Roast Josh Hunt

• Thread starter Thread starter catman 71

Those type of free kicks are suspect always because the Umpire interprets what he thinks that he has seen. Lonergan was pinged afew weeks ago for the same thing.
Not sure what players are supposed to do. It is a damned if you do and damned if you don't scenario, just apity this was so close to goal. It made it worse.
Lets look at other stange happening from Friday night eg why Bartel did not kick for goal, choosing instead to pass it off, when he is such a good kick.

If Enright had given away the 50 metre penalty i would have been dissappointed, but i wouldnt be any where near as upset as i am because Hunt did it -Reason -Josh Hunt has form at doing stupid Dumb things at critical points in tight matches

Two other matches spring to mind -there was a game against Port Adelaide-over in Adelaide -when Port Adelaide were on Top of the Ladder -and from memory we were in front with seconds to go and Josh Hunt mucked up a hand pass to Mooney -result Pt Adelaide goal -Pt Adelaide win

The other example was a game against Melbourne on a Friday night -we were well in front -Josh Hunt got the ball about 30 metres from goal as a direct result from a Moloney (an ex team mate) error-laughs at Moloney -thens goes back and misses a sitter -yeah good on you Josh -Result Melbourne get a spurt on and win the game .

I dont want to take anything away from Collingwood because they were in front all night and were down to one man on the bench -but Josh Hunt gifted them that Game . They were under ernormous pressure and Josh Hunt released the Pressure valve in an instant -it was like sticking a Pin into a Baloon

If Enright had given away the 50 metre penalty i would have been dissappointed, but i wouldnt be any where near as upset as i am because Hunt did it -Reason -Josh Hunt has form at doing stupid Dumb things at critical points in tight matches

Two other matches spring to mind -there was a game against Port Adelaide-over in Adelaide -when Port Adelaide were on Top of the Ladder -and from memory we were in front with seconds to go and Josh Hunt mucked up a hand pass to Mooney -result Pt Adelaide goal -Pt Adelaide win

The other example was a game against Melbourne on a Friday night -we were well in front -Josh Hunt got the ball about 30 metres from goal as a direct result from a Moloney (an ex team mate) error-laughs at Moloney -thens goes back and misses a sitter -yeah good on you Josh -Result Melbourne get a spurt on and win the game .

I dont want to take anything away from Collingwood because they were in front all night and were down to one man on the bench -but Josh Hunt gifted them that Game . They were under ernormous pressure and Josh Hunt released the Pressure valve in an instant -it was like sticking a Pin into a Baloon

Yep agree with this but he was pretty good throughout last year-fewer mistakes than previously and did a very good job in the GF.
And seriously what was he supposed to do-Fasolo was going to get the handball off to Pendlebury-what are his options? The game is so fast now and the penalty he received did not match his error given the speed and subtlety of the game now.

Lloyd & Crawford just roasted Hunt for not going in hard enough on the Sunday footy show, all but missed the last 10 seconds. Anyone else see it & report on what was said?

Matty Lloyd spoke about Matty Lloyd and how he tried something that didn't work and Sheeds questioned it, so he went and backed into a pack rather than have Sheedy question his commitment again. Trust me, it was all about Matty Lloyd takin about Matty Lloyd and when Matty Lloyd used to play footy. Would love to ask Brad Sewell if he thought Lloydy was a tough footy player. Trust me, you missed nothing. Oh and Crawf said if Hunt played for Hawthorn, Clarko would drop him. Didn't realize Crawf did comedy!

They wish he gets dropped because at his best ,he is lethal, and we are a better team with Josh in. Anything to destabilise us, these guys will try . They are not trying to assist our cause.

Spot on Veedubs. Crawf wants to see the hawks win a flag and knows they haven't beaten Geelong in 4 years. I reckon Essendon supporters would want to see Geelong miss out on the 8 too.

