Josh Walker

Re: Is Josh Walker a key position defender or forward?

Clearly u just ignored my previous post to u. We are slow without Varcoe and Wojo. Slow down back, slow in midfield and slow in the forward line. Another tall would make us even slower. We are strong compared to most teams. Stronger than most. We are one of the slowest at the moment. Wouldve thought what PO said makes perfect sense.

Are we really any slower than say Adelaide????

Wouldn't think so!

Trouble has been they're bulkier and stronger in the contest, at the drop of the ball, so they win clearance possession, it's that simple!

Are we really any slower than say Adelaide????

Wouldn't think so!

Trouble has been they're bulkier and stronger in the contest, at the drop of the ball, so they win clearance possession, it's that simple!

The thing is though, and I think this is what hbk_aus and PO are alluding to, if we have too many talls in the team at once, it limits our ability to put defensive pressure on the opposition when they have the ball.

Geelong hasn't been an overly quick team over the last five years, but we look quicker than what we are due to quick ball movement, which requires the opposition to have quick players in order to put pressure on the ball carrier, which is why we tend to struggle against the likes of Carlton.

I doubt they were suggesting that Walker and Varcoe are in direct competition for the same spot, but that we can only have a certain amount of talls in the side at the same time, and having Walker in at the moment would tip that balance, especially if we're playing the likes of Scarlett, Taylor, Lonergan, Hawkins, Pods, West and Stephenson in the team at the same time.

Exactly my point, thanks Winty. We have 2 KP forwards, 2 KP backs and 2 ruckmen - another tall just makes us too top heavy in today's game, especially up forward when the ball hits the ground.

how good is josh walker?

watching this kids highlights package on bigpond tv, he sure can take a contested grab!! and not just your typical solid 1 grab mark, gut genuine 3-5 man up pack marks he seems to be splitting, there should almost be a petition for him to be elevated to the senior list

how good do you guys think he is? especially those who watch VFL more closely

The club doesn't rate him like some of the posters here do. They regard him to be workmanlike, not naturally talented like Vardy or Brown for example. Having never seem him play myself, I will take their word for it and temper my expectations until he is elevated and shows something in the AFL.

Good to see Meto continues with his size mantra. If only we just had 22 Josh Hunts!

Re: how good is josh walker?

I watched him in the Falcons and literally could not believe he didnt get drafted straight away and not top 20, likewise my uncle whose a huge footy nut aswell.
Had pure talent as a tall forward, knew how to take a BIG mark, kick goals, was (is?) hard at it, seems to have a decent tank and just never stops working.
How he went to the rookie draft I dont know, must have been a query on something??!?
Anyway, I think he will be VERY good for us for many years and will have a great career playing along side Hawkins, Menzel etc.
In my mind the future prototype full forward, which suits us as Hawkins is the perfect CHF and Menzel would be an elite flanker.
Thinking about our future potential forward line makes me bar up :P

If Hawkins is a definite lock in for full forward, I'd see Walker as the perfect foil tag teaming with Vardy for CHF with Kersten and Brown competing for the forward pocket. Brown doesn't crunch enough packs for CHF while Kersten doesn't have the height.

Bathie and Hamling are showing potential for CHB while I would expect another key back to be drafted this year

Yes Winty, your post is great, that is exactly what I was trying to say.

We are currently full up for talls, heck MC is so concerned about run and spread that until recently they weren't even playing a second ruckman. Therefore there is little chance they will play a second ruckman and a third tall forward as well, at the moment anyway.

When Varcoe and Wojo return, as they will be quicker than whichever two players they replace, then that helps our spread enough that we can look at the possibility of playing an extra tall, which would then bring Walker into play. But not yet.

We should all be very pleased with how Walker is tracking though, he's a very good chance to be on our senior list next year.

Walker strikes me as a swingman - kind of like what Hurley is to the Bombers.

Would make a great attacking defender with the aerial skills of a forward almost like an in-form Brian Lake or even Harry Taylor.

He could probably be what majority hoped Gillies would be and may even become our next Scarlett, who knows?

Ah yes, you're right - he is also all about height!

That's because we haven't got any, we're all about the 182cms types, so far is not working for the supposed long kicking game plan, look at the results and think abit!

Joffa Simpkin gets the elevation, another 180cm, come on down!! :confused:

By the way, I see Josh Jenkins CHF for the Crowies this weekend, 200cm, could have and wanted to play for Geelong, a few geniuses had a bit of a laugh at him trying to get a game at Geelong in the forum.
To late cryin' over spilt milk, hope Walker doesn't get an offer before he gets a go!

