Josh Caddy

Joel Caddy? Sounds like it's a done deal to us.

He is not far away from...

joecool.jpg

It was a question of what you guys can offer? A legitimate one. I just think of the three clubs the Saints and Cats have more, but I'm not so up to date with what you guys are willing to deal with etc...Thought Nth board would be the best place to ask.
I think we have a bit to offer the Gold Coast, and I'm sure we'll do that anyway. We also have some decent finance to offer Josh Caddy. But it's up to him. Or alternatively his manager. At the end of the day it's up to him.

I'd argue that at the end of the day it's up to the GC. But we come to the same conclusion. No-one will know until it's announced he's signed with his new club, or been sent into the draft.

Has it actually been confirmed Saints are in the mix. I thought it was North or Geelong?

I'm really surprised he would even considering St Kilda. Goddard and Cripps are both going/gone.
The midfield is aging and their stars Hayes and Riewoldt wouldn't have too many seasons left in their bodies.
I see them heading down the draft and rebuliding for the next 5 years.
And would have thought the trips to Seaford would be a negative when Arden St is close to home.
And whilst you have the higher pick(s), I'm not sure you have much too offer in terms of fringe players.

Has it actually been confirmed Saints are in the mix. I thought it was North or Geelong?

I'm really surprised he would even considering St Kilda. Goddard and Cripps are both going/gone.
The midfield is aging and their stars Hayes and Riewoldt wouldn't have too many seasons left in their bodies.
I see them heading down the draft and rebuliding for the next 5 years.
And would have thought the trips to Seaford would be a negative when Arden St is close to home.
And whilst you have the higher pick(s), I'm not sure you have much too offer in terms of fringe players.

On that front, apparently he's had two meetings with St Kilda - so 'in the mix'.

And grabbing a twenty year old isn't really grabbing someone in his last year of AFL...I would suspect that all three of those clubs will look at him as a 10+ year player, so there's basically no difference in grabbing someone out of the draft or grabbing Caddy...except the fact that the recruiters have had a chance to see him at AFL level.

Very true argument with Arden St. Same argument could be made for Geelong, really, being down the coast.

Not sure about what they're doing regarding fringe players, pure supporter speculation shows those like Raph Clarke, Farren Ray etc to be on the outer, and even some speculation there might be interest from GC in Raph Clarke - but I really don't give any credence to those rumours. It's extremely speculative either way basically.

On that front, apparently he's had two meetings with St Kilda - so 'in the mix'.

And grabbing a twenty year old isn't really grabbing someone in his last year of AFL...I would suspect that all three of those clubs will look at him as a 10+ year player, so there's basically no difference in grabbing someone out of the draft or grabbing Caddy...except the fact that the recruiters have had a chance to see him at AFL level.

Very true argument with Arden St. Same argument could be made for Geelong, really, being down the coast.

Not sure about what they're doing regarding fringe players, pure supporter speculation shows those like Raph Clarke, Farren Ray etc to be on the outer, and even some speculation there might be interest from GC in Raph Clarke - but I really don't give any credence to those rumours. It's extremely speculative either way basically.
In the mix? The famous saying. They're all "in the mix" :):eek:

I added this because it reminds me of The Club - GUTS!! :mad:

I find it very interesting that all the articles and radio talk has quotes from Geelong and StKilda talking up their chances and playing it all out in the press while at Aegis Park, not a peep.

Me like. I remain quietly confident that Caddy will be in our colours.

I just get the feeling that Geelong and StKilda are playing their cards now. Whether it works remains to be seen but it is interesting the difference in approach between North and the other two clubs.

Reckon they might be trying to flex some muscle? Scare the little guy out of the race?

Probably. But who knows, North may have ruled themselves out and not declared this to the media hounds. If, on the off chance that the St kilda and Carlton flogs that are inundating our board with their BS are correct, and there may be a betting race. We could force one of them to pay overs for caddy, and further diminish the possibility that they will have any success in the near future :p

Reckon they might be trying to flex some muscle? Scare the little guy out of the race?

I think there is a bit if that but I also get the impression that North have no need to posture in public about Caddy.

North is not "the little guy" - in the real world (away from BF) it's a highly professional outfit with a highly regarded coach and young players, the best medical support, an environment where players are valued and don't choose to leave, and room in the cap to keep its players happy. All of which is why it's an equal race between three clubs, with only the capacity and desire to make a winning bid to GC separating them.

Happy to have private discussions between North's footy people, Caddy's manager, GC and other clubs going on.

I think multiple meetings with a club would more indicate they are still trying to convince him, rather than they are more of a chance.

My gut is he wants Geelong or North, but St Kilda have the coin and the picks now so are trying to sway him.

North is not "the little guy" - in the real world (away from BF) it's a highly professional outfit with a highly regarded coach and young players, the best medical support, an environment where players are valued and don't choose to leave, and room in the cap to keep its players happy. All of which is why it's an equal race between three clubs, with only the capacity and desire to make a winning bid to GC separating them.

Happy to have private discussions between North's footy people, Caddy's manager, GC and other clubs going on.

I understand that. My comment was more to perception...and the standing clubs like geelong and st kilda believe they hold. Even with everything you're just said, fact is picking on NM is easy for other clubs, and it's our turn to flex our muscle, which I hope we do.

As a side, funny how every 6 hours someone from geelong or saints mention how they are "quietly confident"...perhaps we can drop an oxford down at HQ, cos not sure they understand the use of the word "quietly"

I find it very interesting that all the articles and radio talk has quotes from Geelong and StKilda talking up their chances and playing it all out in the press while at Aegis Park, not a peep.

Me like. I remain quietly confident that Caddy will be in our colours.

I just get the feeling that Geelong and StKilda are playing their cards now. Whether it works remains to be seen but it is interesting the difference in approach between North and the other two clubs.
Yep we are like the shy guy at the bar who is really into a chick which 2 other blokes are hitting on - but decide that the best plan of action is to sit back and wait until they screw up. Then we come back from the toilet and find she has left with both of them.
We end up waking up with the fat chick the next morning (who did look OK at the pub), trying to chew our arm off to get out.

I understand that. My comment was more to perception...and the standing clubs like geelong and st kilda believe they hold. Even with everything you're just said, fact is picking on NM is easy for other clubs, and it's our turn to flex our muscle, which I hope we do.

As a side, funny how every 6 hours someone from geelong or saints mention how they are "quietly confident"...perhaps we can drop an oxford down at HQ, cos not sure they understand the use of the word "quietly"
Why would St.Kilda hold that view? Good Lord. Geelong even. Short memories?

The clubs themselves probably don't.

There is a lot of postulating on the forums by people "in the know" who at best would know snippets of information combined with what they hear/read in the media and what other posters with as much insight as they have are posting.

Geelong are also interested in H, depending on how interested it may have an effect on a deal for Caddy. H is still contracted to North so there's a bit of bargaining power there.

The clubs themselves probably don't.

There is a lot of postulating on the forums by people "in the know" who at best would know snippets of information combined with what they hear/read in the media and what other posters with as much insight as they have are posting.
Yes I know, I was just joining in the "so called" conversation. :)