I must've been away that day :eek:

2011 QF against Hawthorn. Amazing game from Hunt.

Hunt always has the odd shocker and missed some huge tackles last night, but we still dominated the 2nd half and didn't convert our inside 50s.

they all want geelong out of the eight

hearing malthouse tell us how good scott is coaching north was so funny
and he followed it up with his other protege at melbourne

too many people in the media with agendas

Hunt seems to be the type over the years whose confidence can suffer.
When he is confident he is great value and he has contributed very solidly to the Cats including a couple of finals series and grand finals.
But he has also benefited a couple of times over the journey by being dropped, regaining touch and confidence, and then returning.

He played quite poorly in general and I think Scott will be sorely tempted to drop him. Particularly with Scarlett coming back.
The problem is, as has been widely pointed out, that Smedts looks like he needs to be dropped too.

If Hunt is injured as has been suggested then he should definitely be out.
Confidence players will not be confident if they are injured.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

No problem,

In:- Scarlett, Christensen
Out:- J. Hunt, Smedts

The super-embarrassing double-fisted uncontested spoil (his specialty) is enough to warrant a roast thread in and of itself.

I have never liked Hunt as a player and he does not really come across as an especially nice bloke. Never trust anyone that vain.

However, he was quite outstanding in the finals last year in the club's greatest ever triumph so bit harsh to turn on him now for costing us a home and away game in a season - and lets be honest with ourselves ( look away now David the Cat and Bobby)- when we have virtually no hope of achieving anything.

I really am baffled by vitriolic criticism of some of our premiership players. Some people will never be satisfied.

I have never liked Hunt as a player and he does not really come across as an especially nice bloke. Never trust anyone that vain.

However, he was quite outstanding in the finals last year in the club's greatest ever triumph so bit harsh to turn on him now for costing us a home and away game in a season - and lets be honest with ourselves ( look away now David the Cat and Bobby)- when we have virtually no hope of achieving anything.

I really am baffled by vitriolic criticism of some of our premiership players. Some people will never be satisfied.

LOL.........par for the course for you bullet.....I guess you'll be right sooner or later.

I recall you expressing similar sentiments last year. That went well for you :thumbsu:

We will achieve plenty this year.

However..I am with you 100% on the last sentence of your post.

I would try him up the ground.
His turnovers would not hurt as much.
He has a great penetrating kick and has some grunt.

His mould is now cast because of his history of dropping his head

Re the 50, if he does nothing and Fasolo gets the ball of he gets called stupid and sleepy.

Fasolo milked it and Josh bit. Reckon most of us would have done the same. Oh thats right most of us cant get off the couch. Arm chair critics all of us so back off.

Certainly not his best game but not worthy of the target vest he is wearing right now.

Lloyd can go #@$ himself. He bags Josh now because he can't get hit by him. His mouth would be firmly shut if he was still playing as Josh would kill him. As for the Josh squibbing thing. He probably didnt go as hard as needed. Neither has Chappy, Kel, Smithy, Boris, Mackie, Westy et al at times over this season.

And that doesnt count the under 50 gamers that have baulked at contested ball.

Point is spray them all or none of them - I hate the cherry picking of players to rag on. If it's a trend all the time, fair call. One instance or bad game and it's a pile on. We are not Richmond supporters, We are Geelong supporters. Act like it.

Go Catters.

and yes i need a nap!:D

Re the 50, if he does nothing and Fasolo gets the ball of he gets called stupid and sleepy.

Fasolo milked it and Josh bit. Reckon most of us would have done the same. Oh thats right most of us cant get off the couch. Arm chair critics all of us so back off.

Certainly not his best game but not worthy of the target vest he is wearing right now.

Lloyd can go #@$ himself. He bags Josh now because he can't get hit by him. His mouth would be firmly shut if he was still playing as Josh would kill him. As for the Josh squibbing thing. He probably didnt go as hard as needed. Neither has Chappy, Kel, Smithy, Boris, Mackie, Westy et al at times over this season.

And that doesnt count the under 50 gamers that have baulked at contested ball.

Point is spray them all or none of them - I hate the cherry picking of players to rag on. If it's a trend all the time, fair call. One instance or bad game and it's a pile on. We are not Richmond supporters, We are Geelong supporters. Act like it.

