbourne board before making a thread on this!

but.... Just on 'Before the Bounce' Rodney Eade suggested a rumoured interest from Fremantle in Johnstone. Want anyone for him?

We will take Pav but only if you give us M. Johnson also.

When you grow up you might learn the meaning of sarcasm, and its also not a good idea that your first ever post was to have a go at a favourite player with terrible spelling and grammar.

i was actually joking so......

but anyway, if u do trade him i reckon you would get a pick from about 10-18 for him

what a load of bullshit. 10-18 for a genuine talent.

but he is 27 coming on 28 next year, is he not?

wouldnt be worth a first rounder.
Thats not to say he isnt a good player, but i think he is just on the wrong side of his age to get a good price.

It depends on what path your club is taking. Are you going to go through a heavy rebuild, and bottom out next year? Or are you going to have a serious dip at the finals? Personally, if I was the Melbourne coach, I would be going for a Hawthorn type rebuild. This would mean trading off a few players in order to assemble enough draft picks to gain young talent.

Travis Johnstone- Would be aiming for a first round pick. If not offered no deal, however, offered a Pick 8-14 would accept it. Hawthorn or West Coast (Judless) may have a go.

Jeff White, Brad Green, or Russell Robertson would also be potential trade bait with the position your in IMO.

Some good points in the DJ.

Personally, I don't think the club requires a total rebuild ala Hawthorn. We already have a strong group of young players, so I think that if we can add a few more young guns, coupled with some experienced players, we will be a good shot in maybe 2-3 years.

He's coming into his footballing prime/peak at 27/28. Would be silly to let him go as he's proved he's a quality player that's a real matchwinner. Something we certainly do lack

Is 27/28 still the prime though? I know it was 4 or 5 years ago, but it seems guys are hitting thier peak 23-25 nowadays

He may be our most talented player and he still racks up 25 touches while being lazy but in all honesty he has been an overall dissapointment.

A number one draft pick that has had an easy ride at the footy club. It seems everyone loves him on the melbourne board and that we cant trade him because of the unknown factor.

I would like to hear any views from opposing supporters?
There is a thread on the hawkheadquarters board about TJ and people are pretty 50/50 about him. I wouldn't mind him because I think a change of environment and perspective might do him good, plus he'd compliment our inside players.

I think the problem with Melbourne over the years as been your number of players like Johnstone, Green, Yze who tend to go missing (IMO) when its goes against them. Sure they look great when you're on, and they can do some serious damage when all firing at the same time, but you can't carry too many of those on your list.

I'd be rebuilding around Moloney, McLean, Jones types to get some backbone into the side, and maybe trade off one of the outside guys for a first rounder.

Johnstone probably has the most value so he'd probably be the one I traded.

Just my opinion though.

Johno is worth keepin he skills are among the best in the afl his vision is unbelievable he spots targets i cant even spot sitting up in the stands.

Brad green is worth keepin as longs as the coach plays him on the wing and he can do damge with his skills foward of centre not gettin heaps of cheap kicks out of the back line al la Joel Bowden

With Hawthorn losing Smith, Dixon and Vandenberg in one year, I reckon we'll be dead keen to add a player around the 26-28 age group, especially into the midfield. Personally doubt we'd want to offer a first round draft pick due to our recruiting model, but there might be some 3-way trading to be done.

What are the real chances of him leaving?

With Hawthorn losing Smith, Dixon and Vandenberg in one year, I reckon we'll be dead keen to add a player around the 26-28 age group, especially into the midfield. Personally doubt we'd want to offer a first round draft pick due to our recruiting model, but there might be some 3-way trading to be done.

What are the real chances of him leaving?

No idea but we wouldn't trade him if we didn't get a first rounder.