Jonathan O'Rourke

• Thread starter Thread starter Hawkflag

Given what we gave up for him he will get another contract. I think his biggest problem is trying to get the balance right between inside and outside. I think he needs to become one or the other. I have yet to see anything that shows he can be a run and carry player, but some of his hands in close gives me hope he can become a solid enough inside mid. I think he has the frame to put on some size. Pre draft he was pretty explosive but ongoing hammy troubles have definitely dented his confidence I think
I think he will end up like Lewis. Lewis was always good on the inside but playing HFF for a few years helped educate him to be deadly on the outside and now he is a complete player.

I hope that your are right Bris, let's remember that Lewie was pick 7 in 2004 and played 19 games in 2005, so he had the ability to impact games in his second year and never really looked back.

I would be very surprised if he didn't get another year.

Another preseason and year getting comfortable at afl level and there's a clear path to him being a pretty handy mid. See young and hasn't had a clear run at games but is currently just outside the 22. He's probably out best young midfield prospect (which doesn't say much)

If he doesn't deliver in 2017 then I think he'd be in trouble.

I was surprised teia got an extension but would think others such as willsmore, Spangher, webster etc would be more at risk.

Brissie man please don't compare JOR to Lewis. From his first game Lewis crashed his body in and impacted the game. He was overweight and just started so preseasons or not JOR should not be mentioned in the same sentence as a Hawk warrior. A player who has led the culture of going back when it's your turn and his character as a human is amazing ... I met him at a pub and can't be bothered explaining but he's a champion person too.

Lewis played a key role in a 2008 Premiership winning midfield at the same age JOR is now lol.

Brissie man please don't compare JOR to Lewis. From his first game Lewis crashed his body in and impacted the game. He was overweight and just started so preseasons or not JOR should not be mentioned in the same sentence as a Hawk warrior. A player who has led the culture of going back when it's your turn and his character as a human is amazing ... I met him at a pub and can't be bothered explaining but he's a champion person too.
Haha mate Lewis is on a whole other level to jor, no question. I meant him as a comparison for the roles jor will play, not the level he is at same stage or future stages of his career.

Lewis was a very good contested player at TAC level though wasn't he and an absolute ball magnet.

Has JOR ever shown he can be a 30 touches a game type?

I Thought He Would Be Taking Over Games By Now But He Isnt. He Needs To Start Earning His Own Footy And Racking Up More Touches. I Think He Will Become A Middle Tier Midfielder In Our Club And Will Struggle To Get A Game Next Year IMO

Seriously, I didn't bother reading this, I just saw the capitalization, and now I'm figuring out how to mute/block you.

Lewis was a very good contested player at TAC level though wasn't he and an absolute ball magnet.

Has JOR ever shown he can be a 30 touches a game type?
Averaged 23-24 in TAC. What made him stand out is that he combined inside ball winning (and clearances, pressure acts) with elite finishing by foot. One of the best kicks in his draft. I think he can average the same at AFL level. I think his outside numbers will get better as he adjusts to the pace and learns to time his runs.

Had 20 touches on the weekend and was serviceable from all reports, probably not enough to get him back in. Woody dominated.

Averaged 23-24 in TAC. What made him stand out is that he combined inside ball winning (and clearances, pressure acts) with elite finishing by foot. One of the best kicks in his draft. I think he can average the same at AFL level. I think his outside numbers will get better as he adjusts to the pace and learns to time his runs.

Hope he makes it. I like JOR.

I Thought He Would Be Taking Over Games By Now But He Isnt. He Needs To Start Earning His Own Footy And Racking Up More Touches. I Think He Will Become A Middle Tier Midfielder In Our Club And Will Struggle To Get A Game Next Year IMO

GOOD JOKE!

That's cool Axeman, ask yourself tho, as to why GWS would give him away for peanuts? he obviously was well behind the pecking order of their midfield and he wouldn't break into it as of now, in my view.
Because he had injury problems and couldn't get on the pitch...........

He has everything he needs to succeed but just doesnt look desperate, great in close but doesnt run hard enough. Hope he makes it

Hope he makes it. I like JOR.
Yeah me too. In some ways its unfortunate that we are going for a flag or else he would probably be getting more games and exposure. Its easier to come in as a flanker because you have the guys on the inside winning the ball for you but when you are an inside mid playing on the flank it would be difficult to adjust. Needs a big preseason so he hits next year with confidence his body can make it through full games at high intensity.

I think he'll come good, it's a slow burn but another pre season strengthening his body could work wonders.

I don't see any star qualities but I am holding out hope he can at least be a best 22 contributor. Can't say I am confident on that though.