Go Catters.

and yes i need a nap!:D

totally agree with this, he was in a no win situation.

fact is we missed easy shots early on and should have been playing catch up anyway.

What pisses me off is that one error, albeit an ordinary one allows renowned Geelong haters Crawford and Lloyd to crawl out of the woodwork to take potshots. Crawford despises us and I hate the little creep getting any ammo.

As someone who wondered a few years back if I'd ever see the Cats win another flag I'd call myself very satisified, ecstatic actually, doesn't mean I can't/won't criticise players if it's called for, and in this case it is.

As for the Josh squibbing thing. He probably didnt go as hard as needed. Neither has Chappy, Kel, Smithy, Boris, Mackie, Westy et al at times over this season. .....................

Point is spray them all or none of them - I hate the cherry picking of players to rag on. If it's a trend all the time, fair call.

That's the whole point though, it is a trend with him, but not with the others you mentioned, therefore the criticism is completely warranted IMO.

That effort in the first? quarter was totally unacceptable, and far beyond what I've ever seen from any of the others you named.

Now cue the "how dare you say anything negative" brigade. ;)

Wouldn't be surprised if hunt gets rubbed out after the doggies game... With all of the attention he has copped I hope he doesn't do anything silly. He was poor on Friday night with dropped marks, missed tackles, lack of intensity but we need all our senior players available ATM as our depth is not what it once was!

What pisses me off is that one error, albeit an ordinary one allows renowned Geelong haters Crawford and Lloyd to crawl out of the woodwork to take potshots. Crawford despises us and I hate the little creep getting any ammo.

You mean the same Lloyd that told us just 2 weeks ago that Menzel was going home ?
Don't listen to that fudgewit.He's rotting away at ch9,the non-footy network, for a reason - ch7 and Fox Footy know he's a spud and wouldn't hire him.

As for Crawford,that *** always trolls Geelong.Wouldn't be suprised if he's a Hawforn poster on this site.He trolls like them.

I actually think Mick Malthouse was on the money with his opinion of the decision yesterday on Game Day. He was basically of the opinion that the 50 was there, no arguments. But rather than go strictly with the rules, adapt your call to the situation and the game. It's tight, it's late in the game and little calls can make a big difference. Yes, Josh Hunt was off but in a split second where the umpire, if he was going to call play on, wouldn't have even had a chance to lift his whistle. He then stated that if so, he should have stopped play, said "Come on Josh, give him space" and let Fasolo go back for his kick.

That's how I read the situation really..

I actually think Mick Malthouse was on the money with his opinion of the decision yesterday on Game Day. He was basically of the opinion that the 50 was there, no arguments. But rather than go strictly with the rules, adapt your call to the situation and the game. It's tight, it's late in the game and little calls can make a big difference. Yes, Josh Hunt was off but in a split second where the umpire, if he was going to call play on, wouldn't have even had a chance to lift his whistle. He then stated that if so, he should have stopped play, said "Come on Josh, give him space" and let Fasolo go back for his kick.

That's how I read the situation really..
The umpire had no choice but to award the 50 as Josh had grabbed Fasolo , hindsight is gold but the better technique would have been to use his chest in response to the push back and extend his arms outward - umpire would have allowed this and either called Josh back or called play on and he would have been in the perfect position to tackle......
No doubt Josh had a shocker with the double fist uncontested spoil , the dropped mark and woeful effort to tackle on the wing which cost a goal not helping his cause.
Putting on the Coaches hat for a moment at least there is plenty to work on !!

Well, the ump actually did have a choice. They make choices –interpretations – all the time. Technically it was there but there have been plenty of times this year when the controlling ump has seen fit not to apply 50m in similar circumstances. It's a huge penalty for a technical breach in a close game.

But as our coach said, from a players perspective, you just can’t risk that type of movement even though it’s often instinctive and minimal because the strict letter of the law says play on only occurs when the controlling ump calls it.

I'd go with the Coach on this one , you just can't take the risk.
The moment Josh grabbed him without the play on call it was always going to be 50. Totally agree it's a harsh penalty but that's another debate , however rules must be applied consistently - there is no interpretation required in this case , you can't grab before play on is called.