It's called team balance meto, it's necessary to win games.

Besides which, you should have noticed our midfield is more of a problem for us than our tall forwards at the moment, it's perfectly logical our rookie elevations are addressing that.

Walker's not going anywhere, no need to worry.

Besides which, you should have noticed our midfield is more of a problem for us than our tall forwards at the moment, it's perfectly logical our rookie elevations are addressing that.

Let's hope so, but frustration can set in and other clubs are watching.

Admittedly Hawkins doesn't possess a great amount of speed and unfortunately when people look at him they immediately think anyone tall carn't run. He does make us slower up forward, but it's only him!!

Did you notice the pace of West last night while running toward goal, even Podsiadlys' pace as he ran in to goal. Those guys arn't slow just because they're over 180cms.
With the exception of Hawkins that is.

We need to address the lack of weight and size with a big bodied mid and a power tall like Walker, just a couple shy of a good blend IMO.
Roughhead and the other bulldogs talls exploited our shorter defense last night on a few occassions, we got away with it, lucky!!!

Let's hope so, but frustration can set in and other clubs are watching.

Admittedly Hawkins doesn't possess a great amount of speed and unfortunately when people look at him they immediately think anyone tall carn't run. He does make us slower up forward, but it's only him!!

Did you notice the pace of West last night while running toward goal, even Podsiadlys' pace as he ran in to goal. Those guys arn't slow just because they're over 180cms.
With the exception of Hawkins that is.

We need to address the lack of weight and size with a big bodied mid and a power tall like Walker, just a couple shy of a good blend IMO.
Roughhead and the other bulldogs talls exploited our shorter defense last night on a few occassions, we got away with it, lucky!!!

No way mate, you have to get off this size thing. Even the commentators last night said that the long ball in high into the Dogs forward line just wasn't working.
When did we look the best? When we got space through the middle and has somebody like Motlop or Stringer or SJ running through there. Pace is the key, yet u want to bring in another tall to make us even slower?
If anything Walker might end up being elevated in a couple of weeks when we are allowed an extra rookie upgrade and come in for Pods, who is struggling big time.

No way mate, you have to get off this size thing. Even the commentators last night said that the long ball in high into the Dogs forward line just wasn't working.
When did we look the best? When we got space through the middle and has somebody like Motlop or Stringer or SJ running through there. Pace is the key, yet u want to bring in another tall to make us even slower?
If anything Walker might end up being elevated in a couple of weeks when we are allowed an extra rookie upgrade and come in for Pods, who is struggling big time.

Like I tried to show you, tall or tallish doesn't have to mean slow.

Having said that you'd be pleased to see we've just added Stringer and now Simpkin to the senior group more 180's, we got a cupboard full!

Don't worry bout Podsiadly he does his job and is just as good on the ground as in the air, is very clever around packs if you hadn't noticed.

Also Lonergan seems to be a little off form, who've we to cover for him our only genuinely larger sized defender, not one of the many 180's that's for sure.

That's right! We've got no one! Have we.

I reckon your worried if walker was on the list your jumper number would be running around in the two's:D:D
I'll spew if Walker finishes up our next Mumford.
As far as the mid field being the problem it's the same clearance players minus ling from last year and as coach I'd be asking question of them,some will say but Varcoe's out, but he wont help with hard ball gets around the stoppages it's not his game.
The players who are paid to do the job(I acknowledge Kelly and Christensen missed last night) are quite simply not putting their heads over the ball as they have done in the past.If they were there would have been no need to elevate two more smalls and Walker would have been elevated and be putting much needed pressure on the taller brigade to perform as well as giving the MC the option of spelling the likes of Pods,West or maybe ever Lonners.
That would be better team balance IMHO.
I'm with Meto on this one where got plenty of short arses their just not performing to their ability.
Until they become desperate and start smashing in again every side will think their a chance against us even GWS next week.
They won't win though:D

Walker absolutely loves the club, providing we elevate him at the end of the year there's not a snowball's chance he'll go elsewhere. I suspect he'll play before then, obviously it has to wait until after round 12 unless we get another LTI as we have already used our 2 LTI slots, but he will debut at some stage.

I like the boy but we do lack pace and our lack of pressure in our forward half once the ball hits the deck is an issue. Once Varcoe is back panicking the heck out of opp defenders, then we can look at the extra tall. Until then Josh will have to wait.

I thought Stringer and Simpkin, when he came on looked good all the same.

But we are missing that versitile tall option, that's what really stands out to me.