Judd - Is he a poor captain?

How can people actually believe chris judd is a poor captain? Judd stepped in for bryce gibbs after fevola insulted his girlfriend and Bryce was getting pretty angry. Judd did what any good captain would do and did the right thing for a younger team member and made it clear to the board fevola was pretty much not really welcome from the playing group. Fevola did this to himself, it is not Judds fault if Fev didnt listen to Judds numerous warnings throughout the night. Fevola totally embarressed his captain on national tv. Fevola basically dug a hole, put himself in a coffin and burried it all in the one shot.

Poor captain? or shrewd mercenary?

Let WCE culture get out of hand... request a trade to VISY for huge $$$

Let Fev get sh*tfaced, demand he is traded... frees up even more $$$ for himself
your not actually serious, are you mate?
i love it how everyone blames chris judd for all the goddamn problems in the AFL. cant say id want to play for a football team where the culture consists of drugs and/or alcohol. chris judd has been a massive influence on carlton coming off the bottom of the ladder and into the 8 within a few years. his job isnt to babby sit guys like fevola. fevola is an adult, who obviously knows he has an alcohol problem, and at his age, he should have the maturity and responsibility to act like a professional.
ever see chris judd in the paper for drugs or alcohol or poor off-field behaviour? no, and thats one of the reasons why he is a good leader.

Oh... I so wait for next year's brownlow... when Fev tries his "Steven Seagal" or "Pressure Point" routine on Jonathan Brown... It would be interesting to see what Brown's likely to do. :D

Fev wont be at The Brownlow next year.

Judd allowing himself to be ridiculed was pretty weak leadership IMO.

I don't know whether or not Judd is a bad captain, but in my opinion he is a bad leader. Yes, I know it was Fev's fault for getting belted on Brownlow night. But where was the Carlton leadership to mitigate the damage? Where was anyone saying - go home Fev. Everytime I go out and one of my friends gets smashed and starts acting like an idiot, we get him/ her a cab and send them home. Or walk them home. And put them to bed. How come none of that happened?

Under his reign, both Cousins and Fevola have been forced out of their respective clubs, for numerous stuff-ups.

Cousins - drugs and alcohol (outside the Crown), runner from car that got pulled over, etc.

Fevola - alcohol abuse, a rat on TFS constantly, Lara Bingle bungle, immature, groping women, and now the latest sexual claims.

Does Judd have discipline over his troops? Does he set down hard enough team rules? Should he take some of the blame? Is he a poor captain? -
he is a poor skipper in my opinion :)

Whilst I'm of the belief that Judd is overrated as an on-field leader (really thought riewoldt should've been 2008 AA captain), I don't think he should be responsible for ensuring that players (especially ones older than him and al;ready established at the club) have their personal lives in check.

What cousins was doing was in his own time where Judd wasn't around.

True, Judd was in the vicinity when Fev ****ed up at brownlow night, however I'm sure that Judd did try to calm him down, but let's be real about it, there was no chance anyone could calm fev down that night - he was a lost cause. Anyone that tried to calm them down got remonstrated with physically by a 100kg power forward. Once they saw there was no point, they let him drown in his own piss, and rightfully so.

Keep in mind, WHAT WAS SHOWN ON THE FOOTY WOULDVE ONLY A TINY FRACTION OF WHAT HAPPENED AND AS HAS REPEATEDLY BEEN SAID WAS ONLY THE STUFF ALLOWED TO BE SHOWN, so how can we judge the way judd tried to handle the situation entirely? People not realising this concept are the same ones that think Fev was just having a bit of innocent fun.

It's a joke that this man is going to be 29 in a couple of months though, and even worse, this man has been allowed to father 2 children.

For those saying that brown would have sorted fev out at the brownlow.

What about if brown had tried to sort fev out and copped a few from fev while doing and it was all caught on camera. I am sure the club and their sponsors would love their captain and another player fighting at the brownlow.

In the OP's logic then buckley is a rubbish captain because of all the misdemeanours the club had with Bucks at the helm.

Cousins - drugs and alcohol (outside the Crown), runner from car that got pulled over, etc.

Fevola - alcohol abuse,

cousins was off his head for years while captain

Should never have been captain of West Coast. Cousins was still our true captain up until he had to move on.

cousins couldn't stay captain

cousins and fev have been close to the 2 biggest off field ******** repeat offenders this decade

judds probably not the right guy to bring them two into line, but his effect on the gibbs, murphys and other young kids cant be written off

I am smiling at the suggestion Jon Brown and Fevola will be a great combination. Fev likes to be the King, and he won't enjoy being second fiddle. I can actually see Brown belting Fevola behind the grandstand at some stage after Fev cracks a case of the sooks.

No captain in the history of the game could control that clown.

I rate Judd very highly as a player and think he is an ok captain, but how on earth can people blame him for the problem Cousins and Fevola have caused.

I have no doubt that Judd tried to stop Fevola on more than one occasion on Brownlow night. As did Hird, Brayshaw, Murphy, Gibbs etc and they all failed.

As for cousins, give me a break, is he supposed to monitor a player 24/7?
Once again, I’m sure the leadership group along with the club officials sat down with cousins numerous occasions. At the end of the day he was addicted to drugs.

Fevola and Cousins are and were old enough to make their own decisions.

I don't think there's much point in comparing cousins and fevola.

Off-field, both really shat on each club's culture.

Cousins has seemingly turned it around though.

Cousins was also always a leader on-field.

Judd was humiliated by Fevola on national tv, what can you expect.

Shouldnt eye gouge.

Yes he can play fantastic football but as a person he has respect for one person and one person only FEV. If Judd had anything to do with him going I say good on him and that makes a true leader to walk away from an 80 - 100 goals per year player for the better of the youth at the club.

Fev is nothing short of a w***er !!!!!!!

Under his reign, both Cousins and Fevola have been forced out of their respective clubs, for numerous stuff-ups.

Fevola - alcohol abuse, a rat on TFS constantly, Lara Bingle bungle, immature, groping women, and now the latest sexual claims.

Does Judd have discipline over his troops? Does he set down hard enough team rules? Should he take some of the blame? Is he a poor captain? -

First, what a stupid thread - a sign of your intelligence (low)

So when Barry Hall smacks someone next year, is that going to mean the Doggies captain is poor... ( seriously think before you post shit on the main board)

Actually who is the doggies captain.......:D

First, what a stupid thread - a sign of your intelligence (low)

So when Barry Hall smacks someone next year, is that going to mean the Doggies captain is poor... ( seriously think before you post shit on the main board)

Actually who is the doggies captain.......:D

We had been hopeful a guy by the name of Jordan McMahon may take on a leadership role but soon found out that wouldnt happen :)

Callan Ward = Scott West Most Courageous award :) :) :) :)

Lets be serious now!

He is just warming the seat for Lachie henderson!!!

Judd - Is he a poor captain?