Josh Hunt

• Thread starter Thread starter BigBadCam

Not sure. I have criticised Hunt more than any other this year, but his form since his return has me thinking that he is ahead of DJ.

When Hunt is switched on and focuses on the basics, he is a good footballer. DJ has the heart and desire but I still have huge ????? on whether he can curb quality small forwards.

The proof is in the pudding with both players in and out of the side and replacing each other. I think they bring different things to the table and each have their own deficiencies.

Josh has by no means cemented his place. Though, more performances like today will ensure he does.

Josh never really deserved to be dropped this year, but is obviously out of favour ie, is getting no favours from the club... wouldn't be suprised if he leaves the club if he doesn't get games. He had a better game today than I can recall DJ having for many seasons. A handy defender with much more than one string to his bow.

One bloke who should be on the wire is Wojcinski. I don't think he has been too influential in recent weeks... usually has better games when we dominate more maybe? I don't think his running alone warrants a spot, needs to work harder and find more of the ball... Why? He rarely marks a post in the opposition forward line... should get more of the footy.

I reckon Nathan is a lot closer to the chop than Wojcinski. Monica has been terrific most of the year, he has been a little quiet the past couple of weeks, but his run out of defence has been superb this year. I think he needs to remember that in playing in defence that he is responsible for a man when he hasn't got the footy and hopefully he is reminded of that this week. Perhaps his mindset just needs to be slightly readjusted.

When Wojcinski's poor form is considered, I ask everyone to recall a period earlier this year when in two consecutive games Enright had less than ten touches. Some called for him to be dropped, but Bomber stuck by him, and look at the results. Some players have built up sufficient 'cred' to have a few quiet ones before they get put in the twos.

Why antagonise the moderator by calling Hunt by this childish name?

lol, who gives a toss mate!!!!!! if u r worrying about this sort of stuff u need 2 get a new life son! i might not like ur nickname because i think its childish, but at the end of the day.....its a nickname.....who cares!!!! are we not here to talk about other things?! or am i in the wrong place?!

When Wojcinski's poor form is considered, I ask everyone to recall a period earlier this year when in two consecutive games Enright had less than ten touches. Some called for him to be dropped, but Bomber stuck by him, and look at the results. Some players have built up sufficient 'cred' to have a few quiet ones before they get put in the twos.
And you can't have every player in your side get 20 touches every week. Game plans change for different sides, players are asked to do different jobs.

Thought Hunt was great once more, I can't remember the last time he played a poor game. Kept getting dropped when doing nothing wrong.

Ottens played a great game too I thought, one of his best at the club.

I know he has received a great deal of criticism in the lead up to today's game but today he played like a man on a mission. His crash and bash out of the backline was superb. Unlike many others in the team, his kicking was on the mark too. Always hit targets and got good distance. Some of his kick outs from full back were magic.

Nice way to answer his critics IMO.
10 kicks, 12 handballs, 6 marks, 1 tackle.

I'll put my hand up. I thought as recently as two weeks ago that David Johnson was a better - safer - bet than Hunt. After yesterday's game I'm not sure. I reckon that was the best game Hunt as played for a long, long time. Marked strongly, attacked the ball, and used it flawlessly.

Why antagonise the moderator by calling Hunt by this childish name?

lol, who gives a toss mate!!!!!! if u r worrying about this sort of stuff u need 2 get a new life son! i might not like ur nickname because i think its childish, but at the end of the day.....its a nickname.....who cares!!!! are we not here to talk about other things?! or am i in the wrong place?!
Try Bay 13!

will always be remembered as that bloke who ducked the head...you have all forgiven him pretty quickly

Tony Shaw as your captain in tears during 1990 after a match had to approach coach Leigh Mathews of all people and had to admit to him he 'pulled out' of a contest because he squibbed it. Now everyone knows Tony Shaw isnt a squib in fact he is the opposite. All this suggests is that EVERYONE has pulled out at some point in their career doing something...its called being human...its how you chose to learn from it that makes you the true person you are. That actually helped galvanise the 1990 group towards greater glory...thats part of your history you moron. Learn from your own.

As for Josh...played his best game for the season against the Roos. Lets hope he continues with it because in that sort of form ...and I stress keeping that level of form...he is a valuable asset come finals. Alot of his team mates have learnt to keep their form for long periods in 2007 and now it's time for Josh to keep up the good work also.

Just watched a replay, and it looks like Hunt was actually enjoying himself out there unlike earlier in the year. The evil grin is back. Big guys like that sometimes forget how big they are if you know what I mean. His problems were all mental.

Not sure. I have criticised Hunt more than any other this year, but his form since his return has me thinking that he is ahead of DJ.

When Hunt is switched on and focuses on the basics, he is a good footballer. DJ has the heart and desire but I still have huge ????? on whether he can curb quality small forwards.
Hunt got the nod over DJ against the Roos because the Roos have a really tall forward line and DJ was just too small for the defensive role last weekend.

Everyone is allowed to make mistakes. Hunt made his, got pummeled in the media and by supporters for it and has paid his dues. Now that he seems to be back to playing football, he and the rest of us can move on.

I didn't see the game on sunday, but from previous weeks i reckon DJ deserves a spot ahead of him. Did this performance totally turn that around?

Also, his trade value would be climbing. I think he will generate a fair bit of interest come trade week.

That may be true, but trading him would be a BIG mistake. I don't understand how Josh could be maligned most of this year. Since being dropped, the games he's played coming back have been quite commanding. I, for one, hope to see him play every final that we play.

he was maligned becaus ehe was struggling and he had an average 2006. He has been good since his return.

Yesterday was Hunt '04 as some have said. That Hunt gets a gig every week.

Must admit,have not been a fan of either Hunt or DJ but Hunt's game on Sunday was good.Did not hesitate when in possession and used the ball very well.
Will stay in the side,if he plays like that.:thumbsu: