meto

Josh was a late draft selection, has been at the club about 3 years now so he's not a boy anymore and I guess this should enable him to make an impact this time round, that's if he can.
From what I know of him he's a tough kid from Ballarat, does anyone believe he has the desire and the natural skill set to become a senior player, because time must now be running out for him IMO.

He's due to resume in a fortnight so I'm wondering is it now or never for him?

Josh was a late draft selection, has been at the club about 3 years now so he's not a boy anymore and I guess this should enable him to make an impact this time round, that's if he can.
From what I know of him he's a tough kid from Ballarat, does anyone believe he has the desire and the natural skill set to become a senior player, because time must now be running out for him IMO.

I liked the few games he played in 2011 before the achilles. Obviously they are gonna give him the chance to prove himself when fit.
I seem to remember the wraps on him being pretty solid but in 2011 he needed to get bigger.

Not sure how much bigger he has gotten but if he gets chances this year im sure we will be impressed...
I have faith...

Go Catters

There were pretty big wraps on him after his first year performance from players and coach, then the injuries set in. This year is extremely important, he needs to show potential and improvement again to be retained you would think. I really like the look of him, has great attack on the ball even with a smaller body and hope he gets another few games at AFL level.

At U18 level he was known for his good decision making and excellent footskills. Poor kid hasn't had the opportunity to string more than a few games together so hard to know how much that has stymied his development. If he can't get on the park for much of the second half of the season and show some good signs then you would think it's curtains.

I think his best mate is Menzel, wouldn't be surprised they give him as much time as possible as the two of them would be able to lean on each during their rehabs and the faith already shown in Cowan suggests they rate him just as highly as Menz.

The minimal games I saw him in, he's certainly worth persisting with and am confident the club would feel the same way.

I think his best mate is Menzel, wouldn't be surprised they give him as much time as possible as the two of them would be able to lean on each during their rehabs and the faith already shown in Cowan suggests they rate him just as highly as Menz.

The minimal games I saw him in, he's certainly worth persisting with and am confident the club would feel the same way.

If he stays healthy for the rest of the year, and because he is Menz's best mate ( if the case) then perhaps he could get the delist re rookie option too. Might be good for Menz's mental state and our Rookie list to have him there if indeed

Also gives him more time to get fit and he' still with us. Probably better than a 1st year Rookie.?

Go Catters

I agree daz.
We did the same thing with another player not too long ago (can't remember who) and there was the risk of having another club come in and pinch him from underneath us but he's definitely got the goods to make it has Josh...just a matter of if he can overcome this Achilles setback.

Given that he debuted so early, there's a good chance that he's rated highly. I don't think it's now or never, he'll probably get 2014 as well as he'll need to recover from such a long hiatus from competitive footy.

I agree daz.
We did the same thing with another player not too long ago (can't remember who) and there was the risk of having another club come in and pinch him from underneath us but he's definitely got the goods to make it has Josh...just a matter of if he can overcome this Achilles setback.

From all the medical reports I can find he was having 2 steps forward and 3 steps back. Would get to 80% then get sore again as a complication from the achilles repair.

Went to London to see specialist and has not looked back since from what I gather. now that he is getting his fitness and confidence back its just time in the game and getting back into it.

You'd think that in any environment he'd get some senior games but here with the list situation it may just not happen. On that basis alone he should get another go next year with us in some capacity - it may just be Rookie is the only option.

Go Catters

Yeah he lives with and is best mates with Bundy

Scott seriously rates him, ha mentioned several times how they saw him being a key element and I think how good he will be... Scotty hasn't been wrong about much so far...

He needs to get back and show some potential , well remind everyone of his potential , just as I said Id recently of Burbs. I feel its a bit like Musical chairs , and if you are out to long , its like being standing when the music stops.
He has something to offer , or he wouldn't have got games previously but all things change , player come in and sometimes the spot you hoped for is now taken.

If he stays healthy for the rest of the year, and because he is Menz's best mate ( if the case) then perhaps he could get the delist re rookie option too. Might be good for Menz's mental state and our Rookie list to have him there if indeed

Also gives him more time to get fit and he' still with us. Probably better than a 1st year Rookie.?

Go Catters

That re-rookie idea is pretty smart I reckon,.... but if he's back older, stronger and the injury allows, then there's plenty of season left to show what he's got and maybe do a Burbury!....although midfield spots won't be earned easy!

Anyway... from our VFL observers, what sort of player is he? I've seen him described a few times as a 'typical wingman' - which I read as being pacey outside player with good disposal and attacking instinct. Is this anywhere near accurate?

That re-rookie idea is pretty smart I reckon,.... but if he's back older, stronger and the injury allows, then there's plenty of season left to show what he's got and maybe do a Burbury!....although midfield spots won't be earned easy!

The risk with is of course some of the other clubs coming in and picking them as a flyer....
But if its an injured playing with no press or scouting on them its probably fairly safe. Although if we keep getting press like Thurlow did our list is gonna get scoured over like a bag of chips at a seagull convention so the likelihood of making it back may drop considerably.

Go CAtters

Anyway... from our VFL observers, what sort of player is he? I've seen him described a few times as a 'typical wingman' - which I read as being pacey outside player with good disposal and attacking instinct. Is this anywhere near accurate?
Semi-accurate; he's not overtly quick and I'd suggest his footskills are a level below someone like Varcoe. But he's got elite endurance and is an absolutely thumping kick - that goal in his first game against Gold Coast where he kicked it 60+ off a step wasn't a fluke. He's also not what you'd call inside but he's tough and will go when it's his turn. Makes good decisions and knows how to find the footy. I really like him as a player and if he can get fit I'd expect him to play a senior game or two by the end of the season.

To be honest Iameviljez, I must say I respectfully disagree with this. Although i've only seen a little from him, he is an inside mid and is always the last getting up from packs, i.e, he gets down and dirty. He is not scared to throw himself around, thats for sure. I certainly think he can make it, I remember him killing it in the VFL in 2011.

He is a mid. Inside and linking . Not quick enough for outside duties but gut runs and makes good position.

Saw him live at Princes Park v Carlton (NAB practice game) (2010?) and he looked very good to me- especially his ability to get to the right places. His AFL appearances (TV viewing for me)weren't too bad either without setting the world on fire. Seems to have the awareness /decision making thing going IMO.

Restarts from a long way back now.

This my view - quoted from injury thread

A poor mans Leigh Tudor

So not bad at popping it to the hotspot on Prelim Final day then.
Class kick that one. lol

To be fair, Cowan needs to get a shot at it.
Purely from making it onto an AFL list you deserve some kind of crack at it.

I'm not overly sold on him but hope to be wrong..... am concerned that in typical fashion of this board he is a potential superstar

Hope he makes it, his disposal is the issue for me... and obviously how his body holds up.

I've mentioned disposal with a few players but the facts are in today's footy you can't carry a bloke that turns it over constantly... it's why I don't think Eardley was ever going to make it.

The coaches obviously rate Cowan so fingers crossed he repays the faith, there are a couple of blokes we have stuck with who have had rough years with injury but if they struggle again I'd say they will be gone so 2014 is a massive year