Jonathan O'Rourke

• Thread starter Thread starter Hawkflag

Some guys bodies just don't cope and players need 3 solid pre-seasons to get right aerobically and mentally. I've been a fan of JOR's and he has the talent, but I just don't see him making it now with his body the way it is.
Yep - you'd think if he got another serious hammy he's goneski

Here's hoping for an awesome preseason and him firing next year.

A 25 year old fringe player for Richmond who is already slow.

Yup, the Richmond that is likely to make a GF... Miles would be a walk up start every day of the week in our side, and speed hasn't exactly hampered 2 legendary Mitchells that have donned our jumper. FWIW - I also think Miles offers more at the elite level than Lovell could.

Let's grab Mitch Hallahan back while we're at it because he was a fringe player in a premiership side.

Do you really want to compare Miles and Hallahans stats at AFL level? I can dig your hole if you like because you've got NFI what you're on about.

... Miles would be a walk up start every day of the week in our side, and speed hasn't exactly hampered 2 legendary Mitchells that have donned our jumper. FWIW - I also think Miles offers more at the elite level than Lovell could.

Miles is a good clearance player but his kicking is not flash. I reckon Cousins is a better prospect. Not sure Miles and Lovell are like for like. If Lovell does not have electric speed and agility he has no hope.

If you want thirty tough touches a game and dont care about disposal, chuck Sheila or Langers on the ball.

Miles is a good clearance player but his kicking is not flash. I reckon Cousins is a better prospect. Not sure Miles and Lovell are like for like. If Lovell does not have electric speed and agility he has no hope.

If you want thirty tough touches a game and dont care about disposal, chuck Sheila or Langers on the ball.

Neither of those 2 are capable of 25 touches a game regularly let alone 30, I also think Miles is much better by foot than Langers. I'm not saying we should pursue him but I don't think he is a bad option to consider, he has always performed at the elite level.

Do you really want to compare Miles and Hallahans stats at AFL level? I can dig your hole if you like because you've got NFI what you're on about.

Seeing as you struggle with hyperbole, let me explain.

Miles is not a good pick up simply because he's attainable, picking up a journeyman 25 year old robs younger kids of development opportunity and clogs up the list. How about we develop the promising young talent we have on our list instead of picking up a midway player from the fringes of another club, no matter how successful they are on the year.

Neither of those 2 are capable of 25 touches a game regularly let alone 30, I also think Miles is much better by foot than Langers. I'm not saying we should pursue him but I don't think he is a bad option to consider, he has always performed at the elite level.

Lovell isn't capable of 25 touches a game regularly? The kid probably averages mid 30s across his career.

Although not an AFL level.

Think Miles has shown a fair bit at AFL level

Lovell spent the majority of this year injured, played 3 VFL games and collected:

1 - 21 from less than 60% TOG
2 - 34 from a full game
3 - 10 from a fraction more than a quarter\

He's only 2 years into his career, 2 years into Miles' career and he was delisted.

Lovell isn't capable of 25 touches a game regularly? The kid probably averages mid 30s across his career.

So what, Jimmy Toumpas was an elite ball winner as a junior and at state league footy and he is useless at the elite level. I'm not putting a line through Lovell at all, but your comments that Miles is washed up and getting old is bloody comedic. At 25 he is just about to hit his peak, he is a good inside footballer, outside of Tom and Jags he would be our 3rd choice.

List clogger? Mate, Ricky Henderson had less going for him before coming to us and he has been an astute pick up.

We have some glaring weaknesses, we are also in a terrible position from a draft stand point, signing a guy like Miles is worth considering.

That call is going to bite you.

The common theme that seems to separate dominant state league level players from making it in the AFL is speed. Not "foot speed" aka 'pace', but their reaction time and by extension the ability to make the right decision and execute cleanly in a timely fashion.

It's a major part of the reason why Sam Mitchell is going to be remembered as an AFL legend while someone like Mitch Hallahan won't be remembered. (from an AFL perspective)

O'Rourke has all the talent and athletic traits to make it in the AFL. But outside of his hamstring issues I'm not sure he's got that speed of mind. Hopefully proves me wrong, but I think time is running out for him at Hawthorn.

The common theme that seems to separate dominant state league level players from making it in the AFL is speed. Not "foot speed" aka 'pace', but their reaction time and by extension the ability to make the right decision and execute cleanly in a timely fashion.

It's a major part of the reason why Sam Mitchell is going to be remembered as an AFL legend while someone like Mitch Hallahan won't be remembered. (from an AFL perspective)

O'Rourke has all the talent and athletic traits to make it in the AFL. But outside of his hamstring issues I'm not sure he's got that speed of mind. Hopefully proves me wrong, but I think time is running out for him at Hawthorn.

Yup agree, it's something that Langers struggles with to

So what, Jimmy Toumpas was an elite ball winner as a junior and at state league footy and he is useless at the elite level. I'm not putting a line through Lovell at all, but your comments that Miles is washed up and getting old is bloody comedic. At 25 he is just about to hit his peak, he is a good inside footballer, outside of Tom and Jags he would be our 3rd choice.

List clogger? Mate, Ricky Henderson had less going for him before coming to us and he has been an astute pick up.

We have some glaring weaknesses, we are also in a terrible position from a draft stand point, signing a guy like Miles is worth considering.

Jimmy Toumpas was a ball carrier and more of an outside player and receiver. Lovell plays a different position and was the only draftee in recent memory to get close to Matt Crouch's 37 possession average in the underage comps, look at Crouch's achievements this year.

But anyway; misrepresentation, I didn't imply we shouldn't draft him because he's getting old. I implied we shouldn't draft him because he's slow and not going to get any faster. If we were concerned about our contested unit being an issue we would have picked up Grimes last year.

Ricky Henderson isn't a rule you want to go by. He was brought in as positional cover for losing Brad Hill and through a potential lack of trust in Billy and Dallas. If we look at Hawthorn, we have players for that position who are younger and may potentially have higher ceilings; and considering we know Miles and we know that he will never be a star, why would we bother with Miles?

Says who? You? Not every Hawthorn player is a star, in saying that I'd love to see become a quality contributor, we just haven't seen it at the elite level.

He's played two games at AFL level and less than 20 at VFL level! I understand this sort of comment for a player like Hartung because he's got games under his belt now, but doubting Lovell because he hasn't shown anything 'elite' in his two games at AFL level is baffling.

Yup, I'm hoping to see him play next year and take the clear opportunity that's in front of him.. I've said this before, imo he should be analysing Lachy Neale, mirror the way he plays and if he can get anywhere near his level we have a player.

Very similar body types and game styles (although Neale is obviously far more advanced)

He is still unsigned. He wants to stay at Hawthorn. Not sure what the club's plans are for him. Possibly testing the market or waiting to see how the salary cap looks after trade week. I'd have thought we keep him for another year.

I've heard today that he will be at the club next year, done deal. I believe we are only offering 1 year whilst he was pushing for more.
I think the players on one year deals are given one last attempt to improve and if not there will be a huge clean out at the end of next year for a couple of big FISH!