Eiffel 65

Sep 18, 2018
Gryffindor
Apparently the draft board has people that think Carlton can get Kelly.

Even more bizarre is that they entertain the idea that Kelly would choose Carlton

In the know posters haven't mentioned Kelly to Carlton.

I'm sure the media will link us with Kelly though. The phrase "to help out Paddy Cripps" will probably get bandied around a bit.

Apr 24, 2013
Arden Street Hill
Essendon Lawn Bowls Club
Even Nick Reiwaldts dad got involved last time, tweeting something about Kelly doesn’t want to play in Tassie.

Gloves off bitches.

He's bound to be a certified utensil head, going by Nick & Jack.

koshari

Mar 24, 2011
North Melbourne has plenty of talent.

The only thing that comment says is stay away from Josh Kelly.

I can guarantee you that if Kelly requests a trade to North Melbourne, they'll suddenly realise you have a couple of players they like.

The problem is the players they may propose as part of a trade may be deemed as untouchable to North supporters.

A trade for Kelly could be both a blessing and a curse.
The judd trade illistrated just how much ongoing collateral a big trade can cost. You certainly have to have your ducks lined up when you pull a trade like this. On could argue carlton along with gold coast/ablett didnt.

Oh we know.

The Jon Hay and Leigh Colbert trades are 2 reasons why we're entering a 20th straight season without a GF.

Apr 1, 2008
Liverpool, Raiders, GSW, QPR, NYM
Unfortunately for them they can’t rest easy, there’s a reason Josh only signed for two years on the chance to win a flag. The very next year gws have a garage sale, they give up Sheil, Scully, Lobb after promising a flag to blokes like Josh who stuck with them for less money!? Loyalty is out the window. GWS, or his management did not do the right thing by Josh.

Following on from Devon Smith and Nathan Wilson the year prior and to a lesser extent Matthew Kennedy.

They also offloaded Setterfield in this past offseason.

Jun 9, 2001
Fogarty Street
St Johnstone
So was Judd. Kelly is the Judd of now basically. I hope we've learnt from history.

Just a sidenote, Judd had a much higher public profile at the time of his trade. Josh Kelly would be largely unknown outside of AFL circles so wouldn't have much effect on our greater branding and marketing with his current profile.

Apr 1, 2008
Liverpool, Raiders, GSW, QPR, NYM
Just a sidenote, Judd had a much higher public profile at the time of his trade. Josh Kelly would be largely unknown outside of AFL circles so wouldn't have much effect on our greater branding and marketing with his current profile.

Yeah, it's fair to say he won't be the face of a business any time soon.

Jun 9, 2001
Fogarty Street
St Johnstone
Yeah, it's fair to say he won't be the face of a business any time soon.

Don't get me wrong though. He's hardcore North Melbourne. Loves our club so much. So much in fact he preferred not using up our precious financial resources for 10 years or cramping our style by living less than 900km from Arden Street.

Colbys Boots

Premium Gold
Oct 3, 2017
Oh we know.

The Jon Hay and Leigh Colbert trades are 2 reasons why we're entering a 20th straight season without a GF.

Nathan Thompson was equally, if not more costly than Jonathan Hay, even if we did get two or three seasons of his best football. The fact that we did them back to back and lost JWS into the bargain meant the mid 2000s drafts cost us any chance of turning those prelims into premierships a couple years back.

The Dingrel

Jun 25, 2013
Brisbane
Brisbane Bandits
I'd guess any of our listed players who became involved in the trade would be there by virtue of representing a value proposition and sitting in our 10-20 range. If a player wasn't consistently picked over the season that would naturally drive up their value.

McKay is actually a plausible suggestion. If he's sitting in Preuss' position come mid-year he could well be the deal breaker.

Hope not though.
Nah, reckon he'll play every game!

Dirty_11

Jan 28, 2014
Beneath the Blue & White
Shinboners
Don't want to p1ss on your parade, but the facts show that we have the lowest membership numbers of any Victorian club and are only ahead of the Lions, Suns, and GWS.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-12-26/on-the-campaign-trail-your-clubs-membership-drive

So any keyboard campaigners out there who spend hours on here banging on about their love for the club, show you are a real supporter and get out NOW and buy a NMFC membership if you haven't done so already. FFS as supporters we need to band together and treat the membership race as our own premiership. As a bare minimum we need to have more memberships than St Kilda and Fooders-cray.
You need to take this fight to FB and the like. Most here are the die hard signed up type.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

Apr 24, 2013
Arden Street Hill
Essendon Lawn Bowls Club
The games have already begun

AFL 2019: Leon Cameron says Giants in a ‘really good position’ in regards to Josh Kelly’s future

Negotiations between the GWS Giants and Josh Kelly over a new deal are more advanced than the last time he was out of contract, with club coach Leon Cameron hopeful the star midfielder will re-sign before Round 1.

Despite receiving significant interest and offers from rival clubs in 2017 — including a nine-year, $10 million offer from North Melbourne — Kelly eventually re-committed to the Giants for a further two seasons.

The short-term signing, though, has ensured speculation around Kelly’s footy future has already intensified, as he remains unsigned beyond this season.

But Cameron said all parties were in a “really good position” compared to this time two years ago, where talks between Kelly and the club had been minimal.

Speaking on SEN on Tuesday morning, Cameron revealed he’d broached the topic with Kelly during their coffee catch-ups, which occur “once or twice every couple of months, just to see how he’s going”.

The Giants coach also declared his “selfish” desire for the club to secure Kelly’s signature before the start of the home and away season.

“We feel as though it (contract talks) is really progressing well, probably a far bit quicker than what it was a couple of years ago because we’ve had some really good dialogue. His manager’s been fantastic in Paul Connors. And so we feel as though we’re in a really good space and I think it’s going to start heating up,” Cameron told SEN Breakfast.

“Ideally, every club wants your players like Josh Kelly signed up before the season starts. We’re mindful then the player also wants to take his time as well.

“It’s like anything, you’re finding the right balance between club and player and manager. But I would have to say we’re in a really good position in terms of just having that really good dialogue. Two years ago, it took until two-thirds of the way through the year, but hopefully — from my point of view, a selfish point of view — we can get it done before the season starts. But I’m also mindful that there’s another party — and that’s Josh as well.

“The one good thing I’ll say is that the conversations are easy — very easy to have.”

But Cameron refused to put a definitive timeline on an announcement around Kelly’s future intentions.

“Contracts are heavily debated outside footy clubs in terms of media — and inside, you try to keep them as close as you possibly can. But it’s hard putting a timeline on it because you can’t just turn around and say: ‘Josh Kelly, can you please sign by July 30 because we might be advancing in to our fourth finals series in a row and it will disrupt it.’ It just doesn’t happen,” Cameron said

If Josh Kelly signs at the end of the year for five years, then fantastic, magnificent. If Josh Kelly signs for five years at the start of the year, is it better because it takes it off he table and it’s not a talking point? Absolutely.

“But at the end of the day all I’m worried about is Josh Kelly staying at the Giants.”

https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/af...e/news-story/93042c08de1e7f808c9e56cdf2e08fdc